We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Kelantan River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Reviewed October 20, 2013

have been staying there for several times since august 2013. compared to previous experience during the early years of this hotel, it has improved by leaps and bounds.

latest visit was informed that hotel has increased its price due to improving its services. room condition is value for money. breakfast has more dishes being offered. its location by the river allows view of local villages across the river. it is a walking distance to attractions in Kota Bharu such as the mosque, pasar siti khadijah, etc.

has a gymnasium for workout freaks. a big map in the hotel helps to locate places of interest.

Room Tip: choose the room with view of the river
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeBadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relation Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Thank you very much for your kind words and ranking.

Nice to hear that we are improving our product and your feedback is important to us.

We looking forward to decorate and upgrading our hotel soon.

Thanks again for your support and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Grand Riverview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 145 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this Grand RiverView Hotel on the 5-10th August 2013 for (5 nights) and 2nd reservation on 12th-17th (another 5nights) When we did our researched, from the website pictures for this hotel and it looked fine. We stuck there for 10 days as due to room being prepaid.

When we arrived there (11pm), the girl at the reception who hardly smiled or gave us a 1st impression was chatting to other 4 male staff in front of us. So we have to wait till she finish laughing and giggling before we get our room key.

After completing the form, she gave us a room key on 5th floor (520). The porter helped us with the luggage but we can't have a conversation or ask anything as he has very limited English even working in 4 stars hotel?.

On our way to the room, we could see on the 5th floor hallway, moldy, worn out and stained carpet in front of other guest rooms entrance. Wishing that our room won't be like one of those.

When we opened our room door, we were shocked at the condition of the room. It stunk, the carpet smell was really strong hitting our face. Whilst the porter continued placing our luggage in the room, from his face i could see his impression looked like there was nothing wrong with this room he then smiled and left.


On the mattress there was only one white sheet covering the bed and brown itchy blanket on top! The mattress was really hard like a rock!! We got 2 thin pillows and 1 extra in cupboard unfortunately all of them smelled mouldy, so we ended up by sleeping without any pillows and no blanket as air-conditioning wasn't working too!! so we were too hot to use blanket anyway!!! .. Considering our long flight and too tired, we decided to follow up this issue in the morning.

Next morning after breakfast, we complained to reception and they swapped us to a new room (720). Room was much better than the other one but of course being in a little town we already expected the view going to be of the river. The area below was covered in rubbish and seen through unclean windows. The room itself looks really tired and depressing because none of the hotel has been maintained for a long time.I remember that same day i contacted reception requesting an "Adapter" but one of the housekeeping guys rang back to our room and shouted at us in his language! then adapter never turned up of course.

Too many faults about this place and i am not even going to bother to write all of these items. I.E security sleeping in basement Car park, Wifi not working &Toilet bowl over flowing. Hotel staff definitely need to re trained about customer service and the building itself need to be maintained to at least a 3 star rating.

They are few better hotels around rather than stay in this place. Management seems like they only want to take your money and dump you in this crappy place!.
Don't ever bother staying at the NOT SO GRAND Riverview. NEVER AGAIN!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aus_Traveller2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relation Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel. We feel very sorry for all this inconveniences that have been caused to you during your stay here.

Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our level of service and products.We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotel in Kota Bharu City overlooking the Kelantan river and Kampung Penambang. Along Kelantan river we can see how the floating house residences live their life and also near to Padang Bank where lots of historical stories. Walking distance to the know bazaar and market Bazaar Buluh Kubu and Pasar Siti Khadijah. Suitable place to conduct huge gathering as they provided one of the biggest ballroom in Kelantan.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

Thank you very much for your nice feedback, we appreciated all your comments
and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip in Kelantan .

We will looking forward to decorate and upgrading our hotel soon. Thanks again for your support and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice river view, but upon arrival nobody helped us with the luggage, the room was damp and smelly. The management even left a note that the temperature of the air conditioning should not be changed that water does not condensate on the walls. No hand towels available. In the bathroom the paint was coming from the ceiling and the drain of the shower was blocked. Even the bed sheets were damp and smelly. The food we ordered from the restaurant was cheap but had a corresponding quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, public relations assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

Thank you for your comment. Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our level of service and products.

We looking forward to renovate and upgrading our hotel soon.We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stay here with my family for a 3D 2N.

The Good - Fast check in services. Spacious guest rooms with king size bed enough for 2 adults with a child age 2 & 6 to sleep comfortably. Satisfactory cleanliness. Aircond works very well but it's better if can upgrade to a new unit with remote controller so that customer does not have to get up in the middle of night to adjust the temperature if too cold. hot showers with heavy water makes us able to bathe comfortably but bath tube do not have shower. given rooms facing the Kelantn river has a nice view.An issue with TV channel & WIFI connection

The Bad - Finishing along the route to our room rather dull. tear off wallpaper ignored without any action. Generator room beside the swimming pool makes visitors uncomfortable.Chef to prepare scrambled eggs is very slow even for just an egg. Trainer maybe.

Overall we feel satisfied with GRV. Ohh also a TASTY breakfast!!!

Room Tip: - Do not go to KFC nearby. Service SO SLOW - Ask for rooms facing Sungai Kelantan
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajarlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, public relations assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Your feedback has come to our attention whereby you give a comments on our hotel. On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

Thank you for your comment! We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our hotel.

We will looking forward to decorate and upgrading our hotel soon. Thanks again for your support and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have spent two nights at the Riverview while traveling through Malaysia. My experience was unhappy: the forgot to fetch me at the train-station, the wireless never worked (even though staff promised to fix it several times), being a vegetarian I ordered vegetarian food. The brought me vegetables with small pieces of meat... Value for money was not acceptable.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Bandy_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, public relations assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel. We feel very sorry for all this inconveniences that have been caused to you during your stay here.

Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our level of service and products.We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. 20th-21st June. Kota Bahru is hot - about 39 Celcius in June. I love the view of the river which faces my room. I consider the room size medium. Free wifi but you need to keep logging in every time it gets disconnected. The mattress was very comfortable. Cleanliness of the towels was average and can be improved. Buffet spread served during breakfast is decent and to my taste.
Noticed that a wedding reception was held on the 2nd level on that Saturday evening.
Opposite the hotel there was a small food stall selling rice but we did not get a chance to eat as it was not opened on Saturday evening. We had chicken at a nearby Kentucky Fried Chicken outlet for our dinner.

Room Tip: Opt for Riverview rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, public relations assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

We will improve our facilities include upgrading Internet System and also will improve the cleanliness in the hotel.

We looking forward to renovate and upgrading our hotel soon.We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you and regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 40 in Kota Bharu
397 reviews
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 40 in Kota Bharu
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 40 in Kota Bharu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.1 mi away
G Home
G Home
#7 of 40 in Kota Bharu
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flora Place Hotel
Flora Place Hotel
#14 of 40 in Kota Bharu
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riverview Hotel

Address: Jalan Post Office, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range: $58 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riverview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riverview Hotel Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing