We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip @@”
Review of Malibest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malibest Resort
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Sintok, Kedah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday trip @@”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

total up exactly is not bad le... ^^
Location of hotel Cenang Beach is also only about 10 mins from the airport and getting to and from is no problem..beside that hotel also damn near with the beach...when night wan go have a walk beside beach also can...feel so comfortable and nice...workers also nice and friendly..nand nearby the hotel have many food can eat... 0.0 ...once finish bath straight go nearby eh restaurant find food to fills my flatted stomach...hehe..
but the room they gv is quite weird...we have six people...either they gv us 1 big room or 2 rooms can fit 3 ppl...but they gv us one 4ppl rooms and one 2 ppl rooms....dun really understand naa... ><

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShRayZai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    323
    220
    70
    89
See reviews for
249
268
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Malibest is fab, the huts are on Cenang Beach, Langkawi. It worked out about £15 a night and the huts were basic with an inroom safe, but what more do you need. The beach at Cenang is beautiful with plenty going on day and night.

There is wifi available in the lobby and restaurants and street food stalls are everywhere. Cenang Beach is also only about 10 mins from the airport and getting to and from is no problem.

When I am next on Langkawi this is the place I will look up first, for a slightly higher charge per night there are a few treehouses available which look cool to say the least, however they are generally booked up in advance.

Room Tip: If your booking a treehouse, book way in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilipFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Superb super deluxe chalet on the beach at Malibest Resort. Excellent location, sand on your doorstep and straight to the sea, what more can you ask for. We were early for check in, so our rooms weren't ready, this wasn't a problem as we just walked onto the beach and to Babylon Bar and had some lunch and a drink while we waited. When we eventually checked in, we were shown to our rooms - on the beach, excellent position as this is what we requested. Rooms very spacious with air con and a fan, also a fridge which was topped up with 2 bottles of water daily. The rooms were clean, but again the rooms were just a base as we were out all day. We have stayed at the Malibest before and not had any problems, will be staying again on our next visit in 2years time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach for an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shawzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It can be a very nice experience, it has pros and cons :

Location: is excellent on Cenang beach of Langkawi.

Tree houses: are really fun and nice well maintained with air conditioner and a safe box (claim it if you don't find it when you check in) EXCEPT for the very very weak water pressure of the shower! I've been to this hotel (i don't want to call it a resort) several times in the past 3 years, and this very disturbing problem remains without any solution, showering in the tree house is really a big problem. the one tree house in the front that is directly facing the beach doesn't have this problem. the problem is that you can't book that particular tree house in advance, it's subject to availability upon checking in.

Chalets: I don't advise anyone to get a chalet because of the mosquitoes, they will disturb your sleep very badly. so if you decide to stay in a ground chalet, then make sure you apply insects repellent and an insects coil so that you can sleep.

Facilities: you get nothing much.. no pool, no gym, no internet in rooms, basically you get nothing there.

Food: The hotel's restaurant is Indian but of a low quality, so you'd better take a walk and find your food somewhere else (go out, turn right and walk for like 5 minutes, there is a nice chinese restaurant on the same side with nice food and reasonable prices)

Water Sports: get to the beach, walk left for about a 100 meters, and look for SEEMAN WATER SPORTS. that is a professional operator with good variety of activities. they can arrange jet ski family or couples day tours for you for a better price than other operators. DON'T hesitate to bargain with them or any other operator.

Room Tip: don't choose choose the tree house, particularly the one that is right in front of the beach, me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here early november 2012. Booked a beachfront room which was good in every way. Clean, nice beds, and an working hot water shower.

They have no breakfast (at least thats what the deskgirl told us) but that doesnt matter since there's a very good bakery just around the corner.

Location for this beachfront room was offcourse excellent, open the door, walk 7 meters and lay down on the sand. 10 ringit a day gives you a chair to lay down upon.

Sunsets are the best at this side of Langkawi.

For a budget hotel its great!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were travelling with a child and we decided to stay in Pentai Cenang area in Langkawi. Booked this one thinking it to be a resort and also close to beach, however it is not a resort. It is a motel. Apart from the location, theres nothing positive to speak about. The service was bad. They didnt pick us up from the airport (though I had ordered earlier for the same). However it was good because they were charging double than the normal taxis which we can get at the airport. The resort is not far from the airport.

Some positives

The rooms are in the beach even if you do not get the beach facing rooms, the deluxe wooden ones have a beach view, however the tree house would have been interesting. The beach activities are all nearby, there is also an open air night club, which is good. Did not try the food as there were plenty of fresh sea food joints nearby.

Negatives

Very bad service, front desk etc is not upto the mark. Though they failed to provide the airport pickup, they apologised and tried to sale a tour to us, which is not of good taste. The management should invest in the rooms a little more. Though rooms are bigger, the A.C. cooling was not good. They did not have an adaptor also.

However considering the price of less than 200 Rm, You can try this hotel so that you roam all day around and take a rest at night.

Room Tip: Try the Tree houses, If not the deluxe wooden ones are better though they will not have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhineet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've been here twice... But couldn't get any chance for the treehouse! This coming 09/11/12 would be my third time.
Please maintain the structure of being a resort. Treehouse and deluxe room is good. Need to improvise more on the service.
Beach bar and cafe would be more attractive. Secure your compaund area, so that guest wouldn't confuse. Despite of the constructions, i would repeat my vacation here again and again. Please baricade the constructions area. Its dangerous!

Last but not least... Malibest is the place for your average traveler. Im loving it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ayzamabdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.9 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#17 of 103 in Langkawi
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#24 of 103 in Langkawi
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibest Resort

Property: Malibest Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibest Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malibest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibest Resort Langkawi
Malibest Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing