We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting great things.”
Review of The Gulai House

The Gulai House
Ranked #18 of 426 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I was expecting great things.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Meh. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't 'wow' either. I was led to believe this was 'the place' for Malaysian cuisine.

The decor is interesting. It's an outdoor open air hut style restaurant - between the Andaman and Datai resorts.

The food all tasted similar, which was disappointing. We were practically ignored mist of the evening. We served our own wine - I don't have a problem with this if the restaurant is busy, but there were only 5 tables occupied (our of 50!).

The Thai restaurant at Datai is better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    60
    29
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of my top ten meals”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This restaurant was amazing! The ambiance, the service, and the food could not have been better. I highly recommend it. We had some of the most amazing curries, fish, veggies, naan, and wonderful wine. We came back again for a 2nd visit because we enjoyed it so much.
The waitstaff was so incredibly attentive, and they called a car for us to return to the Andaman as we paid our bill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average food but good ambiance”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Love the hospitality but mediocre food. Grilled fish was not so much a grilled fish, doesn't taste like one. Was really expensive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I ate here recently whilst staying at the Andaman Hotel. The hotel organised free transfer by luxury car to the restaurant and back again!

The setting is out of this world, the restaurant is set in the middle of the rainforest and all you can hear are the natural sounds and all you can see is the rain forest around you.

The service was excellent and the waiters were both knowledgable and friendly, they couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome.

We started with the mixed satay and the vegetable fritters followed by one rice (more than enough for two people) coconut chicken curry, wok fried vegetables, one butter naan and the lamb shank, with two beers, one glass of white wine and a big bottle of water the bill was around £95 so not a cheap option but for good food and the unique venue I would say this is worth it, plus you will leave feeling very fool as portion size is generous!

I would thoroughly recommend this dining venue!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LRE517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful service, delightful food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Set right in the rain forest this delightful restaurant was perfect. Food full of flavours, perfectly presented and staff that go out of their way to provide a personable service. Unfortunately we only had time to visit this restaurant once in our stay as we both wanted to return. The restaurant is also dull of charm, perfect in every way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stepb4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gulai House also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to The Gulai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing