We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food in Langkawi”
Review of L'Osteria - CLOSED

L'Osteria
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant is closed and has relocated by the beach in Pantai Cenang, The Brasserie
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Italian food in Langkawi”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went just after New Year's, the place was slammed and it seemed that it took it's toll on the staff. We waited for over an hour for one pizza and a lasagna. There was a point where there was no food coming out of the kitchen for about 20 minutes (looked around and everyone in the place had the same ticked off look on their face).

Luckily when the food did come out, it was quite good.

Try to get in there early in the evening if you can!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OctopusBalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paperin0, General Manager at L'Osteria, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear OctopusBalls,
Thank you for your compliment and your patience, we had couple of frantic night due to shortage of staff, now we are back to track. We are glad to ear that your waiting was rewarded with good food .

Regards

Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    87
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pizzas”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I went to this restaurant for my anniversary dinner. thank god i made reservations as they we're fully occupied by 8pm. unfortunately, I found that some of the waiters only wanted to entertain westerners more than asian and locals. i was pretty turn off by some of the waiters attitude in their service. Service was pretty slow and no one bothers to come by and ask if we had ordered after we told them to come back in 5 mins. The food was alright, nice pizza and great sherbet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zukkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paperin0, General Manager at L'Osteria, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Zukkie,
Thank you for the pizza compliment, it s nice after a long day at the restaurant!! I and my team can proudly cook and serve some of the best pizzas in Langkawi. I am sorry if you felt that we serve westerner faster then 'local', we do follow a first come first serve basis rule , probably the westerner where complaining more becose of the full house or of the big table. We hope you understand the situation and we would like to welcome you back at L' osteria. cheers. Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best done in for family dinner”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday in langkawi got new year n we just located this wonderful place evening n we had wonderful n romantic dinner that night
Food taster excellent as for veg too
A guy called mr suhaimi did his excellent job as waiter
Hats off to him.....
Food presentation to food fining we were soooo satisfied....

Helpful?
Thank Meenambal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paperin0, General Manager at L'Osteria, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Sir,
Thank you for your kind compliment on our restaurant and to Shuami, he s a great asset to the team, but I can't say it to loud or I'll have to give him a rise of his salary......


Thank you again,

Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So great we went twice !!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our first day in Langkawi, my wife and two young kids 7-9. Not always easy to please everyone, we tried L'Osteria we were very surprised. The kids loved the pizza, we had the gnocchi fresh pasta. I helped finish the pizza ! Wow everything was delicious and everyone was happy and full. There was one waiter who spoke English and a bit of French. He was very helpful and kind. We went back because of food but also because of kind service. I would recommend for everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paperin0, General Manager at L'Osteria, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Grazie,

We really appreciate your compliment, we hope to see you again.


Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Fabulous pizza, affordable wine, and friendly service all make this place stand out. A little slice of Italy in Langkawi. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kattyt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paperin0, General Manager at L'Osteria, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Katty,

Thank you for your compliment, well appreciated by all of us.


Cheers

Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Kuala Teriang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing