We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming chalet style”
Review of Fox Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox Hill
Ranked #13 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming chalet style”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved the privacy and remoteness of Foxhill. The traditional Malay houses were beautiful, all wood with four poster beds. The best one looks to be the Jasmine house, followed by Amin. Both with fantastic balconies you can sit out at night and listen to the sounds of the jungle. We took our 3 year old and could put her to bed and then sit outside and have a drink. I would recommend this to families, groups of friends or couples who want to get away from the main drag. If you are looking for a beach holiday I wouldn't book here for the entire stay, we booked 4 nights here and hired one of the Foxhill cars to see all the sights and then booked a hotel right on the beach for the remaining days which we felt was perfect. Driving on the island is really easy and safe, although the maps are a bit dodgy.

I can't finish the review without mentioning Zai (I'm not sure if that is correct), the new cook. His meals were divine, he would ask us at the start of the day what we wanted for dinner and would then proceed to buy everything fresh that day to serve that evening. The first meal was so delicious that we decided to eat in every night. The prices are really reasonable.

Tips to the hotel - the only downside for us was the toilet in the Amin house didn't work properly which became a bit tiresome, I would suggest that be fixed. We would also have loved to open up the windows at night rather than use the aircon but were worried about mosquitoes, it would be great if you had fly wire over the windows so you can do that

Otherwise a fantastic place and a great stay

Room Tip: Pick the Jasmine room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Fox Hill for 6 nights looking for a holiday where we could relax and recharge our batteries. I can honestly say that we could not have chosen a more perfect place to do exactly that. We were met at the airport by Maria who greeted us by our first names.....how many other hotels would do that...and by the time we left we felt almost like one of the family. The hotel is a little off the beaten track and well away from the tourist parts which suited us down to the ground, and we hired one of the hotels cars so getting around the island was no problem.

The accommodation is neat and clean in beautiful old Malay houses (we stayed in Jasmine). Ours had air conditioning and modern bathroom facilities, and a verandah where you can sit and relax to the sound of little else but the birds and insects. The pool area is delightful and the pool is spotlessly clean, a great place to have a dip after a days sightseeing. The breakfast was very good and varied each day, so there was no chance of getting bored with the same old fare. We ate one evening meal at Fox Hill and it was excellent.

No review of this hotel would be complete without a mention of Maria who is truly charming and such a welcoming host. Nothing is too much trouble and she takes time with you to recommend places to go, things to see and where to eat. Her knowledge of the island is fantastic. If we ever return to Lankawi there really is only one place we would consider staying and that is Fox Hill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have spent an amazing 10 days at Foxhill during our 4 week stay in Malaysia.
What a gem it is with the most fantastic host Maria. We will definitely return to our lovely Amin House.
The property is away from the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist areas and is the perfect place to relax and unwind.
Maria cannot do enough for her guests and you feel as though you are leaving a family member when you have to say goodbye. Her knowledge of things to do and places to go is amazing. You can hire a car from Maria for the whole of your stay or only on the days that you wish to venture away from Foxhill.
Thank you so much for the trip to the night market and of course to Joe Macans for my Char Kway Teow - was the best one that I had this trip.
The housekeeping staff and garden staff are lovely - and do a fantastic job.
We spent many an hour relaxing by the pool and on our balcony, not to mention having the tv room that we could watch the tennis.
See you next time we are on the island

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotgalAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I cannot think about Fox Hill without thinking of being home, because that's exactly how you will feel here - at home. Here you won't be another client, another room number.
Fox Hill is located right in the middle of the Langkawi island, the perfect place away from the touristic areas and noise which makes it ideal for relaxing and recover your energies.
The rooms are small wooden houses, very well decorated in the most simple charming way. Truly an enjoyable stay.
On top of this all there's Maria, with it's hospitality and sympathy, it's certainly an excellent host. She was really a friend, making sure we had the best of Langkawi.

Thank you very much Maria for the amazing week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Silvaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wanted a stay of a different style, since we intend to chill out from work at Langkawi. And even my usually-fussy friend was pleased with the services and hospitality we received at Fox Hill. The location is a bit off, so expect to rent a car from Fox Hill or hire a day cab to the city.

Maria is a very thoughtful and well-spoken host, and we got to know more about the history of Fox Hill through remarkable stories about herself and her family. All the wooden huts are of Malay heritage, while we stayed in the Amin house (well-maintained) and even made a new friend who stayed at the rather special treehouse.

There was a dead scorpion at the bottom of the swimming pool during my stay (I still swam in it though), but the handyman returned from his weekend break and did the maintenance straight away. Nevertheless the facilities are adequate with aircon and hot showers in our hut. Wifi is available at the main hut which is also Maria's residence, but you are always welcome to relax at the balcony with her three cats. We finished all the meals prepared by Tuti the housemaid, and it was simpy the best dinner we had in Langkawi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

All the other Tripadvisor reviews rate Fox Hill highly and for good reason. A peaceful paradise would not be overstating it. Thankfully well away from the crush on the main beaches ( we were there over Chinese New Year). A beautiful location, the house ( Amin House), the pool, the ambience, all just right. Most of all though, the beauty of Fox Hill is down to Maria Alfa, the owner and host. We can say without exaggeration that the exceptional quality of the guest experience is down to Maria. Maria is a host who makes you genuinely feel at home, fully relaxed but who was always on hand to suggest what to do and, most importantly, where to eat. She'll tell you the best night market to eat at, take you or direct you to local restaurants which are off the tourist itinerary but which all serve superb home made food. We have stayed in B&B, boutique hotels, shacks on the beach, gites, you name it, but Maria Alfa is unique in the hospitality she offers so naturally to her guests. We can honestly say that we had become good friends of Marias by the end of our stay and, of how many places could you say that? Just one detail to add and that is be sure to hire a car when you book or book one from Kuah if you arrive by ferry or at the airport if by plane. Also find out from Maria if her restaurant will be running for evening meals or not. It is no problem if not and if you have a car to take you out to the wonderful places Maria will recommend to eat.

Room Tip: Amin or Jasmine houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnymex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxhill-Langkawi, Owner at Fox Hill, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind review and compliments. I enjoyed your stay and am happy to know that the experience will always be memorable for you and for me. Take care and be safe and happy always. Maria..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Amin house. It was a beautiful place to spend our final days in Langkawi. We hired a car with the help of Maria because you need to drive anywhere that you'd like to visit. Maria is an excellent host who provided lots of tips and suggestions on places to go and restaurants to visit. The room itself was immaculate. The balcony was a lovely place to read and have a few predinner drinks. The pool was refreshing after a day's sightseeing and the breakfasts were delicious. We also had dinner there on the first night and it was a wonderful meal too. Even though there are a few other houses on the property, you don't feel crowded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
10.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
5.5 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#30 of 103 in Langkawi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,315 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill

Property: Fox Hill
Address: 91 Jalan Telok Ewa | Mk Ulu Melaka, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Hill Resort is set on a peaceful, picturesque tropical hill with spectacular views of the mountains and rice fields in the heart of beautiful Langkawi Geopark Rainforest Island. The accommodations consist of Malaysian village-style chalets with queen size beds, full-featured bathrooms, and refreshment facilities. Guests dine in an original century-old Malay kampong-style house and swim in the luxury pool surrounded by the wonderous sights and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox Hill Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing