We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful resort with plenty to do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with plenty to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed four nights at the resort in May 2014. We were excellently looked after from the moment we landed at Langkawi Airport until the moment we got the boat back to Langkawi after our stay.

If you read the reviews or check when you book, you will note that the boats to the island don't run very late. I did not find this to be a problem and being away from the main island is a large part of the appeal of Rebak. If you want to stay out tip late on Langkawi, then that's where you should stay.

We thought that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even when we had seen them being treated rather rudely. On one occasion we hired a car from reception and it was waiting for us on the main island an hour and a half later. Nothing was too much trouble.

We played tennis, but there were walks, bike rides, kayaks etc. if that's what you wanted.

We were given a beach view room which was lovely and had all the home comforts we needed. If you felt isolated then there was free wifi to keep you connected, which you often have to pay for at other establishments.

We loved our stay, but we had researched the resort and knew exactly what to expect.

We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rebak is a lush island so I would advise closing your doors quickly after going in or out as the lus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATLY76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    477
    158
    72
    60
See reviews for
525
781
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went with my sister in January 2011. Had a great time and will surely be back with my wife. It sits on a separate island by itself which makes the experience so much better. Being on a separate island comes with its downsides i.e. to go anywhere you have to take the 20 minutes or so speed boat ride to the main island but its a choice you make for an experience. The speed boats run quite often and rarely posed a problem for me. There are plenty of activities on site and beautiful bars to enjoy. The food was beautiful and we loved it.

My sister fell of the cycle and injured herself. The staff went out of their way to show us to a doctor and constantly keep asking us if we needed something. They really made us feel special and both of us have very fond memories of the place.

Its a beautiful place to be with your partner and I will definitely go back to experience it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me & my wife stayed at Taj Rebak Island during 14th to 18th June 2014 to celebrate my wife's birthday. This has been one of the most beautiful experience we had till date. The view from our room was awesome with the beach just few steps away from our room. The hospitality at the resort was excellent. We were served with good spread of Indian cuisine & our favorite pick of the menu was the freshly baked PIZZA. I would thank the chef for giving us the best pizza experience & preparing a special dessert for my wife on her birthday! we had ever had till date. The entire resort was maintained very well by their courteous staff. I would definitely recommend this place for everyone who wish to get out of the chaotic work environment & get lost in the nature.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuhasGuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The Taj has a high standard reputation to keep. Unfortunately the Vivant concept does not keep up the 5 star service. Although the staff is very well trained to service the guests and wonderfully hospital, the qualify does not raise above an average 4 star.
The hotel has good facilities and a nice beach, especially for families with small children.
The food is OK, not great, and a I missed a morning newspaper. Breakfast buffet is very good for a four star. Best asset is the staff, fully focus on serving the guests.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansvandeBunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed there form 10th June to 13th June, booking was made in the name of Vinay Pratap. I must say that this hotel is really a paradise for honeymoon couples. Its just awsum in every aspect. The privacy was top notch for any genre of people. Very spacious room with exotic environment. The stuffs were courteous and polite. Another thing it really serves good Indian food. Lastly i had made good memories there. Its a must visit if you want to relax and enjoy. Once again want to thank my travel agent Mejor Travels for suggesting this lovely property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mejortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Disclaimer : Before I begin my review I would like to say I had no problems with the staff at Rebak Taj. They give you excellent service and are always happy to help in any way possible. Moreover, the hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept and my hotel room was large, clean and spacious. The only gripes with the room facilities was the slow internet connection (wi-fi) and the TV picture was slightly grainy/poor quality which considering there isn't much else to do in the Hotel grounds (other than a selection of activities which require further payment) is quite dissapointing.

My main issue is how business oriented this hotel is & I commend the owner Mr Sandip Mukherjee for being so entrepreneurial in his cunning plan of cutting off the ferry service to the Main island of Langkawi as early as 7.15pm.

What does this mean for a guest? This means from around 7pm you can't travel to/from Langkawi main island to your hotel on Rebak island unless you are prepared to part with an EXTORTIONATE fee of 160 Malaysian Ringgit EACH WAY. Still confused?


You are more or less FORCED to eat dinner at their ONE & ONLY hotel restaurant which is expensive even by UK standards (100 MYR for a buffet. Really?) Unless you eat your dinner early (6pm) and catch their last ferry back to the hotel. I used to see guests bringing their own food takeaways back to the hotel on the last ferries!

Why should this be the case when we are on a holiday? Poor/expensive food choices & the hassle of clock-watching to make your last ferry back to the hotel or risk paying an exhuberent fee to return after the deadline.

I didn't feel 'exclusive' on this private island - I felt my freedom to do as I pleased was restricted & I feel sorry for anyone who was staying longer than I (4 nights) or anyone with young children.

Furthermore the buffet prices are confusingly priced & I believe it's all part of Sandip Mukherjee's clever plan. It's 50 MYR for starters/salad & 30MYR for unlimited desserts. No mention of an all-inclusive charge (isn't that the point of a buffet?) Until you get the bill of a staggering 100MYR per person. I think if they were up-front about the total cost no one would eat at the buffet. 100MYR for an asian buffet is expensive even for UK standards (£20 per person) considering in London you can dine at a top restaurant for as little as £25.00 each and have a bespoke a'la carte meal. This hotel has nerve to charge London prices for mediocre food in Malaysia & having come from KL and dining over there, I was appalled.

All in all the hotel is no doubt luxurious & well built. The staff are polite & offer excellent service. This is an excellent quality 4 star hotel but lacks a few things a true 5 star hotel would offer. But the exclusivity of a private island comes at a big cost & is very inconvenient. Ultimately YOU will pay that price. Stick to the main land!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sonia_kalsi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent 3D2N in Vivanta. Overall we had an excellent stay, rooms were spacious and clean, staff very attentive and loved the fact that the hotel was on a private beach and had limited guests.
Downside is that the meal choice is limited and overpriced. Hotel is not recommended for persons who are foodies and enjoy nightlife.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank byronchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
The Datai Langkawi
#2 of 102 in Langkawi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,986 reviews
13.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#6 of 102 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing