We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

The service in xxxxbest is TERRIBLE!!! I booked 3 rooms at the hotel, when i wana check in, the staffs there told us that they only got 2 rooms for us. We paid a total of RM460 bt when we asked for refund, they only can give us back RM200. They told us that they only received RM200 from the travel agency but when we called the travel agency, they told us that they already paid all the amount to the resort. After some time o arguing, they told us that they can definitely give u s back the RM200 by the day we plan to check in and about the res of the money they said they will call the agency and let us know ASAP. But the staff there cheated us and they refused to let us meet their manager! They called us to return the next day morning at 7.30am and will give us a reasonable answer but guessed what...When we reached there, there is not a single person at the reception and the receptionist told us to find him on that he is ON LEAVE!!! Can you imagine that?!?! There is only one thing i can said about that..TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hiuchqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    326
    223
    72
    91
See reviews for
252
274
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2008

By : Eeshwar, KL.

Hi there after i had a terrible experience at Tanjung Mali Beach Motel last year. This year i tried Mali Best Resort. This resort was recommended to me by my client.

Quickly i contacted my Tour Agent to arrange my trip accompanied by my family members consists of 9 people. The reason why i choose Mali Best is because its near to the beach, since im going with my family i just them to have a comfortable stay and enjoy our holiday.

Overall....the room i booked is Super Deluxe Brick which is very clean and nice. Clean Bathroom. Even their beach is very clean. Service no comments...coz everyday their housekeeping staffs will clean the room and replace back the towels. Only thing which is lacking there is Lights around the beach side...at night time. Coz most of the resorts has a Spotlight which will bright up the beach area. If Mali Best did that it will be really wonderful.

We had a great time at Langkawi this time and thanx for my Tour Agent and Mali Best Resort.

  • Liked — Clean and Cool
  • Disliked — Dark when comes to night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eeshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I loved this place, although as said before reception left a lot to be desired, i was more than happy with our accomodation, nice clean room right on the beach, all tiled, fresh towels everyday, and room cleaned, view from our room was spectacular, we had t.v (although never watched it) tea making facilities, warm showers, warm seas..i woukld definately recommend this place,for 120 ringett a night you cant really complain, also maylasia is still up and coming in the tourism department..Ive already recommended malibest..also the tree houses looked great..
mrs scales.. essex

  • Liked — the great view from our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damansaraessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTW Trip
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We stayed at Malibest 5 nights with our 2 year old daughter in a standard but spacious, wooden chalet (RM 120) close to the road. The chalet had had its best times, it was dirty and rundown. Each night we were visited by a couple of mice who intrepidly ate the sleeve of our daughter's T-shirt with pasta stains on it :-) We used our own mosquito net (there was none available from the hotel) but had to move the bed and thus uncovering lots of dust and other garbage including used condoms. Chalet was cleaned every day but was in practice nothing more than replacing the towels. Staff are all young people and some were helpful, others not at all. We didn't eat at their Indian restaurant so cannot comment on that. Place changed management as it was still under the old name (Sewarak) in our 2006 travel guide, but this did not trigger refurbishing activities. The only good thing about this place is the location at a great beach, especially for young children.

  • Liked — The beach (which is public)
  • Disliked — Rundown accommodation with mice
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GlobetoddlerRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Nightmare!! If happen that you want to spend your holiday in Langkawi better delete Malibest Resort from your mind. The staff is lazy, unfriendly and the management is unexperiences people especially The manager Ms Yenny M. well, actually we came in a group consist of 80++. The event was a family day. everythings is well planned and exciting but lastly became an anger to us. The rooms is not according to the quotation that we paid and last minute the manager try to cancel our karaoke the day that we're suppose to have our dinner eventhough we already paid cash for the 27 rooms if i'm not mistaken. ( everything in Cash ) We wanted to see the manager Ms Yenny but it seems that she hiding behind the wall and only use her receptionist as her " orang tgh" Just imagine we're really mad and pist-off with this lady.. She afraid to see us and be responsible for the whole things. I felt so angry, we waited for almost 45 minutes but she didn't turn up at all. After a long discussion and argument, at last we take back our money and find karaoke set on our own. just imagine she try to destroy our family day dinner with her ' big head'. So please send her to a proper management course before letting her spoil malibest reputation. the beach and treetop is beautiful but the management is worst!!!

  • Liked — beach and the tree top house
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank semah70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2008

first bad experience happened was they hv extremely unorganized registeration,when i checked in they have so many paper on thier desk and it took so long to looking for my fax ( bcoz i hv paid half payment be4 i reach),lousy management. after that when we reached our room, there is no water!! the staff are rude when i ask the reason why we don hv water supply in our rooms.

i stayed there for 2nites, the last day morning, there is no electricity in my rooms!! the staff keep chasing us to move out bcoz other ppl wanna get in. by the way, it was only 12pm and the check out time is 1pm.

the location and place is gd but spoil bcoz of those rude staff and poor management!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldcookie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SELANGOR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Wrong Choice for a holiday. Place look beautiful but spoilt by the hotel staff and very rude and unfriendly Manager. Toilet and reception look like a run down "PONDOK" Except for the Tree Hut which is bonus to the hotel. But the furniture are run down and bed is hard and room is invaded by cockcroach and red ants. WRONG CHOICE FOR A HOLIDAY!!!!!

  • Liked — Tree House
  • Disliked — Unfriendly Staff and Manager
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ZAIDAH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.9 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#24 of 104 in Langkawi
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#13 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Property: Malibest Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibest Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing