We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$119
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$242
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$845
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,183)
Filter reviews
2,183 results
Traveler rating
1,187
613
208
97
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,187
613
208
97
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeed boatmoon deckferry servicesenari restaurantsandip mukherjeeboat transfermain langkawiindian foodprivate beachnature trailnight lifelow tidelangkawi airportwater sportsbeautiful propertytable tennispool bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,933 - 1,938 of 2,183 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stopped in. The staff didn't just serve your needs but anticipated them. The food was excellent, especially the fish dishes, breakfast should not be missed! Overall it was extremely relaxing and great to be pampered..

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalifaxWilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Rebak Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2009

Thank you for your review, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day, Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

It is located on an separated island west of main Langkawi. It's nice and quite with privacy. Nice beach and views, wharf with many pretty yachts, room is comfortable and with beach access, The dining in-room or restaurant are both nice, though most of the food are cooked too long, a little bit stiff, may be the malaysian cooking style, so you need to remind them. People there are nice, talkative and helpful.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
Thank jadore-jetaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Rebak Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2009

Thank you for your posting. We will certainly look into our cuisine preparations so that one does not find the meats overcooked. Do let us know whenever you plan a holiday at Rebak Island. Regards, Samir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We got a good deal at Taj Rebak & hence booked the deluxe sea-view room there over the Meritus Pelangi for our 3-nights holiday.

The hotel is a very nice, warm property - like most 5-star resorts are. Our room was also nice with (very) big bathrooms and nice view of the sea. The beach at the hotel was also nice and so was the pool. The breakfasts were awesome & service high-class. We never had the opportunity to have lunches & dinners there since we were always outside.

The highlight of the hotel was its fantastic hospitality - just superb & the best we have come across. We have stayed at multiple 5-star properties including many Taj properties but I have to say that this one has no comparision at all. The staff were absolutely courteous and always greeted us every single time you bump in to them - at the pool, at the restaurant, at the beach, at the ferry station, at the buggy rides, just everywhere and all of them. This makes you feel so very special. And it was a genuine gesture.

The only low-light (if you like to call it that way) is that this property is 4km in to the sea which is a 15-min ride from the mainland. Also, it is not very central to the various restaurants and shopping stores, like the Meritus Pelangi or Casa Del Mar is. But that said, we were never inconvinienced. We used to take 4 ferries daily (to & fro included) - mornings for the activities & evenings for general leisure at the centre area (Cenang beach area) as well as for dinning. There are fixed timings for the free ferries & you have to time yourselves to those. Else you can also get a paid ferry ride. We used to take the staff boats while returning back from dinner daily since they being later matched our timings. We never spent on a paid ferry ride but it was a 12 RM each-way to the cenang area every evening. Since we had saved with the hotel deal, this didn’t pinch. In the mornings, the activity tour company would pick & drop us to the ferry point for free.

Also, Rebak ferry point at the mainland, is closer to places like Cable car (which we missed due to maintenance work), Oriental village, Tanjung-Rhu beach, etc. So there we had saved some time on day one compared to the Cenang hotels. We hired the bike on day one but not from the hotel. You will get a bike & car rentals cheaper from outside. Ditto for activities.

There were various free activities at the hotel too & we regret not being able to take those up since we were just there for 3 nights. I think one can spend easily 5-7 days at Langkawi with a busy activity schedule! There is lots to do…

My husband has fallen in love with Rebak & wants to go there again soon. I am more like a person who wants to be in "thick of things" and hence would prefer a Meritus or Casa Del Mar. That said, I agree that the property is awesome and staff fabulous. One of the best hotel staff I have come across.

If your idea of a vacation is to rest & chill out, this place is surely for you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willseedworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Rebak Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed the stay and found the Associates helpful and efficient. We hope you will find time to take a break at Rebak Island in the near future. Regards, Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Rebak Island is a great place to stay in Langkawi. It is the only choice if you wish to stay on private island in Langkawi.

Being a part of the Taj group, the hospitality is excellent. The resort staff makes every attempt to make you feel at home.

Its location on a private island however does create some limitations. Firstly, you are dependent on the hotels ferry service to take you to the mainland. The ferry service does make a round trip several times a day and also later in the night but you do need to be conscious of the service timings so that you don't spend time waiting for the next ferry.

The facilities in the resort are excellent. It has a great pool and when you are bored of that the small beach with its shallow and mostly still waters is a great alternate option.

Food options, especially for vegetarians, is strictly okay. The hotel management should consider adding some more options considering the large contingent of Indians in the resort management.

Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay at Rebak Island and would definitely return when we visit Langkawi again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SubuKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Rebak Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2009

Thank you for your comments , we will look at enhancing the choice for vegetarian dishes in our Menus. Regards, Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This is a pleasant stay for me. The hotel is great. All the staff are very friendly especially Mr Lopez, Mr Malek, Ms Bedah, Chef Kumar, Mr Fizanee, Ms Anna ( Spa ), Mr Tony and the most important and the best Mr Samir. Credit to your two pieces band also who are very good & friendly. Please upgrade your spa services also. Maybe can add karaoke room. Keep up the good work. I love the way your staff treat all the guest.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirGM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Rebak Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

Thak you for your compliments and review. We will certainly look at our Spa Operations to bring in improvements. Best Wishes. Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews