We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rundown hostel with unfriendly managers in charge for some peanuts”
Review of Zackry Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zackry Guest House
Ranked #5 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A rundown hostel with unfriendly managers in charge for some peanuts”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed two nights because we could not find anything else between the 20th of December and Christmas on Langkawi. After our stay we were quite astonished about Zackry's positive rating on TA. Believe it or not, but in Cambodia or Vietnam an equivalent place would not be able to survive with such a negative attitude towards budget travelers in the long-term. One valid interpretation for this circumstance probably links to the fact that only a very few guest houses target the low-price segment on Langkawi. Zackry's guest house seems to be one of the first accommodations which focused solely on the backer packer segment. However, in our opinion their their lack of customer care, ignorance and absence of empathy sooner or later will put their competitive edge at stake because others definitely can do better.

The pro's of Zackry's:

+ Very cheap and good location, no doubt
+ Basic stuff is provided such as an old bed, an AC, a dusty room, a dusty bath room, and warm water

The con's:

- Take a look on their website and you will notice a basic ungentle, if not arrogant attitude towards travelers with modern expectations. We experienced this attitude live on stage. For instance the only things Zackry (Jr.?) would say to us mostly involved how and where we should park our motorbike. Other than that we would not even hear one single "good morning" or "hi". Unless you belong to Zackry's "inner circle" you simply should not expect any friendliness or customer care. We have experienced such similar behavior already in other Asian countries and most of times we simply ignored that. However, we have never observed such an essential negative attitude towards their own guests such as in Zackry's case.

- They have a very disturbing view of how/what backpackers should behave/expect when they travel in a foreign country. Somewhere on TA you will find the following quote by Zackry (either among the "poor", or "terribel" comments): "When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable.The fact that you think this is intimidating [is] just a perfect sign that you [do] not belong here". If all businesses in the hospitality sector would adopt this frame of reference, countries such as France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the U.S. would lose a major portion of their national income. Unfortunately, once you see Zackry walking through his own place you can clearly observe this questionable attitude. After all it is us travelers (no matter if we can afford a room for $7 or $20) who finance their flashy iPad, car, and LCD TV. Still, do not expect any gratitude for your money. I am quite sure sooner or later even Zackry's will painfully realize that if they do not change their attitude towards travelers, the later will more and more head to the new hostels/guest houses with real customer service/care, and a professional attitude for exactly the same "peanuts". This is mainly because Malaysia is slowly turning to a modern service industry. Even on Langkawi many hospitality businesses came to realize that it is quite possible to provide superior service and modern rooms for only few bucks. However, you need to have a "can-do" instead of a "I-don't care" mentality to realize such an opportunity.

One very good example in this regard is "the Box Chalet" which is currently No. 1 on TA for B&B. The owner learned from the bottom-up which uncontested factors are a basic requirement to run a guest house professionally and profitably in the low-price sector.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    86
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
8
107
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the Guesthouse for 4 nights and were overall very happy. We chose a studio which was very spacious. The studio itself was equipped very simple but with all the necessary things we needed (cupboard, small fridge, sofa and a small table, comfortable bed and simple but clean bathroom). It had an air-conditioner which we did not use, though since we used the ceiling fan. Note that only a few rooms have a safe inside, you can rent a locker outside though (we did not use it).

The guy at the reception (Sam) is very easy-going and can give you advise if needed. For a few Ringit you can have breakfast there (pancakes and French toast and some milk shakes) that is being prepared by a friendly German guy. We tried the French toast once and liked it a lot.
Free Wifi is provided even in the rooms.

For dinner we can very much recommend the Restaurant Mangga that is very close by (to the right side when coming out of Zackry’s) – we tried it 3 times and each time it was delicious! Very cheap as well.

The Guesthouse is loacted in Pantai Tengah which is much more quiet than Pantai Cenang though you can get to Pantai Cenang by foot in approx. 15 min.
The beach is only around 5 min. by foot away.

Overall, it is a very good budget option.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio (room no. 1) which was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had a terrible experience with this hostel's customer service. On the night of 1st January, 2013, while I was in the shower of my room 16, part of the roof collapsed and a huge gray cat jumped out of there. I have been traumatized and stressed like, I have never been before. And the worst is, when I complaint about this to your worker/owner, he said "Thank you for letting us know."

So this hotel is a cheap place to stay, do not expect much especially safety. It is far from the beach, the swimming pool looks terrible, there are lizards, cockroaches crawling around everywhere. Maybe the only good thing is that it has everyday house cleaning and they give you fresh towels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you prefer a quieter beach and stretch of traveller's cafes and accommodations, Zackry's is the one for you on Pantai Tengah. Rooms are clean, bedsheets are changed after 2 nights and there is daily housekeeping service which can decline if you want to sleep in. Located just behind Thai Mom's restaurant, the guesthouse is a perfect place for travellers on a budget. Small but clean communal kitchen is open to all guests and a bar as well. There are three (or four?) dogs on the premise and some ducks too. Ensuite rooms cost a bit more and are located in a secluded spot away from the noisy main road.

Room Tip: Room 22 - was next to the neighbouring restaurant's kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here twice in 2010 and 2011 during a RTW trip. Liked its personal touch (such as the friendly chap that cooked the cheap and cheerful breakfasts) plus the friendly owners dogs that roamed free through the hostel grounds. The only downside is the twenty minute walk to the main Cenang beach but hey, at £7 a single room you can get used to the stroll. They also hire out scooters for a few quid a day that a great, cheap way to explore Langkawi’s beauty. Good, clean, communal showers and toilets that are cleaned several times a day. Free Wi fi in the communal restaurant, works fine. Oh, and free tea and coffee.

Drink and eat at Little Lylia's on Cenang beach - awesome spot with great staff!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me & my wife stayed at zackry guest house for 2 nights in november. the twin suite was decent, clean. The man (Sam) at the counter might not look very welcoming but i thought he was someone without much pretension. The pet dogs r fun to be around. the tenants gather at the kitchen every night it seems, and that can be very nice if u r very outgoing type. this place is far away from Kuah (30 min by tax) but the location is nice and quiet. a good number of eateries around. there r two motorbike renting shops on either side, 2 min walk. We took a bike from the 'go island' (name was something like that) and the owner of the shop was very friendly and polite.
overall a nice hotel with great location. pretty apt for small gangs of backpackers but couples will also find it nice and private enough. Have fun in lankawi...Sreekumar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Words might explain what ratings might not. Apart from the perfect location and awesome people I met this place is the place to BE!
Zackry & Sam are really wonderful hosts and they set the scene with a vibe that gets you in the zone.
The common room is always welcoming at ANY point of time and be open to interactions cos you never know what kind of knowledge you might miss out on if you keep yours to yourself.
I wish I stayed longer and keep mentally kicking myself for not extending my stay. Definitely going back in the near future!

Note - book online, follow the set of rules & keep an open mind.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
7.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
1.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#8 of 150 in Langkawi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Zackry Guest House

Property: Zackry Guest House
Address: Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zackry Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house located on the same street of 3 to 4 star resorts. The white sandy 500meters beach is just 200 meters away. It has a common kitchen for light cooking, bar/lounge, satellite TV, internet services. Many choices of restaurants next door and along the same road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zackry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zackry Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing