We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For a trip on a budget, I would always recommend Cenang beach and to me, this is the best hotel on Cenang. Our room is right facing the beach. The room is clean, spacious, has tv, fridge, kettle, and hot water. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We never ate at the hotel. There is an Indian restaurant at the hotel that looks a little sad. But on Cenang, food is everywhere so don't worry about getting food here. There is even a bakery a few minutes walk from our room. The beach is amazing and there is plenty to do like jet ski and paragliding. Overall, is is a good accomodation for budget traveling and I really enjoyed this trip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfreak25625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    278
    180
    53
    66
See reviews for
187
222
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked through booking.com and were allocated a room on the opposite side of the road to the beach. The room was nice, clean, spacious but basic. The reception takes a refundable deposit of 100 MYR for the room key upon check in. It is 200m from the fantastic stretch of white sandy beach, where there are lots of water sports on offer. There are many restaurants to choose from within meters of the hotel, and a bakery which served the best cakes! Overall it is a good hotel for those on a budget, offering good accommodation in a popular area of Langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Sure the location is great but they wont tell you they are building a GIANT 4-5 story building right on the premises. I was so looking forward to this stay (tree house) but oh so disappointed. We arrived late but not even then did front desk notify us. This must have been going on for a while because the building has come a long way. We woke up at 7AM to construction nightmare.

We asked to change room so they sent us to their other hotel Best Star Resort.

tree house was small, bathroom was so tiny that when you shower the whole bathroom gets soaked. Good views though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DreamTrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located right on the pantai cenang (standard room is behind the road but 2 min walk to the beach too), right next to restaurants and nightlife. Parking in the yard, convenient for guests with cars

I found accommodation expensive in langkawi. Comparing to other resorts price on pantai cenang this one is worth the price.

The resort is actually a group of small brick houses in a yard that is very cute. room is spacious and clean with big beds (actually two king beds). Bathroom meet my expectation too and big enough that shower doesn't wet everything in the bathroom. But hot water is not always available. Supposed to have free wifi in room but it had problem during my stay, recovered at my last night there. Aircon and TV work very well, fridge and kettle were lovely surprise to me as tea and mango mania.

The lobby is a bit dimmed, behind the Indian restaurant attached. The food was pretty good only that the waiter rushed me to pay the bill right after I finished the meal (even before I finished mt drink) though there are a lot of empty tables available. The staff do the standards but not with hospitality. Deposit accept only cash. Noise from KTV can be heard from the room at night but not too disturbing.

Room Tip: I recommend standard rooms. Standard rooms are behind the road and not beach front, but it's clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissEchoechoecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sorry, it's been a late review.... This was my second time to stay with Malibest. Nothing much to compliment and yet to complaint due to the rates and location. Of course, this is a budget chalet style and you can't really expect too much from it. It convenient location, which is the center of Cenang beach is the superb fantastic place with restaurants along the street, plus, yeah, just few seconds of walk towards the Cenang Beach~

Of course, if you are looking for great hospitality/ service, fantastic room or private beach, this is not for you then~ This place is only suitable for budget travelers, who wish to have a slightly better accommodation (better than those motels or other chalet) and not paying too much~ Their family room which costs bout USD50 with 2 double beds are just great for group, well, you can add additional extra bed with bout USD10 as well, the room is pretty huge though~

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calvenracquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love love LOVE this hotel. We stayed in a deluxe treehouse, and had coffee every morning on the balcony a stone's throw away from the water. The rooms were fine, nothing special...Good service, walking distance to duty free and loads of yummy places to eat and drink! The rooms are basic but fine...Air con, daily cleaning, etc. No complaints for the price, would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: It's worth it to splurge for the deluxe rooms for the view alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel will not inform you until you arrive that there is construction on a huge building 5 meters from most of this sham "resort" until you arrive.

Only then, the mention is in passing. The workers show up at 06:30 on their (loud) motorbikes.

Tree houses are a total joke. See all the wood in the pics? It's painted asbestos that has been screwed into the wood frame. Unreal. Same goes with the the "tile" in the bathroom. I am pretty sure you have never seen anything so crazy.

When you ask to be re-booked, the front desk (super sweet) will accommodate. When you are booked into another Baron property (read: another location but owned by same folks) with a new and similarly disgusting set of problems you will wonder why there are no mid-range options available.

Put me off to the entire island.

if your budget allows, casa del mar and meritus are the only options on this beach.

I know we are in the tropics, so the roach that fell onto the bed when tucking in is normal. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
6.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 2,022 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Property: Malibest Resort
Address: Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibest Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing