We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable seafood. Seems overrated.”

Wonderland Food Store
Ranked #9 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Affordable seafood. Seems overrated.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After reading numerous reviews in TA, I told myself that I should try this place! I was here with family on a weekday. It took us a while to locate this restaurant as we thought it would look like any other seafood restaurant. This is a small restaurant where the kitchen is facing the main road. Now I understand why tell are called Wonderland food store. So the seating area is a little bit hidden. Finally we spotted the restaurant sign and parked at the opposite side of the road. We came here early to avoid busy dinner time. There was only a handful tables occupied.
We did ask for the chef’s recommendation and was told everything is good. Means they don’t have any speciality dish? It sounded weird then and it still does now. Anyway we ordered oyster omelette, red snapper steamed Thai style (garlic and birds eye chili), Stir fried Baby kailan, Nestum Prawns, Thai Sauce chicken and rice. The wanted to order the fresh lobster however didn’t do so as it seems expensive (can’t really remember how much it was). The food was prepared fast. The only delicious dish here is the steamed fish. As for the rest, it seems like a normal dish just like any other restaurant. Just like any other restaurants in Malaysia, you can inform the cook/chef that you want your food to be spicy, etc. It cost us RM87 for the above mentioned food. It seems affordable but I will rate it as average. I think some of the 4/5 star rating would have derived on the price factor alone, at least to my opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cammal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    240
    82
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great quality, service and price”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a meal here with three friends and shared a few of the different dishes on the menu. The seafood is delicious, all fresh and made to order. Your can have a whole fish or they will fillet it for you. They are also happy to tailor any meal to suit your wishes (level of spicey-ness, substitute with different meats/veggies etc). The owner is very friendly and clearly a hard worker, constantly running around from table to table serving and checking on patrons. A large meal for four people ended up costing only $35 (australian). Basic setting and atmosphere, but the food is worth the visit. Clearly a favourite with the locals, was busier than any other restaurant on the strip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood, great service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had dinner there twice. Excellent seafood, fast service, very clean. Not expensive. Pleasant staff. Can highly recommend as the best Chinese Seafood Restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lets_travel_well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Seafood delight!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fresh seafood from Langkawi served in this Chinese Restaurant. Nice View as the restaurant is located at a waterfront. One regret is that the restaurant is halal so it doesn't serve pork. But in overall a great place to eat-out and we enjoyed our meal nonetheless.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicente5715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good if you know what to order..”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I read many reviews on Wonderland and it was mixed reviews. I was not too sure if I should try the food here, but fate has it, the place we wanted to try was not open and we ended up at Wonderland.
The chef came to take our order and it was good that he did not pushed us to order the expensive seafood in the menu. He was patient for us to choose the seafood, and once we've decided, he would recommend the best way to cook it.

The average:
The fried rice, oyster omelette, veggies and salted egg squid were fine, but nothing to shout about. {these were our choice, we didnt ask for recommendations)

The fantabulous:
We order a red snapper, chef recommended it steamed with lime juice, bird's eye chilli and garlic. Super, super appetising and just cant stop eating this.
We also had the tiger prawns (RM180/kg). It does feel expensive, but its worth it. For one, I cant find tiger prawns this size (about a foot long) and as the chef guarantees it's freshness. Since it's fresh, it more common (for Malaysian chinese) to ask for it steamed, but the chef recommended it grilled instead. He reasoned that grilling brings out the sweetness and the flesh will be springier. No regrets, it was lip smacking.

Thinking back, I should have just asked the chef to recommend all the dishes..bet would have fared way better..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wonderland Food Store also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Wonderland Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing