We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms unhelpful staff”
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had the brick room which is not on the beach but across the road. Room was large, clean with fridge, kettle and TV. We had 2 double beds and it was just 2 of us. The beds were very comfy. One of the beds had rock hard pillows and the others were really soft. Bathroom was clean and large, rack for placing shower was broken. Odd smell of vomit from the drain outside on the second morning. We had noisy neighbours and could hear them through the walls. Convinient tap outside the front door to wash off the beach sand. You can only check in at 3 which is a bit of a hassle as the ferry's from penang reach at 11 am. But you can leave bags at reception. THere's a RM100 deposit for your room key. The staff were not helpful in getting us a taxi to the airport and we had to arrange for ourselves. For the price of Rs.2300 per night it was immensely better than anything you'd get in India for the same price.Very clean and good value for money, Great location for all shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayatriganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Malibest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 842 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was right on the beach. I have been helped alot by the staff. The staff was really helpfull and always keep you informed. You need to make room reservation a month in advance to get the room available because the hotel is really occupied. I stayed in deluxe super wooden and the room was spacious enough. I travelled with family; 3 children, 1 infant + wife for sure :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taufik_Budiharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

compared with other hotels in the area Malibest is great value, and very well located. If you just want somewhere clean and tidy to sleep near the beach and all the great little shops and restaurant/bars, this will suit you. Dont use their tour operator though, rude and very unhelpful, and there are plenty more in town! Ask for a room on the beach so you can sit out on your own little porch and have a drink at night. For those on a budget Zon duty free about 15 mins walk along the road has good value wine and beer. The Indian restaurant on site was both delicious and some of the friendliest service I had in Langkawi. We were delighted this New Year with the lanterns and fireworks on the beach which we enjoyed in the company of many delightful malaysians.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room unless you want to be quiet in which case go for a back courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed in one of their wooden houses by the name of Pak Andak.

My comment -
- the wooden house looks more like a haunted shack.
- small size doors, watch your head.
- bathroom has staircase, watch your step
- wooden walls and floors, a lot of creaking and outsiders can see you through the planks,
watch what you are doing.

My compliment
- beach is right in front, nice view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We (I and partner) stayed in Malibest resort for 3 nights. I really liked the location of the resort - right on the Pentai Cenang beach. The road runs parallel to the beach (hardly any distance). There are two kinds of rooms, alongside the beach and on the opposite side of the road. The ones on the opposite side of the road are not bad at all - they are much cheaper, have plenty of parking space (you would need it if you rent a car). Malibest also has a good Indian restaurant.

Overall, a good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend most of the time outside, take a room on the road side. They are much cheaper.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniket_Bhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was in Malibest Resort from 1st Dec to 3rd Dec 2012 (with family of 3 small children ).Below are my review:

Management and staff.

I booked for super deluxe three months earlier with one month deposit, while check in you need to pay for the RM100 key deposit and the balance payment. I checked in late about 10.00 pm and forgot to bring my booking receipt but the staff are really kind and they have my booking transaction the staff also very friendly and always smile .I dont have any problem with the staff and dont expect the 5 star treatment for this 3 star resort.

Location:

Malibest location is in Pantai Chenang and even though Malibest dont have any swimming pool, the perfect beach is in front of you!!!!. You can swim there any time you you like or participate in beach activity such as Banana ride, Jet Ski, parasailing etc.At night you can just walk around in Pantai Chenang Beach as well. Malibest also dont provide any breakfast but dont worry you can go to the nearby restaurants.

Hotel Room:

The hotel room came with two comfortable queen size bed and it is indeed Very comfortable for my family since we came with small children and had a very good sleep.., .TV ( dont expect LCD or LED Flat screen) , since i came to langkwi just for relax so i dont mind to get old design tv, they also have basic air Condition with Ceiling Fan, and the toilet(Big and again comortable).

Last , Next time i will stay in Malibest resort..and it is very good place to relax and spend time with family

Room Tip: Get a Room facing the beach ..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank azu_ibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was 2nd time i stay here. This resort located in pantai chenang and near to beach. Open door you can see beach just around 10meter. I'm staying for 2 night. For 1st night at nyior setali and 2nd night at chempulin. Last time i came here walk-in, this time school holiday. I booking 1 mnth before but only 3 room available. for booking you need to pay room for 1 night for each room you choose. So i need to pay 700 for 3 room and balance 340 for 2 night stay. Ist impression really important. When check in i need to pay another 150 for key deposit and 1 night room. I really angry with this it like i need to pay more than what i should pay. if they want me to pay all for 2 night its ok for me but its more than that. They take 150 key deposit but i and my family with 3 infant stay in rain without provide any umbrella just to wait your staff open you room door with poor magnetic card system that really useless. When i enter room not really clean no towel no phone so i need to walk to reception Again. If you all stay here you need to check out 12pm even you stay for 2 night your access card will not functioning. It really horrible for me. For 2nd night i change room so ineed to check out and check in again 3pm. For this room also my card not functioning for 2 rime i go to reception. Lastly they give room key.
Overal location perfect but service need ro improve

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keyplus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.8 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#17 of 104 in Langkawi
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#26 of 104 in Langkawi
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $33 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibest Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing