We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 5 star special lodging. a hidden gem.”
Review of Fox Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox Hill
Ranked #13 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a 5 star special lodging. a hidden gem.”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was very skeptical bout staying in a B&B as we are used to staying in 5star resorts whenever we travel. But we wanted the Malaysian Kampong 'feel'.
We came with a 18mth baby and our parents. Stayed in Amin and Jasmine house.

Staff
- very friendly & attentive
- on call whenever you need them
- Maria (owner) is very helpful with anything and everything u might need

House
- authentic malay house built
- airconditioning and fans
- spacious bathroom with shower
- plenty of clean towels and pool towels
- clean and tidy
- mosquito sprays provided
- toiletries (shampoo, bath gel) provided
- clean linen changed everyday
- TV and DVD player with great selection of DVDs u can pick from the main house

Restaurant
- breakfast is excellent if you are having local malay food
- we ordered dinner for most of e nights stayed there as its much NICER and authentic than ones u get outside (plus we had indonesian parents who are VERY fussy bout the food quality!)
- clean kitchen

Scenery/Location
- very quiet & surrounded by nature
- hired a car for our days there. very easy to get around as Foxhill is along the famous Makam Mahsuri Road. So if in doubt, look for this tourist sign!

Activities/Sightseeing
- go for slightly cheaper rate for island hopping/boat trips from Maria
- cable car has great scene but u need to have e stamina to climb up n town
- waterfall. go to at least one for the experience but ask Maria if its open!
- water activities are on the beaches. prices are different for tourists so bit overpriced for me
- Makam Mahsuri is a small museum. Quite interesting. Shopping beside the complex is worth going. Better priced Batik materials can be bought there.
- DO NOT GO to the snake sanctuary. Waste of 15RM. Place has not been taken care of. You cant see the snakes. And unless u are donating your blood to the mosquitos, I suggest pls avoid!
- Cenang beach is the most happenings/populated. Other beaches are VERY quiet with no or little activities going on.

Shopping (Friday & Saturday most shop closes)
- Cenang beach has so far the best shopping. Kuah Capital is more scattered but u still can get some good finds and its cheaper. Try Langkawi Plaza Shopping Mall for touristy clothes. You can bargain better esp on the 2nd floor shops.
- Langkawi Craft Complex has nothing much to buy there. Quite a disappointment but you can have a look at the local malaysian craft. how its made etc. small souveniers sold are is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imsuchafuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Langkawi itself is way too gorgeous with its little islands, beautiful beaches & mountain peaks!!

Fox Hill & their staff added just the perfect hospitality touch to ensure our stay was very local Malaya style yet very memorable.

Our family of 4 (2 couples) was more than amazed with the family room provided to us!! It was far beyond expectations!! We had the privilege to live in a typical Malaya house which was easily more than 100 years old!! Yet it was roomy, spotless and neat with probably (I must emphasis!!) the best air-conditioners amongst all resorts in Langkawi.
It is probably one of the best places in Langkawi to spend your vacations.

Honeymooners even have small but sweet packages ;-)

It’s really the perfect place to pamper yourself everyway!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantoshBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikkim
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday that included a 3-night stay at Langkawi - one of the highlights of our 15-day holiday.
Our stay at Fox Hill was a real pleasure. ..right from picking us up at the airport, helping us shop for swim wear (as our baggage had gone missing!!!) and planning our site-seeing, to the clean and tastefully decorated kampungs.... Maria, Zarihan, and the girls really looked after us so well and made us so very comfortable.....

Far from the madding crowd, nestled amidst the greenery, the personal attention, the welcoming smiles and the looking after, and Maria's eye for detail made our stay truly special and a delightful experience. I wish we could have stayed longer!

A lot of thought has gone into everything, with special attention to every little detail that you can think of. Right from the hammock in the veranda to the mosquito net and the bedside alarm clock!! The kampungs are tastefully furnished as too is the dining area. The landscaping is a treat to the eyes. We enjoyed a variety of sumptuous breakfasts and freshly prepared meals here ... thanks to Tutti and Satto (Hope I've got the spellings right!!!)
The reading room is well equipped, very inviting and radiates warmth. The pool is simply wonderful to relax in after a long day and we took full advantage of it.

This beautiful homestay managed by Maria and her extremely affectionate, warm, friendly and capable team left us deeply impressed. Thank you for a wonderful stay, Maria.... We'll be back for another holiday with you as soon as we can....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Oh my God!!!! What a place....We arrived in Langkawi a little earlier than anticipated and as soon as we called our hostess Maria she came right away to pick us up. Great advice and information on the way to the resort. Once there the dinner was ready to be served immediately and the houses were ready to be moved into. Since we decided to get another house Maria had no problem whatsoever and she even reduced the nightly rate to match the smaller house (without even us asking) we had selected. Her daughter Zarihan and Izani her son-in-law were extremely helpful with all that we needed.

Since we were the only 2 families at the resort at that time we had the whole place to ourselves and the POOL!!. We rented the minivan from the resort for half the price you can get from outside and had a great time visiting all the places. Maria even called us in the afternoon to check if we were OK and needed any help with directions or tourist attraction timings.

At night Maria took us to a nice place for Malay Satay Dinner and we all enjoyed a lot, it was very nice of her to take her although she had already finished her dinner. Next day Maria had to go to KL for business but her daughter and son-in-law made sure we had all that we wanted. We even celebrated a birthday for one of the children there and they did everything we requested, decorated the restaturant, got the cake. Amazing!!!

The children had a great time and befriended Zuwahili and Zikri (Maria's grandsons) and all kids were running around everywhere enjoying.

Izani took us to get tickets for the ferry and then Izani and Zarihan both dropped us off at the Ferry terminal later.

All in all we just wished we had more time to stay more but we had a tight schedule and Langkawi was the first leg of our trip so we had to bid farewell. Next time we go to Langkawi we will stay there longer definitely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieems_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Don't really want to spread the word about Fox Hill for selfish reasons but feel I must.
After many delays and 29 hrs travelling, finally arriving at Langkawi and being met by Maria and Izani and taken to Fox Hill for a lovely dinner, was the start of a fantastic relaxing holiday.
This Malaysian family run "kampung" consist of the family home, 3 authentic old Malay houses for guests and the main house, with simple restaurant, and beautiful upper room, where you can relax, watch DVD's, listen to music, play games, and borrow books.
Our house "Jasmine" had a large verandah, sitting area, bedroom and bathroom (wet room). The bathrooms have lovely fluffy towels and batik kimonos to lounge around in, hubbie borrowed a sarong and wore it all the time on site. (Bought him some to bring home)
The bathrooms have simple toiletries, and electric shower if hot water required, most of time you wanted a cold one!
Bed comfy with a/c and fan,mozzie repellants (though hardly any around) and tea/coffee facilities, and small fridge in sitting room, which also has a day bed with extra mattress to accom another 2 people. Also t.v, stereo, and DVD player. We watched an english DVD one day when we could not stand the heat, and the subtitles had us in hysterics.
Hammock, chairs, and sofa on our verandah.
The Kabanah is sheltered and cool, there is a lovely breeze at Fox Hill, and the Kabanah is great for massages, arranged by Maria.
Re wildlife, there are monkies in the forest behind but as they are not fed, they do not come onto the property. If you do not like house lizards, or geckos around then this is not the place for you. There are not hundreds of them but you might get the odd visitor. We love them, especially as they eat insects, and you can see hornbills, eagles, kites (I think they were) and lots of other birds and butterflies, dragonflies etc. Plus the resident cats who are not a bother, but will come to say hello, or ignore you as cats do.
Fox Hill is located in the hills in the centre of the island, the views and sunsets are super and given location everywhere is easy and quick to get to.

Breakfasts included in the price and there is a daily room rate reduction for stays of 5 nights or more. Airport transfers included in price.
The family are so friendly, and hospitable and great fun, we had good times together, and nothing is too much trouble. We had no transport, -not a problem, lifts given, or trips out together, taught the art of haggling by the "master" - Maria, and got some good bargains. They can arrange anything you want to do or tell you how to do it yourself, but you often get a better deal through them - being local. Taxis can be arranged too about 25 MYR to Pentai Cenang/Kuah. Maria had to go to KL on business, but her daughter Zarihan & son-in-law Izani and their 2 young sons took great care of us. Izani will be happy to play a game of pool if anyone comes forward!
You can have washing done, Maria just asks you tip the staff for doing it, and rooms cleaned regularly.
There is limited wi-fi connection, just means you have to sit by pool to get it - what a shame. Ha!
The restaurant is not "posh" its simple and clean, and the food is wonderful, and very fresh, I went to wet market with Tutih to get fish for dinner, and prices of meals
good, people staying at other places nearby have rated the food too. Or you can eat out, or buy in from the local night food markets . Had a very enjoyable cookery lesson with Tutih. It was my stirring skills that made the difference! (Have made beef rendang for my family back home)
You can have total seclusion here, just enjoy the peace, views, sunsets, and wildlife, lazing by the pool, or in a hammock reading. Or you can spend time with the family and other guests as you please. Its great for couples, singles, and families, and would be a great place for a large extended family to get together for a break but have their own house.
This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable trips we have had, we did not miss being beside the beach, as we visited several, but always glad to get back to Fox Hill.
We intended to move on after 5 nights and Maria and Zarihan would have helped us get somewhere but we just did not want to.
Definately a "Hidden Gem" - For us the perfect place with wonderful people, and fantastic hospitality and genuine warmth. There has been a lot of renovation since they took over late 2008, and many improvements in the pipeline, but they assure me they will not be cramming in lots of other houses on the property because it would spoil the whole thing. I think that is fantastic.
Dooley. (Linda & Stephen)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.5 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#29 of 103 in Langkawi
182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
8.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill

Property: Fox Hill
Address: 91 Jalan Telok Ewa | Mk Ulu Melaka, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Hill Resort is set on a peaceful, picturesque tropical hill with spectacular views of the mountains and rice fields in the heart of beautiful Langkawi Geopark Rainforest Island. The accommodations consist of Malaysian village-style chalets with queen size beds, full-featured bathrooms, and refreshment facilities. Guests dine in an original century-old Malay kampong-style house and swim in the luxury pool surrounded by the wonderous sights and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox Hill Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing