We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was Deserted when we arrived at Noon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanjung Rhu Beach

Tanjung Rhu Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tanjung Rhu Beach and Mangrove Forest Boat Tour in Langkawi...
Ranked #6 of 90 things to do in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It was Deserted when we arrived at Noon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had the entire beach to ourselves, but later in the afternoon, more people started arriving.

The water is very salty. The Speedboats who will give you an Island Hopping Tour, are only available for 3 hours for something like RM300 (for 6 people). We wanted a half-hour ride which they wouldn't consider.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    288
    87
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of jellyfish and stingrays when at the beach !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was there in the evening for a swim today on the part of the beach where boats from island hopping trips would land. Within less than 30seconds, while at the edge of the water I felt an electrifying sharp pain on my wrists. Pulling my hand out I found out that I had been stung by a jellyfish as there were still tentacles wrapped around my arm. Luckily the locals poured vinegar over the infected area. Just within minutes it has begun to swell. I went to the nearby government clinic and was given quick treatment. I was told that the Tanjung Rhu beach area is known to have reports of jellyfish and stingrays attack (which is worst) especially during the middle of the year. So please be careful, as for my case the jellyfish was transparent and not easily detected. Mine was not lethal but it sure hurts as hell !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OpenMinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tanjung Rhu Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We visit this place in 2011 Agust.
Beach located on the North coast of Langkawi.
In front of this beach are some rocks that enrich the view.
However, we like more the Datai beach which lies West of that.
We got the idea that water sometimes might not be the best because there is a river that flows on the beach and could bring some sediments and turn this not so clear.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Polo30071969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful private beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

It's a private beach, with very white sandy beach. I just went there for a walk and taking photos. The hotel is super expensive for me. They keep limit people to go to the beach to protect this place. It's lovely, i will go there everytime i go to Langkawi

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HunnyDeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Beach are cleaner than cenang beach a lots. However, there are less toilet and cloth changing room provided along the beach, quite inconvenient and disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanjung Rhu Beach also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Tanjung Rhu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing