We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”
Review of The Gulai House

The Gulai House
Ranked #20 of 437 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A different experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Datai and wanted to check out the fair. Food was well prepared catered more for the generally Caucasian clientele.. So if u r looking for an authentic local experience, this is not it. If u want to enjoy some local fair in the area, give it a shot. Nothing memorable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    62
    29
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great ambience”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Food was ok. However, the ambience is great. Right in the middle of a rainforest. The service was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank summerskye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique Restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's in the middle of the rainforest to start with. The food was very good with fresh fish and seafood. They allow you to pick what you want and how you would like it cooked. The service is excellent. It's definitely for a special occasion but the staff and atmosphere are worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Msjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great setting for a great restaurant”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Gulai House was a great Malay/Indian restaurant with fantastic service. We ventured to this restaurant twice while staying at The Datai and they were very welcoming both times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJRS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Malay food on Langkawi”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My partner and I went here for our last dinner in langkawi and it was memorable to say the least. The restaurant is quite charming and although we were greeted by a snobby staff member, the food and other staff was fantastic. We ordered the grilled grouper, tomato and vermicelli salad, seafood curry, and vegetable fritters and every dish was perfect. We thought Ikan Ikan at the four seasons was great but this one could be up there as one of the best meals I've ever had. Oh and it was in the middle of the jungle! Quite special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gulai House also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to The Gulai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing