We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Shah Alam
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Rooms for improvement”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Grand Riverview is located by the Kelantan river, in the heart of Kota Bharu, the state capital of Kelantan. There are plenty of places which are within walking distance from the hotel – the main business area, tourist attractions such as the old palace and museums, the renowned Siti Khadijah market, and a host of eateries, inclusive KFC right in front of the hotel.

I stayed here with my family during the holiday season, which was the Eid. After a very long journey from Kuala Lumpur, we arrived just before midnight. The lobby is spacious with very high ceiling, the coffee house was next to it. The check in was quick and we were up in our rooms in no time. The staffs were helpful, but the room service was poor – they informed us that since the hotel was full, and limited staff manning the kitchen ( only 1 chef to prepare the room service order) during this festive season, it may take awhile to get deliver the food. Yup, it took almost 2 hours, and the food was not what we had anticipated.

The room size is good – I booked for 2 rooms with a connecting door in between. The room is clean and comfortable. So no problem there. They have plasma tv in each room, but some of the channels reception was very poor. Probably it would have been better with some of the satellites channels – but then again, during monsoon season, reception would be poor as well. The toilet was in good size as well – separate shower room and a bathtub with good water pressure.

The breakfast buffet spread was also disappointing .... limited choices, and the egg station was taking ages to prepare the orders. Although there was 2 hobs that could be used, for some reason, the staff was only using 1. So it makes the queue become longer. Most of the time, it took awhile for the staff to replenish the food, and also clear the table for the next patrons. I know that this is holiday period, but this is not an unscheduled holidays .... the hotel management should have taken steps to be well prepared during the festive season.

I stayed at this hotel due to the room promotion that they had during this period, and also because of its location – getting into town on foot is easy. During this holiday season, the town centre would be massively jammed – driving would be an arduous task, finding a parking would be almost impossible.

Room Tip: Request for room facing the river - nice sunset, but river is murky
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relation Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Your feedback has come to our attention whereby you give a comments and suggestion on our hotel services and facilities.On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

We will improve our room services, tv channel reception and also our breakfast selection.

Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our level of service and products. We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    60
    40
    18
    7
See reviews for
39
34
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

There is not much on offer in Kota Bharu so I think this hotel is as good as it gets for being central to downtown. There are some others heading out of town toward the south but you definitely need a car. The place is in ok nick but like most Malaysian hotels was probably good at opening but maintenance is lacking so looks and feels more dated than probably is. The hot water was tricky, either none or scolding. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast very good - one of the few hotels I have stayed were the toaster is set correctly and you get toast first time not warm bread.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relation Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Your feedback has come to our attention whereby you give a comments and suggestion on our hotel services and facilities.On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our level of service and products. We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It has a local charm and a stale smell about the place. The staff are not used to international travelers. nor is the hotel set up for it. You cannot get proper coffee during breakgast. All the channels on the television are local anologue stations with very bad reception. The view of tje river is nice, but dirty windows tarnish the experience a little.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusKLAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relation Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel,Kota Bharu,Kelantan!

Your feedback has come to our attention whereby you give a comments and suggestion on our hotel services and facilities. On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay.

Your feedback will definitely help us to improve our level of service and products.We hope that you will stay with us for your next trip and will feel the differences.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

booked 3 rooms online & arrived after 6:30pm. our rooms deal stated that we will receive a welcome drink & complimentary fruit basket in each room which we were looking forward to especially since our 2 yr old granddaughter loves fruit. Called downstairs to reception after waiting for it to come informing them we were expecting our fruit plates. Nothing came. next morning after breakfast, went to speak to the duty manager but he was busy & again informed front desk about our fruit plates to which they said they will inform kitchen & send it up. We're still waiting!!

Rooms: even though the hotel is slightly old ( room furnishings has seen better days), much cleaner then the last hotel we stayed in. Unfortunately the hot water sucks in the shower sucks!!only luke warm! When my daughter called & complained about it, they informed her that one of the water tanks has broken down & there's nothing they can do? seriously? Like maybe fix it!!

Breakfast: Good selection for breakfast.

Overall, not a bad area to stay in as central to all things. Like previous reviews that I read about it says,it's the 2nd best in Kota Baru

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeiledTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, but the first two nights as walk-in customer. The rate for walk-in was exorbitant, at RM699 for two nights! The rest of the stay as Legend Holiday member.

Check-in and check-out : fast and efficient

Overall ambient: the hotel lobby and surrounding has stale air smell, especially the lifts. The smell sticked to clothes. It smelled like garbage from old school canteen. I did not like it at all.

Parking was free but there was no lift connected from there to the lobby level. So if you drive make sure you take out your luggage from the car and put it at the lobby. Otherwise you will have difficulty carrying it up the staircase.

Breakfast:
Spread was good but the food quality need to be improved. They recycle the food. The breakfast time finishes at 10.30 am. At that time i could see a lot of bread, sausage and beef ham left. The bread appeared the next day as bread and butter pudding which they serve every day. And so were the sausage and beef ham, as ingredients for salads. Luckily the thousand island sauce was good.

There were no 'signature dish'. The spring rolls and curry puffs looked like came straight out of freezer box to frying wok. Nasi lemak was served minus cucumber. Porridge without the usual condiments such as salted eggs and spring onions.

There was no 'teh tarik' at breakfast as mentioned by earlier reviewer.

I had to order scrambled eggs three times because each time it was given to another customer. And it was so frustrating having to wait every i went to the egg counter. They did not have a system and was inadequately trained to serve customers. There were two staffs at the egg station, and one of them, a young male, always found chatting with other staffs. There was no sense of urgency.

It was also sad for the hotel to allow patron to smoke in the breakfast room. It really spoilt my breakfast!

Amenities: the hotel's towel's color ranged from white to yellow to gray. And so was the bedsheets. I think the hotel should get rid of those old towels and sheets.

There was no rack to put toiletries in the shower. I had to put it on the floor.

Housekeeping: In room 1020 there were lots of dust at the corner near the windows.
The staffs need to have more training to do housekeeping. At one occasion the duvet was wrongly fixed because it was not positioned between sheets.

On my first day we were rudely awaken at 10 am by the housekeeper who asked us whether we wanted our room to be cleaned. Luckily we put the barrier on the door lock!

At other days, the room was not cleaned until late. I noticed that unless you put the bedsheets on the floor, they would not changed the bedsheets. There lots of hair under the sheet if you look hard enough. Meaning that housekeeping need to be improved.

Iron and ironing board: Iron was sent to the room quite fast on request, and so was the ironing board. HOWEVER the ironing board should be changed to new ones altogether. The one that was sent to me had two broken surfaces on it and the padding was totally broken making ironing almost impossible. I asked for another ironing board which they promised to send immediately. However they took such a long time and upon questioning they said there were no more available ironing board!

Newspaper: This was no supplied regularly. You need to remind them to get it. I only got it at three out of five mornings stay.

The location is ok but not too near to the city center. If you drive then is alright.

Laundry: there is one laundry shop about two minutes' walk from the hotel if you need one. Its RM7 for 2.5 kg wash and dry.

Room Tip: I had a good night sleep even though my room was facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titi Rahmawati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On the same street as the hotel a few blocks away is a good restaurant. It is in the corner. You should walk left when you have your back to the hotel and it takes you at most 5 minutes. You can also get a beer there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel's location by the river and a short walk from the main commercial district, the cultural district and Chinatown is very good. The views from the river-facing rooms are excellent. Room clean, tidy, well appointed and of a good standard. Hospitality tray, complimentary water. Good wifi, comfortable beds with quality linens. Effective air con. Excellent bathroom with seperate bath and shower. The standard of English spoken at the reception desk made check- in and other interactions a rather dour affair, and the service at breakfast was slow, especially at the egg station. Breakfast was otherwise quite good. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 39 in Kota Bharu
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.0 mi away
G Home
G Home
#5 of 39 in Kota Bharu
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kota Bharu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riverview Hotel

Property: Grand Riverview Hotel
Address: Jalan Post Office, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riverview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riverview Hotel Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing