We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geopark Hotel Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Geopark Hotel Langkawi
Ranked #48 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We chose to stay at the Geopark Hotel for 1 night as a stopover as it was very near to Telaga harbour, from where we were departing the next day.
The hotel occupies a nice spot right in the middle of the Oriental Village, overlooking the water features at the front and the shops and cable car at the rear.
Our double room, on the first floor and accessible via a lift, was clean and comfortable, if perhaps a little dated, with a TV, tea & coffee making facilities and air conditioning. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and we enjoyed a decent buffet breakfast the following morning. All in all it was excellent value for money.
The only real thing to be aware of is the Oriental Village itself. It is a picturesque little place but, in our experience, shuts down pretty early and the only place we could get a beer was in the one duty free shop there, which also shuts early. As it was our first visit to Malaysia we wanted to try the food court but were surprised that, at around 6pm, there were only two outlets open and almost everything else in the village had closed. Unsure as to how much longer they would remain open, or whether the restaurants in the village would open for business later that evening, we decided to eat early so that we didn't go hungry.
The following morning at around 8.30am we walked to the taxi rank to take the short trip to the harbour but, despite being very busy the previous day, the place was deserted so we popped back to the hotel and they kindly arranged for one to take us to the harbour.
I’d happily stay at the Geopark again, and it is ideal as a stopover for getting to the harbour, but for a longer stay there I think a car would be a necessity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    91
    58
    20
    6
See reviews for
31
59
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

An excellent budget option. The cable car is located in the same campus. Also, the 7 wells and the water falls. The hotel is located in the oriental village which has some attractive options - Fish feeding, shopping, some adventure activities for children etc. The village has a food court as well.
Hire a bike and you can just roam around from here to the beach. Langkawi is a small place, so would be wise not to spend on expensive hotels on the beach. Instead, just stay here and take a cab or just drive around.
Well, the food options at the hotel are limited. The food court closes by 8 PM or so. If you are a late dinner-eater, would be good to have some eats on you, ready to eat, instant noodles, some cookies. If you would like to have some drinks, do buy them on your way to the hotel. there is no mini bar. Also, get plenty of bottled water.
The shopping complex also closes by 9 p.m. Ensure you bring all your essentials - shampoo, body wash, tooth brush, etc..remember this is a budget hotel!
The staff are friendly and will assist you well.

Room Tip: The rooms are either facing the mountain or the lake. Both options are equally good. Just ensure the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donetsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cosy and quite place, with a friendly staff, to stay for a couple of days to explore surroundings. Rooms are overall clear, but not freshly renovated.
Free high speed WiFi in rooms.
Best time - early morning and evening after 7 pm, when there are nobody but hotel guests in the territory. Amazing nature around.
Advice: rent a car upon arrival.
No food or drinks around hotel after 7 pm, everything is literaly closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleksasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at the Geopark Hotel.
We were able to check-in to our room in the morning after our ferry arrival, which was great. Staff at the front desk are really friendly and were able to organise taxi's and give advice.

The room was fine, though the decor was tired. The aircon didn't sit at the right temperature. TV had a few channels and we had an ok wifi signal, good enough for a simple Skype call. New towels each day, and we also had a pool towel each.

The hotel was clean, wifi decent over the whole area, staff really friendly, though it did smell of smoke. Though are room didn't smell of smoke, we could smell it in the lobby and coming from other people's rooms. Not nice.

Breakfast was awful. Don't pay extra for it. Walk down towards the beach and have a plate of fruit.

The pool was weird. Felt like it had been abandoned a few years ago. Loads of chairs all stacked up under what looked like it was once a nice restaurant. Before using the pool we had to skim it of leaves and insects. We also found 2 used nappies by the side of the pool one morning. It was removed within 20 minutes of informing the staff.

The nearest, and quite possibly the most stunning beach you'll ever see is a 15 minute walk out of the hotel. You go through an abandoned hotel (watch out for the monkeys) and head out onto your own private beach. It was great.

As others have said, it's a bit secluded. We got a taxi to dinner by the quay and Cenang Beach, we however preferred renting a scooter and drove to dinner and around the island.

Make use of the cheap duty-free in the Geopark and we'd also recommend the cable car.

Overall. Because of the price and the stunning beach we'd stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel Aug 2012..the most peaceful place I have ever visited...especially in the evening..enjoyed wonderful nature..beaches are good also...they have minizoo I think it will be interesting for people who travelling with children.

Room Tip: Rooms on the cable car station side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimfira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed one week and this is on the pro list:
Very friendly and helpfull staff
10 min walk to the beach, nice one
Close to Belaya Resort were they have excellent restaurants by the beach and on the water
Close to the Marina if you plan to go to Koh Lipe
In Oriental Village you can eat good Indian, Japanese food and Spa treatmenets etc
Close to Cable car

Cons:
If you want night life don't stay here
No luxury rooms
Very poor breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is good and nice. Worth the price paid for. But at night around 8pm there is nothing open nearby including the village. Can only stay in room with 3 TV channels to watch. Travel to town is far and winding and if you travel at night is super dark no street lamps need to be extra careful when drive back to hotel at night

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steel2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.5 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#2 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NR Langkawi Motel
NR Langkawi Motel
#2 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge Langkawi
Ocean Lodge Langkawi
#16 of 128 in Langkawi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
6.7 mi away
Adina Motel
Adina Motel
#38 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geopark Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geopark Hotel Langkawi

Property: Geopark Hotel Langkawi
Address: Hotel Langkawi Hotel Langkawi Block C, the Oriental Village | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Geopark Hotel Langkawi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Geopark Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing