We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Keladi Guest House
Ranked #7 of 163 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

One of the best accommodations we had in Southeastasia.

This is the perfect retreat to escape the busy Cenang area. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.

It is very nice to relax in the common area, observe the animals, play with the cat or just have a chat with other guests or the owners.

D and Marc, thank you for the very pleasant stay. Your stories were amusing, interesting and we highly enjoyed your company.

Best wishes,
Milosz, Rosa and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterpanda1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

I and my partner Lee enjoyed a 3 and a half months stay at the Pondok Keladi Guesthouse, situated on Pentai Tengah road. The bungalow is a good size [2 bedrooms] with plenty of space for 2-4 people, air con in the main bedroom and plenty of room & ceiling fans throughout.....it ticks the boxes for everything you would need for a self catering stay in Langkawi. The house is in a great location, just 5-10 minutes walk to Pentai Tengah beach which is much quieter compared to the main Pentai Cenang beach further along the coast. If you don't plan to cook at home theres lots of options for eating out along the main road from local malay style [Kartijahs on the corner was our staple at breakfast time], to good standard European at Sheelas & Sun Cafe, fabby Thai at Mayas, and North Indian food at Tulsi Garden....all of which are no more than 5 mins walk from the guesthouse.

Marc & Dee were great landlords too, making our stay extra special with plenty of help and advice on best places to eat and were very kind to invite us along to some of the local island meetups at Langkawi Ladybirds for bowling with other ex-pats on the island, a lovely way to make a few new friends along the way.

We'd highly recommend the Pondok Keladi Guesthouse to anybody looking for good standard self catering accomodation on Langkawi thats in a quiet spot but not far from all the action. We hope to return in the future, and many thanks to Marc & Dee for such great hospitality!
Belinda & Lee, Manchester, UK

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindiwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After KL, Penang and even Cameron Highlands, it was nice to have a place to completely unwind. Set on the edge of the Jungle, 10 Mins walk to the main street, this place is the best. On arrival we were greeted by the 3 dogs and got 2 beers and 2 waters complimentary. You can save money by cooking the free eggs, noodles and bread.

We got a quick free tour around the main streets and got some great advice of places to eat and drink and see.

Booked two nights stayed 7, if we didn't have other plans would have stayed longer.

Some people criticize the location but its perfect. It is quite, short walk/cheap taxi from he main road and its quiet. Plus you can see wild monkeys nearly every day.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reddaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pondok Keladi is located back in a village near to but away from the bussle and noise of Jalan Pantai Chenang on Langkawi. It is not far from the airport, making transfers easy, and your hosts at Pondok Keladi can arrange quick and easy transport to and from the airport. The guest house has several rooms, all of which are about the same size, which is generous for guest house standards. They all have en suite bathrooms and showers, and closets and dressers for clothes. Each room also has a refrigerator for keeping drinks or food cool in the room (a couple of welcome drinks are in the fridge for each guest's arrival, which is a nice touch). All rooms also have both fan and AC for temperature control. Out on the porch in front of each room are a table and chairs for relaxing outside. Just across the gardened yard from the rooms is a common open air living room, dining room and kitchen, which is set up in the do-it-yourself style. Bread, eggs, coffee, tea, jams, noodles and ramen, spices, ice, etc. are all stocked in the fridge for common use and are free, and guests frequently add things they pick up at the markets for sharing. The kitchen has every possible utensil, pot/pan and tool to cook just about anything. The DIY style is great, because it allows guests to prepare food whenever they want it, while also providing the opportunity to meet new people and engage in conversation in the open living room/dining room and the kitchen. WiFi is also free, and while focused in the common areas, works pretty well in the rooms also. Motorbikes are available for rent at very reasonable prices, and I highly recommend renting one for your time there to zip around the island. The whole property is surrounded by palm trees and various flowers, and it is a very tranquil and beautiful retreat from the main street and the beaches. At the same time, it is only a 10-15 minute walk from the very heart of the activity. However, the best part of Pondok Keladi is definitely the hosts. Dee and Marc are warm and welcoming folks, who are always ready to offer advice on the island, set up a tour with one of their many friends around the island, or just sit down for a coffee. I was traveling alone, and they did not hesitate to invite me out to participate in whatever they were doing, to see parts of town or have a meal or drink. I was very impressed by this warm welcome and by the kindness and openness they showed to someone they had never met before. Needless to say, I left Pondok Keladi with two new friends, and I will certainly stay there again whenever I next return to Langkawi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Third visit to this beautiful island of langkawi and second time staying at Pondok. Dee and Marc are fab hosts, very helpful and informative. My room is clean everyday. Love the new bathroom tiles. The common area known as the Balai is an excellent venue for the guests to mingle. Great wifi service. Common kitchen very handy as I enjoy cooking. Plenty of eggs, bread, jam and butter and all these are included in the room rate! Very generous. Will come back to langkawi and definitely stay at pondok...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickcoombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is definitely one of a kind, especially for the price. I spent my days reading in the common area, surrounded by the lovely garden & sounds of nature. It's a nice change from the usual budget accommodation...especially in Langkawi where the majority are nestled in dusty, crowded spots. I love to walk so I didn't mind the 15min walk to the beach. but if you're not into walking, rent a bicycle because it's worth staying here if you love being surrounded by green.

The rooms are clean, the pillows & sheets nice & soft. Each room here has an A/C unit plus ceiling fan if you prefer that. What impressed me most was my bathroom had been recently fitted with new tiles, making the bathroom look brand new. Mark & Dee are very relaxed, lovely, & helpful hosts. I'm living in KL at the moment and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved it so much,it really is a beautiful place to stay...watching the monkeys in the afternoon in the trees nearby,the squirrels running on the power lines, the beautiful birds,the 3 very well trained friendliest dogs and Melissa the cat,plenty to keep you occupied.the rooms are lovely and clean,air con works great, beds really comfy with great pillows.Apart from all of that,D and Mark are what makes this place stand out from all the others, they are so helpful,lovely people.Organised bikes, transfers etc. The kitchen area is also a great added benefit, and free noodles,bread,jam, coffee, tea,but also all appliances to cook anything you buy,even a juicer.i think the location is perfect, you need a car or bike in langkawi to enjoy all it has to offer,we walked into town at night,but used the scooters when it was too hot,also great walking track right outside your door,jungle on 1 side, buffalo on the other...all in all,the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,460 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
445 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
1.3 mi away
Soluna Guest House
Soluna Guest House
#3 of 167 in Langkawi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Keladi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Keladi Guest House

Address: Lot 1011 | Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $25 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pondok Keladi Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing