We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Fox Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox Hill
Ranked #12 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I can't add much to the praise heaped on Foxhills by the other reviewers but this really is the sort of place we love to stay. When you book something based just on a website and photos there's always the worry that the reality won't live up to it. At Foxhill the opposite is the case - the pool is bigger and nicer, the rooms are lovely and the whole hotel feels so charming and relaxed. There are only 3 or 4 rooms, each one a self contained Malay house with real atmosphere - and they are simple, especially the bathroom, rather than lavish - so you often have the resort (and pool) to yourselves. Having said that, each room has a TV and DVD and there is a host of movies to watch.

They run an honour bar system so whenever you feel like a drink you can get one from the fridge (in your room or the main building) at very reasonable prices. The wonderful Maria has a car or two she rents out (again at very fair prices) and Langkawi is such an easy place to drive around its well worth getting out and exploring.

Its not on the beach of course so if that's your thing then maybe this place is not for you. But there are beaches a 20 minute drive away if you want and I would swop the (almost) exclusive use of the here pool for sitting on a beach with hundreds of others anyday.

Because Foxhill is listed under "Specialty Lodging" in Trip Advisor I suspect that many people looking for a place to stay in Langkawi won't find it - not so good for Maria perhaps but for those who do its a real find. You can keep your mega resort hotels; this is the place I'd come back to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonno_the_Yachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 155 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at Fox Hill Langkawi for 5 nights in mid-November and thoroughly enjoyed our visit! We stayed at Amin house, which was beautifully decorated and just the right size for a couple or a couple with a young child. The mosquito net and curtains and pillows were beautiful in shades of white. It was a pleasure to lay in bed and listen to the birds just outside. The pool was gorgeous and at a perfect temperature for a late afternoon dip. Fox Hill is not near the touristed areas, which was why we wanted to stay there and experience a stay in a typical Malay house, but it was close enough so that you could drive either to town (where there are some great restaurants) or to the touristed beach areas (also some good restaurants -- try Orkid Ria) within 20 minutes or so. Our host, Maria, was very welcoming and friendly, and gave us lots of good advice about where to go on the island. She even organized a trip into town one night for some delicious Ice Kacang (you must try it!) and a visit to the Pasar Malam (or night market) with some of the other guests, where we all bought samples of food to take back and share. We enjoyed talking and learning about Malaysian food with Maria, and if you are interested you can even learn to cook some of the Malaysian dishes there. We rented a car from Fox Hill, which turned out to be a great idea, as we only rented it on the days we needed it. Langkawi is small and within a few days we had travelled every major road numerous times, but it is easy to get lost at night if you do not have a good map -- buy a map from the hotel, which has more of the roads listed. In any event, do not be afraid to venture out, even if you get lost you will find your way back soon! We went to almost all of the beaches on the island but much preferred Pasir Tengkorak, where we went a few times, having the whole beach to ourselves except for a few locals on each visit. The sand was white with no rocks and the bathing was superb. You must try to eat at least one evening meal at Fox Hill. Tutih, the cook, made a phenomenal meal one night including her famous Beef Rendang and we enjoyed all of her breakfasts as well. All in all, we were made to feel right at home, and would certainly love to go back to Fox Hill Langkawi on any future stays in Langkawi!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

located a little further from town but not a problem because Langkawi is relatively small and main attractions are reachable within 10-20mins drive. This place is run by very lovely Auntie Maria and her very helpful assistant Kak Siti. Auntie Maria hospitality make us feel very much at home in this peaceful, extremely clean, lots and lots of greens, and tastefully decorated traditional malay house. Car rental is also available in this home stay. Kak Siti lime juice is to die for in Malaysia weather. A definite must try. it is unfortunate that we do not have time to try out her cooking. (heard it was good, and would definitely recommend trying. love, love, love this place and would definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room Suria is family room meant for 4 people with extra mattress on demand. the other two rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PohYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I wasn't quite sure what I was booking when I selected Foxhill but the reviews were so good that I decided to give it a go. Believe the reviews - it is a wonderful place. It is a unique experience - with only three cottages, it is not quite home stay, but not a resort either. Maria, with able support from Tutih, provides a high quality, welcoming environment. Believe Maria when she tells you to treat it like your own home. She also generously shares her local knowledge. The traditional wooden kampong hut is spotlessly clean, yet romantic and charming. You can have the air-conditioning turned on, or pull over the mosquito netting, and fling open the many wooden shutters to let in the evening breeze. The garden right outside the window is amazing. Tutih's cooking is authentic Malaysian, and she will share her expertise if you are interested. The car hire was also very helpful & cheap. We will be coming back to Foxhill next time.

Room Tip: Jasmine House was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Fox Hill is away from the touristy areas and provides the perfect place for relaxing away from the crowds. The chalets are beautiful and very comfortable. We enjoyed hiring a car from Maria and explored the island. Maria was very helpful in advice and taking us to town. Our only disappointment was that the cook was away but Maria did her best to compensate. We would highly recommend this property for families or couples who want a peaceful environment and base from which to explore Langkawi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoobylooTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

What a treat we experienced at Fox Hill. The malaysian style chalet was gorgeous, the friendliness of AB and Tutty the cook was fantastic. We were helped to organise a mangrove tri, we picked up and dropped off at the airport and treated to AB's dry sense of humour. Our only disappointment was not meeting the lady of the manor "Maria" but we will be back so next time we shall. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracekiwichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

\We stayed at Fox Hill in early July for a family holiday. We have 2 small children aged 2 and 3 and decided that big hotels often don't offer the flexibility required when travelling with small kids so we opted for something with a more personal touch. We feel so lucky to have chosen Fox Hill as it really did offer everything we were looking for. Maria (the host) was the most helpful and informative person, ensuring all our needs were met, such as where to visit and what food to eat. Tuti (the housekeeper and cook) made the most delicious food, we found eating at Fox Hill much easier than eating at restaurants as Maria would cook Western non-spicy food for the children and we could indulge in a feast of Far Eastern fare.
We loved the setting of Fox Hill in the lush green hills of Langkawi, we hired a car from Maria which was very reasonably priced and car seats for the kids were provided at a small cost. The accommodation was tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable.
The pool was great and even though the hotel was fully booked we usually had this to ourselves.
A wonderful place that we would recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
6.7 mi away
Ambong Ambong
Ambong Ambong
#1 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
624 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
6.3 mi away
Villa Molek Langkawi
Villa Molek Langkawi
#1 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Fuuka Villa
Fuuka Villa
#2 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hill

Address: 91 Jalan Telok Ewa | Mk Ulu Melaka, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range: $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Hill Resort is set on a peaceful, picturesque tropical hill with spectacular views of the mountains and rice fields in the heart of beautiful Langkawi Geopark Rainforest Island. The accommodations consist of Malaysian village-style chalets with queen size beds, full-featured bathrooms, and refreshment facilities. Guests dine in an original century-old Malay kampong-style house and swim in the luxury pool surrounded by the wonderous sights and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fox Hill Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing