We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded & Private” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pasir Tengkorak Beach

Ranked #24 of 91 things to do in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Secluded & Private”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was there with my family last month and the kids enjoyed the beach, possibly because waves were a little choppy that evening and they liked being bashed about! The views were are nice.

The beach has fine sand areas where there were traces of previous BBQ being done. There were a few pavilions that you could sit and have a picnic in......the down side was there were many long tailed macaques and the males were quite aggressive mainly because they were hungry.

You would have to watch your bags & food otherwise they would just come and snatch it away.

There was a public toilet & shower which you had to pay to use (can't recall the amount, so not putting it here)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    78
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The beach was a bit far from my hotel (I stayed near Pantai Cenang) but it was worth the trip because there were few people at the beach and the water was crystal clear. There was a toilet but it was locked, so after my swim, I didn't have any place to change my clothes. It'd be better if the management places a person to take care of the place so that tourists would be able to use the facilities provided.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melati5173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice beach, but beware of the monkeys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This beach is really nice. The sand is white, the area is quiet and the water is clear. I would highly recommended to visit this beach at least once. Still, I would always prefer the Tanjung Rhu beach over Pasir Tengkorak.

Beware of the climbing rats (monkeys). If you see them for the first time you might think they are sweet and everything. However, they quite smart and very aggressive. I have seen how they opened bags with zippers and even Coca Cola cans. As soon as they spot a plastic bag, no matter if there is food inside or not, they will go after it till they grab it. If the leader of the monkey group (usually the biggest monkey) goes for the bag, keep in mind that his followers will assist him sooner or later. They will wait till they catch you off-guard. In the worst case they will not hesitate to even attack you. Try to grab a long and heave stick somewhere around the beach and try to hit them when they come and when it is necessary. The locals there do so as well. This is the only way to keep them away.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kon1cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice White Sand Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

You'll find a nice white and smooth sand beach without shells or anything might hurt your feet while walk on it. Just don't forget to bring snacks and water with you if you decide to relaxing there. theres almost noone selling something to eat there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lim_Eka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Public Beach with amazing views, monkeys and sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took a chance and rode our scooter out here to check out the beach. We bought 2 drinks from the vendor outside the gate and paid a few malay dollars to use the bathroom to change into our bathing suits.
We both felt a little shy being the only Western people there (and I was wearing a strapless bikini) but everyone was friendly. The beach was just perfect and there didn't seem to be as many sea lice in the water as there was by our hotel. The monkey's were definitely aggressive and while I was going to buy another drink they ran right up to my towel and started rifling through my things. We almost rented the scooter for another day just to come back to this beach!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank keyestones1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasir Tengkorak Beach also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pasir Tengkorak Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing