We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and pleasant”
Review of Temurun Waterfall

Temurun Waterfall
Ranked #17 of 92 things to do in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simple and pleasant”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went there with several friends on a Monday morning and we were fortunate to find the waterfall relatively quiet - there was only one other group of people there when we arrived. (I've heard it can get pretty crowded on weekends.) My friends splashed around in the water for a while; the deepest point is about 1.6m or so, if I'm not mistaken. The water seemed fairly clean and it was cool and refreshing. It isn't spectacular, but it's certainly pretty enough and enjoyable when there are no crowds around.

The walk up to the waterfall is a short one. There are some steep stairs that require more careful navigating, but otherwise it isn't a very difficult walk. I did choose to walk down the steps barefoot when we left, though, because my flipflops were of rather slippery material and it seemed safer to go down the steps barefoot.

(There are toilets at the bottom, near the start of the path. They smell somewhat but a friend who went in said it looked decent despite the smell.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yuinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    134
    62
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The water was not very clear. The climb to the waterfall was pretty easy. OK to visit if you have the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank reneeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a magnificant waterfall”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We must have been lucky, because the day before we went it absolutely poured with rain. When we went, the waterfall was absolutely bursting from the top of the mountain, cascading down what must have been over 500 metres into a beautiful pool of fresh water, where people were swimming. The water was so cool and refreshing, a beautiful contrast to the hot and sticky feeling you get once you have walked up towards it. The walk is fairly easy if you are of decent health, though most likely not accessible for people with walking disabilities. Lots of young children walking up and down without any assistance from their parents.

The water flowed from the top of the mountain and through a large pool and into smaller ones. The monkey's there were not aggressive, just don't bring food!

Definitely worth the visit for us, but it does sound like the water lessens if it hasn't rained recently.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Temurun waterfall”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

it is worth going and seeing that place , with group you cant enjoy , better to rent a car or hire for half day . very nice view . but be careful from monkeys , my kids holding chips and many monkey came and it was evening , and they r not at all afraid

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem B J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“water is clear and cool”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The waterfall provided a very relaxing and cooling bath which my family and I enjoyed very much but the 397 steps above the waterfall was a complete waste of time and only ended up making us tired, at the bottom of the stairs a sign board said that there were 7 different types of ponds above the waterfall but after the long trip up the stairs I was disappointed to find out that the ponds were not for viewing yet as the area was still under renovation. Many other tourists who travelled with us were also very frustrated at this as the long climb was all for nothing as there was nothing to view at all except construction workers and construction equipment. There should have been a sign board at the bottom stating that the ponds were not yet ready for viewing instead of stating that the ponds were above the water fall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vijay8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temurun Waterfall also viewed

 

Been to Temurun Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing