We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mangrove kayak tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dev's Adventure Tours

Dev's Adventure Tours
Ranked #2 of 53 Tours in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dev's Adventure Tours is an eco-friendly company with a dedicated group of nature guides who will give you an introduction to Langkawi's natural wonders. Experience the flora and fauna of Langkawi in a kayak, in a boat or on a bicycle and you will be amazed what this island has to offer. All trips will start with a minimum of 2 guest and there are many last-minute options, especially for single travellers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mangrove kayak tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would encourage as many people as possible to take this tour. It is fascinating and we learnt so much. Our guide Jerome was passionate, knowledgeable and very conscious of safety and Eco awareness. Much better than spending all our time shopping.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ObrienAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,628
    279
    21
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, despite our poor kayaking skills.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Booked a day tour with Dev's Adventure for the mangrove kayaking trip. Despite our total inability to keep the kayak in a straight line we had an excellent time with Mandy who was a super guide and was informative, polite, friendly and professional. Picked up on time - 30 minutes or so later back than promised which would cut it a little fine if you were on a cruise ship, as we were, so worth allowing a little more time than you think. Recommended 100% - great trip and very good value. Lunch was great as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ceannrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mangrove Kayak Trip - Fantastic way to see a hidden world of wildlife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was offered as a day trip from our hotel (Berjaya Langkawi Resort) and we thought it would be something different, booking it on a whim. It turned out to be arguably the best experience on our holiday. Our guide (Khirien), was adept at instructing the basics of Kayaking to the younger members of the group and was the font of knowledge about everything in the mangrove habitat. The stated time for the tour sounds quite long, but there are frequent stops as you paddle through the narrow channels and you have a forest canopy above for much of the tour to shield you from the sun. The experience was a real education and great fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jetmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent tours with an amazing wealth of knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had limited time on the island (one full day) and wanted to make the most of it. We booked the nature cycling in the morning, and "untold stories" in the afternoon/evening.

The Nature Cycling wasa relaxing four hour bike ride through mostly smaller side roads. About 90% paves, and around 90% with very little traffic (you are on a man road briefly a few times). You cycle about 20 km, with numerous stops including one for roti canai (Indian snack, aka roti prata), one for fresh fruit at a market and many stops to learn about the flora and fauna. Our guide (very sorry we can't remember her name right now!!) was excellent. It was part bird watching, part agricultural tour. You come away with a great appreciation for every plant you see on the island. Also a great way to see how most people live on the island, outside the main beach strips where most hotels and restaurants are.

"Untold Stories", guided by Selva, is an incredible unique experience that I can't imagine working without Selva. He has so much enthusiasm and knowledge about history, architecture, horticulture. The tour was very long, and he took us to several stops to see original traditional style houses. The night market was also a treat, giving us a taste of some Malaysian snacks. The highlight though was going to his house, where is wife prepared an amazing southern Indian meal. They were very welcoming and it was great to be invited into a home to talk with real Malaysians.

Both were great experiences, and if we had more time we would have booked even more trips with Dev's. Great company highlighted by amazing guides.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“National Geographic-like mangrove kayak tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I joined Mandy, Dev's Adventure Tours naturalist, on their Mangrove Kayak Tour last week. We both have never experienced nature in this way, and were very glad that we chose to go on this tour. Mandy was very informative, and drew our attention to the ecological aspect of the trip. We started off with visiting the bat cave, saw some stalactites, stinless bees, crabs, mudskippers, the Brahiminy Kites, a poisonous viper, the White-bellied Sea Eagles, and the different types of mangrove trees! We both highly recommend Dev's tours, as the guides are very knowledgeable and promote eco-tourism! Thank you for the great adventure! :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KikiK519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dev's Adventure Tours also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Dev's Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing