We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent

A fantastic trip, hard work at times, but well worth it. Our guide, Yan, was really great, and very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
paradox213
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
via mobile
Fantastic kayak trip

Our group of 10 had an excellent kayak trip with our guide Yan, who was an interesting... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
S G
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
via mobile
Read all 2,577 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Langkawi
from $45.13
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $37.18
More Info
from $131.42
More Info
Reviews (2,577)
Filter reviews
2,577 results
Traveler rating
2,162
355
39
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,162
355
39
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating restaurant mangrove boat trip evening walk flying lemurs bat cave fish farm cycling trip wild dogs flora and fauna jungle trekking monitor lizards knowledgeable guide eco system his knowledge brahminy kites great guide sea eagles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,259 - 2,264 of 2,577 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We took the mangrove tour which turned out to be fabulous ... our tour guide, Selva gave us lot of useful n interesting info abt the importance of mangroves n wildlife which most of us r not v well aware of n tend to ignore in r day to day hustle bustle .. evry part was exciting from the bat caves, the wild life , the ride into the sea where it wz raining on da beach ... n the best wz when new mangroves were planted at the end .. not to forget the great lunch at the fish farm where stingrays were wonderful to watch being fed .. i wish v saw dolphins too but better luck next time ... overall a MUST for anyone visiting langkawi ... it really helped me to enjoy sumthing new n refresh my geography :)) Keep it up !!!

Thank shamylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Just returned from a one-week holidays in Langkawi. As expected there is nothing much to do in Langkawi, just relaxed. We hired a car and finished all the attractions in a day. The next day was our highlight, something we normally don't do at home, ie a mangrove boat trip with Dev's Adventure Tours. We booked the trip via the internet, very hassle-free. We had made up our mind to join Dev's tours though it is priced higher as we believed it is value for money. It saved us the trouble of entertaining the touts at the airport since we had all arrainged made before we arrived (we booked the car on arrival, quite confused when so many operators keep yelling to attract your attention at the airport counters. But they are very professional and trustworthy, no problems of being fleeced).

Back to the mangrove boat trip. We were all prepared for the "adventure". The van picked us up at the hotel and it was a 30-min drive to the Kilim Jetty. There we were met by the friendly and jovial Selva. He gave an introduction on the itenerally and we proceeded to have lunch at the floating restaurant (ours is the 1 pm trip). While waiting for our foods, we had a tour of the fish farm and a close encounter of the mangrove forest by walking through the suspension bridged. Lunch was simple and delicous. After lunch we immediately set off.

Selva was eloquent and knowledgable. We enjoyed the ride and the surrounding scenery, which came alive after he explained to us. First stop was at the Bat Cave, where we had a close view of the bats and monkeys. The boat took us through the river where we spotted many birds. Selva said we could find snakes, but luck was not with us as there were none, probably because of the hot weather. Selva didn't give up. He promised to take us to another location where we could find snakes. Yes, at the place we viewed the eagles, the boatman actually spotted a snake and we took a photo of it.

The trip also brought us to visit a discarded charcoal factory, past a ikan bilis factory. we also spotted a dolphine en route to view the eagles. Haven't seen so many eagles at one place and the sight was amasing.

On the way back, Selva asked my daughter to plant a mangrove seedling he took during his explanation to us earlier. We'll back next year to visit the tree that we planted.

Once again, thank you Dev's and Selva for organising this trip for us.

1  Thank Ponggol21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband Ben had already contacted Dev prior to the trip, as he is very interested in spiders! Dev responded promptly and informatively to all his emails.
Once we arrived at the Berjaya, we undertook the morning tour - which was very informative and interesting. A few days later we then did the evening tour with Dev himself, he is extremely informative, educational and entertaining!! He is also interested in learning from others as well ( my husband is a tree surgeon) - which is refreshing to see!
A few days later we undertook the mangrove tour by boat (kayaking looked like too much hard work!) Dev was our guide - it was an excellent trip, saw an amazing amount of wildlife (snakes, dingoes, birds, monitors etc etc!) and learnt so much about the wildlife and the local ecosystem. Lunch was delicious as well and catered to my husband food issues!
All I can say is that Dev's adventures tours is a must do for any visitor to Langkawi!!!!!

Thank Junglebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We booked the evening jungle trekking tour which very convemiently left directly from our hotel the Berjaya Resort. The guide Aida was really excellent and passionate about the jungle. We learnt so much about the local flora and fauna and and the entire tour was fascinating. Special moment was when we saw the flying lemurs just after sunset... unforgettable.

We booked a kayaking tour through the mangrove swamps the next day. This is far better than booking a boat tour because the kayaks can get right into narrow trails through the swamp which the larger boats are not able to. Although a complete beginner at kayaking we found the pace nice and steady with plenty of time to rest. It was a tiring few hours though but well worth it.

Thank lm1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We joined Eco-package (Kayak Trip+Jungle Trekking) on 10 May 2009. Overall, we enjoyed both of trip. Especially Kayak Trip, we saw baby crocodile when riding Kayak......so exciting!! Also, we had lunch at floating panel which are Thai restaurant and Fish farm. You could see different kind of fishes and had "Beatiful View" around you.

Between, Dev is a professional guide, I heard many stories about Langkawi Nature. It's quiet interesting.

Anyway, this is worth to joining this trips.

1  Thank PrettyWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews