We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in the Sea Village. Room was very dated, service poor - we asked for a tray to be removed from outside our room (not ours but someone had put it there) and it took them the afternoon and two complaints to remove it.

Also, they charged for WIFI where as other hotels at the same cost provided this free. Would not go back as there are much better options.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    172
    112
    79
    69
See reviews for
116
229
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Friendly staff and quiet place. upgraded us to deluxe sea villa which was great, the price of the services such as internet is very reasonable

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

It was really great, very friendly staff, clean rooms, great place with good prices

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Be warned if you're paying more for the Sea View rooms, it is a sham because you cannot see the sea and you get to see only the hotel area.

In general, the breakfast and hotel rooms were decent. The downside is that it is not really a romantic place to stay, it is flooded by families. For a romantic stay, look at Casa Del Mar.

The third downside is the location, you're better off staying somewhere in Pantai Cenang where all the action is, rather than having to take a taxi to and fro Cenang everyday like we had to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaroopch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Was excited about staying in room on the lagoon, but unfortunately due to the ridiculous design you couldn't see any water. The mini deck to sit outside and enjoy the surrounds were at the backs of the rooms therefore you have a view of the other units or the dilapidated hotel next door - not quite the sunset over the lagoon you would expect from the location. Very old and never refurbished (which I didn't think would be a problem) but really it was bad. Definitely not even close to being worth the money and I got 35% off through booking agency. I don't mind the broken air con and your room key working only once and having to walk all the way back to reception who are definitely not shocked about the constant breaking down of things but was very disappointed in set up. Really find somewhere else, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adkajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Average hotel. Very expensive with respect to facilities. Good this is Location.
Untrained staff. Poor infrastructure...
Many other better options available...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

I was very disappointed after arriving when I realize there was no any decent beach at all! The sea surrounding was block by water block which refrain frm the big waves n even breeze frm coming in which will make u feel abit hot especially at nite. The staff r friendly n the foods are decent, but abit expensive, if given me a chance, with the price that I pay, looking for any other same 3 or 4 stars of resort & expecting a wonderful sandy beach and seaview, I would definitely recommend pelangi meritus beach resort or mutiara burau bay resort, I feel tat (personally) , they r more value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suprize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.5 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#80 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
3.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langkawi Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langkawi Lagoon Resort

Property: Langkawi Lagoon Resort
Address: Lot 78 Jalan Kuala Muda | Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#20 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langkawi Lagoon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langkawi Lagoon Resort, conveniently located just 3 km or approximately 5 minutes drive from the Langkawi International Airport and Mahsuri International Exhibition Centre, offers remarkable views of the ocean and the rolling hills nearby. The resort features two types of accommodations: beach front hotel suites and sea village. Beach front hotel suites consist of 86 units of sea and hill view rooms/suites. Spacious rooms ranging from 36 sqm to 63 sqm with full room amenities, chaise lounge (pangkin) and kitchenette facilities are available. The 76 units of our Sea Village are built on stilts with typical Malay architectural design consisting of studio suites, family sea duplex and a presidential suite. Each unit comes with private balcony, kitchenette facilities and full room amenities. They are built within a sanctuary of calm waters protected from the open sea by a breakwater. The resort offers luxurious facilities such as beachfront swimming pool with Jacuzzi and sunken bar, gymnasium, sauna and steam rooms, meeting and function rooms, guest service centre and an Embun Spa. Full range of land and sea activities can be arranged for all guests. For your dining and entertainment, the resort offers a choice of meal selections from local and international cuisines and beverages at the Anjung Brasserie, Layalie Al-Syam Restaurant (Arabic specialty restaurant) and Mentari Lounge. There is always a little something for everyone to take home as a souvenir from our duty free gift corner. All in all, this premier international resort offers a serene environment and a totally different holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Langkawi Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Lagoon Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing