We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Riverview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moderate Hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here during a short business trip. The hotel is quite dated, has been there for more than 10 years at least. But I love the local food around the area. Shopping Bazaar and local market are just 10 minutes away. Very hard to get taxi passing by the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dryus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    60
    40
    18
    7
See reviews for
39
34
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Had a 3 night stay in a Premier room. Comfortable & cosy with a man-size bath & shower. Great views across the river to Tumpat & the Thai border. Very friendly & accommodating staff who made you feel genuinely welcome. Minor problems were dealt with promptly & efficiently. Room service food was quick, delicious & not much more expensive than the wonderful market food to be found all around Kota Bharu. The buffet breakfast, included with the room price, was very good (not quite as good as the Holiday Inn in Melaka - but that really takes some beating!). The hotel's location makes all the traditional markets, restaurants & cultural centres of Kota Bharu easy walking distance (all flat terrain). If you prefer modern air-con mall shopping - that's a short, inexpensive taxi ride away.

Most Westerners seem to pass straight through Kota Bharu on the way to the Perhentian Islands, but I would urge them to stay here a couple of nights as the locals are very friendly, the food is great & the culture is well worth exploring. My wife & I had a personal tour of the spectacular Buddhist temples dotted about the villages to the north, which lasted 3 hours & cost just $20 Australian each - a highlight of our Malaysian holiday!

Overall, the Grand Riverview is excellent value for money, especially with the discounts available if you book directly online.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in a river view room for 3 nights and loved every moment. There was a funny smell on arrival to our floor, but realised there was an entire soccer team staying there too. Lots of smelly blokes who we didn't hear at all. The room was pretty nice, so very relaxing looking out across the river. Loved the breakfast choices and for us a treat watching the cook make proper teh tarek.
All of the staff were extremely accommodating, smiling and friendly. One night we had a meal
in our room which came quickly and was delicious. The location is great, it meant we could walk out in the morning and then go out on foot again at night. We didnt use the pool, however it seemed to be a hit for kids of all ages and their parents who. could watch close by

Room Tip: Riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ydd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March, 2012 just for one night just for one night. The check-in staff were not very welcoming, but the room was good. Very clean and a good size. As we were tired we ordered room service, which came fairly quickly. The quality of the food was very average. We could not buy alcohol in this hotel, but there is a chinese restaurant near the side of the hotel where you can buy beer. The concierge who was very helpful showed us where it was.
The breakfast buffet was also very disappointing. The presentation and the quality of the food was poor. The staff in this area I did not find very professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

room service staff so rude asking me to wait for beverage order for 1 hour to much.
front desk staff did not show right attitude,end the call without says anything,.but compliment to your concierge team,very good service
date c.in 10/03/2012 date cout 13/03/2012

Room Tip: improve the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ekhmaruladhzam808080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, uk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Lived up to its name. Large, modern hotel with loads of features including pool and gym. Excellent value premier room with river view 150 RM per night (booked through Agoda) including good buffet style breakfast. Large well equipped rooms but note
best to take your own beer etc as only the Chinese restaurants serve alcohol in this Muslim state. Easy walk to the food night market.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Staff were pleasant enough but seemed to be poorly trained. The room was OK but not more. There was no safe in the room, essential for foreign visitors. We asked for a wakeup call, but none came (we had an early train to catch). We asked for something to be prepared for breakfast as we had such an early start, and were told that it had been arranged, but the staff in the breakfast room knew nothing about it the next morning. The only thing that did turn up on time was the taxi. So not very impressed and would not recommend. Judging by comments on other websites we would have been just as well or better taken care of in a homestay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akalegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan!

Welcome back to GRV Hotel~!

We are open! We welcome you to visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kota Bharu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Bharu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 39 in Kota Bharu
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kota Bharu
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 39 in Kota Bharu
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
0.0 mi away
G Home
G Home
#7 of 39 in Kota Bharu
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#18 of 39 in Kota Bharu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riverview Hotel

Property: Grand Riverview Hotel
Address: Jalan Post Office, Kota Bharu 15000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kota Bharu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riverview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riverview Hotel Kota Bharu, Kelantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing