We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing oasis - always again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Keladi Guest House
Ranked #7 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Velbert
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful relaxing oasis - always again”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was looking for a relaxing quiet place close to the vibrant main beach in Chenang. Pondok was just perfekt. I was picked up from the airport and brought into this hidden guest house. The room was clean, tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Did not want to get out of bed in the morning because it was so relaxing. I also liked the open air dining room area for breakfasts and for chatting with other guests.
You can easily walk to the beach but the best option is to rent a bike or scooter (very cheap) to get around. I used my scooter to explore the entire island. The owners of the Pondok always helped me with any questions. They told me what to see, what not to see and the best places for food and night life.
It might sound strange but I also liked the other guests. In some other guest houses on my travels I had to experience noisy, drunk, teenage backpackers. In the Pondok all other guests where very mature and interesting to chat with.
Next time I visit Langkawi I will definetely stay at the Pondok Keladi Homestay again. Looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianPeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    36
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
124
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After reading the reviews we were so looking forward to staying at Pondok Keladi, however upon arriving and being shown our room we were very disappointed.

The owners were on holiday so their elderly mother was overseeing things, who was obviously a keen gardener as the garden was transformed from an overgrown plot to a well manicured garden by the end of our stay.

Whilst probably good originally, the rooms are now going steadily downhill due to a lack of maintenance - in ours (Room 2), the front curtain rail was broken and hanging off the wall, the shelf beside the bed was the same. The floor of the room was in need of a good scrub, though the ants that had made their home at the front step may not have liked this much. The glass in the bathroom door was held in place with of wads of toilet paper. The pictures that were once on the wall are missing, only the nails remain.

In the room, the bedding was faded, stained (though appeared to have been washed), and no two items seemed to match. All the bedding and towels were worn and would be better replaced. One window has a net curtain only, so you will be awake early.

There was a small fridge in the room which was very handy and the air conditioning worked well. Our fridge contained 2 beers and 2 bottles of water on arrival but was not replenished during our 4 day stay.

There was a table and 2 chairs ourside each room which would have been very pleasant for reading, however none of the lights outside any of the rooms worked (poor maintenance again). At the rear of the accommodation block there was also outside lighting and on a few occasions this was left on through the night, the back window only had a net curtain so we had difficulty sleeping. One night I went out in search of the switch and switched off the lights myself.

The breakfast was a make your own breakfast, whilst there were trays of eggs in the fridge you couldn't tell how fresh they were so no one was eating them, so we settled for just toast.

It was about a 15 to 20 minute walk to the beach, which during the day wasn't a problem, but if you want to venture out for a meal in the evening I suggest you hire a scooter.

In my opinion this place could have been so good but has been badly neglected, a little bit of time and money spent on the housekeeping and maintenance could have made our time spent there so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juxined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked this guest house after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and stayed for 6 nights. The rooms are basic but perfectly adequate, the bed was huge and there was a fridge, air con and a ceiling fan. Our bathroom looked as though it had recently been refitted, nice tiling and plenty of hot water for the shower. Not big but it had everything you could need.
Rosidi picked us up at the airport and made us very welcome. The guest house is in a quiet location away from the main street and attractions so some sort of transport is a good idea, but then it is for Langkawi anyway as there are no buses and I wouldn't want to be restricted to taxis all the time. We hired a scooter - if you are going to do this check it over and make sure all the lights/indicators etc are working before you take it away. There are plenty of petrol stations and fuel is cheap.
We settled into the guest house and were very happy there, and we met lots of other people who were travelling who added to the fun of the stay.
So, if you want a good value simple place to stay this could just fit the bill for you. One word of caution, if you are travelling in Malaysias school holidays its a good idea to book ahead. Langkawi gets busy (you still won't have trouble in restaurants tho' and there seemed to be plenty of bikes for hire) and accommodation gets pretty booked up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anibYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Having backpacked our way through several countries, my boyfriend and I saw this place as a welcome change to hostels. Firstly, it's great value. We got a twin bed (that's all that was left) and was really happy. The rooms are basic but clean, and the whole place is full of character. Each room has a little table and chairs outside so you can sit outside at night, with a glass of cold wine, listening to the sounds of nature, with several cute dogs at your feet. Absolute bliss!

The owner is extremely hospitable, welcoming us with open arms and offering help. We rented his car for a few days at an excellent price - you will need a vehicle, it's actually about 20 mins to the decent part of town, because this place is out in the wild a little bit. His dogs and kitty are adorable. There's an all you can eat/drink supply of coffee, tea, bread, jam, eggs and noodles. For breakfast it's more than enough! The wifi is great, and the central chill out area is lovely to sit in with a cup of coffee and read your book while the downpour ends (we did this several times!)

This place is perfect if you're looking for somewhere different to stay, which is a bit rustic and surrounded by wildlife - a break from the normal, boring, whitewashed, personality-free places you see all the time when travelling. It has character and so much charm! The only small drawback was the local mosque call to prayer in the morning (which causes the dogs to howl - hilarious actually) and those frogs can be LOUD at night!

Do not choose if you're a high heeled, likes the comforts of home, pampered type. There are plenty of insects and creatures around, as well as the dogs and cat! There's no TV (hurray!) and you get hand wash in the bathroom and that's it. However, if you're a wildlife loving, dog adoring, who needs all the crap a hotel gives you anyway thinking type of guy/girl then this place is for you! I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Missl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in November, but we wished we could have stayed longer. The location is nice and quiet, there is a kitchen facility you can use and the owners Dee and Mark are so helpful. We felt right at home here and would not hesitate coming back. While in Langkawi you should definitely rent a moped so you can see the entire island. Dee called and arranged for us to have a moped rental and we loved it! The hospitality here is amazing and I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexis042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Pondok Keladi is much more than just a guesthouse. Peaceful environment, lovely owner and of course, Ben, Gadjet& Reigi. (Hope that I spelled their names right). I experienced more than previous visit. Fall too much in love with the place. Gonna look for calendar and plan for the next one. Good job Dee & Mark!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazuyaCheang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wejherowo
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent 6 nights last year in November and we were astonished by the charm of this place.
Beautiful scenery, clean rooms and very fiendly and helpful owner Rosidi make this place simply wonderful.
Great place, great vacations :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakub Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Keladi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Keladi Guest House

Property: Pondok Keladi Guest House
Address: Lot 1011 | Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pondok Keladi Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing