We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, clean and functional guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zackry Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zackry Guest House
Ranked #6 of 137 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and functional guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you prefer a quieter beach and stretch of traveller's cafes and accommodations, Zackry's is the one for you on Pantai Tengah. Rooms are clean, bedsheets are changed after 2 nights and there is daily housekeeping service which can decline if you want to sleep in. Located just behind Thai Mom's restaurant, the guesthouse is a perfect place for travellers on a budget. Small but clean communal kitchen is open to all guests and a bar as well. There are three (or four?) dogs on the premise and some ducks too. Ensuite rooms cost a bit more and are located in a secluded spot away from the noisy main road.

Room Tip: Room 22 - was next to the neighbouring restaurant's kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    71
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
6
84
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here twice in 2010 and 2011 during a RTW trip. Liked its personal touch (such as the friendly chap that cooked the cheap and cheerful breakfasts) plus the friendly owners dogs that roamed free through the hostel grounds. The only downside is the twenty minute walk to the main Cenang beach but hey, at £7 a single room you can get used to the stroll. They also hire out scooters for a few quid a day that a great, cheap way to explore Langkawi’s beauty. Good, clean, communal showers and toilets that are cleaned several times a day. Free Wi fi in the communal restaurant, works fine. Oh, and free tea and coffee.

Drink and eat at Little Lylia's on Cenang beach - awesome spot with great staff!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me & my wife stayed at zackry guest house for 2 nights in november. the twin suite was decent, clean. The man (Sam) at the counter might not look very welcoming but i thought he was someone without much pretension. The pet dogs r fun to be around. the tenants gather at the kitchen every night it seems, and that can be very nice if u r very outgoing type. this place is far away from Kuah (30 min by tax) but the location is nice and quiet. a good number of eateries around. there r two motorbike renting shops on either side, 2 min walk. We took a bike from the 'go island' (name was something like that) and the owner of the shop was very friendly and polite.
overall a nice hotel with great location. pretty apt for small gangs of backpackers but couples will also find it nice and private enough. Have fun in lankawi...Sreekumar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreesinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Words might explain what ratings might not. Apart from the perfect location and awesome people I met this place is the place to BE!
Zackry & Sam are really wonderful hosts and they set the scene with a vibe that gets you in the zone.
The common room is always welcoming at ANY point of time and be open to interactions cos you never know what kind of knowledge you might miss out on if you keep yours to yourself.
I wish I stayed longer and keep mentally kicking myself for not extending my stay. Definitely going back in the near future!

Note - book online, follow the set of rules & keep an open mind.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sishreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted kindly by Sam who helped us to extend our stay by 3 nights, changing rooms twice. The rooms were clean and comfy. The location is fantastic with a beautiful beach 5 mins walk away. (Loads of jellyfish though....)

Tea and coffee and water all free. Use of beach mats and umbrellas.

For the price, you really cannot complain.

The guest book and signs around the guesthouse are strangley acusational. It as though they've been messed around in the past and now feel the need to make sure people don't litter or take advantage which is a shame.

Other than that, a nice little find.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_auger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Fantastic allround,thanks for Sam and Zak for making my holiday very special.clean and adequate rooms,fantastic social area that gather everybody for chats,music,drinks..and all day free tea,coffee,cold water.plus a knowladgable and honest juiding for activities and excursions in a fun inviroment makes this juest house the right choice for backpackers and mid range travellers,,highly recommended.

Room Tip: A/C doubleroom with isuit shower for 20$ a night was perfect for me as you can't really choose b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Zackry is simple and nice guesthouse, with the price offered. We took a 3-beds ensuite room. The room is spacious, air-cond and hot shower are a plus! Just unfortunately one of our room down lights was blew out, and the floor was a bit sticky (on the 1st day). However, it didn't impact much cos we were not reading in room, but just chit chatting and hide in the comfort blanket. And daily housekeeping can solve all the concerns. :) ohyaaaa, the dogs are very very beautiful, and big size!! If you scare of dogs, might need to reconsider.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cacasoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
7.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
1.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#7 of 137 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zackry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zackry Guest House

Property: Zackry Guest House
Address: Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zackry Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house located on the same street of 3 to 4 star resorts. The white sandy 500meters beach is just 200 meters away. It has a common kitchen for light cooking, bar/lounge, satellite TV, internet services. Many choices of restaurants next door and along the same road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Zackry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zackry Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing