We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pondok Keladi Guest House
Ranked #7 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing place!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent 6 nights at Pondok and enjoyed the place very much! even if it is 15 minute walking to the beach....nice comfortable and quiet room with a mini fridge and 2 complimentary cold beers waiting for us! Had a nice king size bed, wi-fi in the room and outside living or balai, 4 very friendly dogs to keep us company, hornbills in the trees, a clean kitchen...a homey atmosphere! Dee drove us around the area and recommanded several places to eat, Near Pantai Cenang and Pantai Tengha...restos, bars and all the action....this place is cute, comfy and very relaxing. We found a beach club renting chairs and umbrellas near Yellow Café. We also rented a car from Dee to see the island and did I mention the price?? very affordable considering the price of hotels in Langkawi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    36
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
124
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What I love about Pondok is its location. 3 minutes down the road on a scooter you're already on the busy strip of pantai chenang. Pondok itself is a tranquil little retreat offering more than just relaxinq ambience.

Its owner Dee and Marc will go out of their way to help the guests from organizing trips to recommending restaurants.

We'll definitely come back and thanks to everyone who made our honey moon on this beautiful isand of Langkawi a very special one indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weatherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A secret gem tucked amongst the lush green rice paddies only a stones throw from the main tourist strip in Langkawi. Pondok Keladi is a perfect retreat set in a beautifully manicured garden with central communal lounge with day bed, tables, chairs and kitchen with well stocked fridge. You are free to lay back and enjoy the view of the jungle rising up behind you and the monkeys and hornbills that visit the trees around the rooms. There was an endless supply of noodles, eggs, tea and coffee for you to help yourself to.
The room was really generous with very large bed, dressing area and somewhere to hang your clothes. This and the bathroom with hot shower were both very clean and serviced daily.
But that is all just surface detail. What really makes Pondok Keladi is Dee and Marc, whose laid back, generous and flamboyant characters makes you feel instantly at home. From the moment we arrived Dee and Marc treated us as close friends and shared their time with us, showing us the best places to eat and where to go. Our stay was totally unforgettable and we will certainly stay in touch. We arrived as guests and left as life long friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meri_Jahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here during our trip to Langkawi. The place is a bit remote, but this was a very positive thing for us. When you like watching the native animals and staying in the middle of nature without the noise of town directly around you, this place is heaven. There are a lot of birds, butterflies and monkeys and the quietness of this place is amazing.

The rooms are large enough, clean and are very well kept. The shared (well-equipped) kitchen and sitting area is always open and allows you to make a quick breakfast or snack whenever you like, very convenient. The owner also offers a rental car if you want to go to town or see some sights on the island.

We were very happy to have stayed here, only wished we could have stayed longer! Next time we will be in Langkawi we will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JefTerpstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here for just 3 nights and was so pleased about the tranquility and serene surroundings. Everything was clean respectable and well presented and the owners could not do enough for you without being overbearing. Airport transfer and the taking to dinner of guests was an added bonus and I was taken to the most inexpensive yet beautiful cuisenes imaginable. The houses/rooms are mosquito proof and a lot of thought has gone into making this a perfect setting. Whilst this not a 5 star hotel it however gets 6 stars in my opinion for the nature settings and joviality of Marc and Dee. I will most certainly recommend this place to my friends in UK who are thinking of travelling to Malaysia.I only have one regret - I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nhanbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Marc and dee are super hosts, they can not do enough for you and I would definitely recommend you stay here. It's immaculate and the rooms are cleaned everyday..new sheets etc. It's very social able and easy going. I was quite ill and lovely dee even drove my partner around some shops to try and find me some medication after the pharmacy had shut. That was above and beyond in my mind....he was even going to take me to the hospital if i needed to.
The gardens are very well attended and dogs bark at all taxis's which is quite amusing, but they are soppy and love a good cuddle. In the two other places we stayed on Langkawi, both were doing renovations so pondok was a blessing. Brillant ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights as a solo traveller- and bar Marc was the only person here. It was wonderful! Pondok Keladi is in a neat location; on edge of town surrounded by local's gardens and jungle.The only sounds are the frogs and the crickets.Theres beautiful beaches nearby.
The ensuite room was beautifully presented and clean- the details down to the keyring-are thoughtful. The free beers were welcomingly refreshing! The Kampong style communal areas are wonderful- but so is the little patio infront of each room. Theres loads of cds and good books.
Marc was more than welcoming, but also respsected my privacy- being the only guest in some places, hosts can be overberaring, The only down side I'd say was the "free/DIY food" Its a con; instant noodles or instant noodles with instant noodles, loads of eggs, no veggies.
I would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
13.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Keladi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Keladi Guest House

Property: Pondok Keladi Guest House
Address: Lot 1011 | Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Pondok Keladi Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing