We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Taj Rebak during Christmas. Our family was very excited about the resort as the trip marked several anniversaries and birthdays. For having paid $600/ night for a suite, we returned with disappointing feelings. Food choice was minimum, commuting to either islands was daunting, super expensive activities ($200/ per person just for para sailing), the resort itself does not much to do. Yes, if you plan to just sit and relax,, u wud enjoy. Night life was so boring as u cannot go out of the resort after 7pm. Overall, wouldn't come back to Rebak. The only solace was the excellent staff service provided throughout...

Room Tip: If you seek lots of activity, then Rebak isn't the place. Its very dry and boring
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PKNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    482
    161
    72
    61
See reviews for
535
787
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is an amazing place to be on Holiday. I was here in Jan 2014. I booked a deluxe room but I was upgraded to a Villa. A very highly recommended property to everyone who visits Langkawi. Great Indian food. Halal protein available. All staff are very cooperative and finally, the ferry ride to the Hotel gives you great opportunity to see the Islands in Langkawi.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe room, they may upgrade you to Villa. As the hotel has private Beach, you need not nece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faizan_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Taj Rebak Island is an excellent property in Langkawi…
This property is off langkawi , resort is on the Island maintained by Taj
and its only accessible by visitors/guest of Taj Resort. The pickup was
very smooth from the LGK airport, its just 4-5 minute drive to port. Post
has small hut to wait for the speed boat (speed boat to resort have
specific times, which are available on site and also at the time of booking
resort normally provide the time table of speed boats). The speed boats are
neat & clean and its almost 15-17 min transfer time from port to resort.


Resort has its private jetty (the connecting point of resort), u can also
park your own boat (if u have :)) . Check-in was very smooth and we were
offered all comforts during this process. Resort have carts to pickup and
drop to/from your room.


Resort is very large and very beautifully landscaped , actually a private
beach and very nice pool with bar.


Staff is excellent in service and I have to say this .. it was one of the
best experience we had… Almost all the time staff was ready to help/serve
u with smile… We have infant with us during the trip and had great time. We
were vegiterian … so no problem at all as chef provided excellent food
which was not on the menue on request. IF YOU ARE VISISTING THIS PROPOERTY
AND RELALY WANT TO HAVE SOME AWAESOME NORTH INDIAN FOOD PL ASK FOR CHEF
DINESH, he prepared some excellent north Indian food and also food for our
Baby Girl. Thanks Dinesh for making this trip memorable for us….


Overall excellent resort …. Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent three nights at Rebak Island to get a quick hit of sunshine after a four-week European/Asian trip. I would classify Rebak Island as 4 star (see my review of Mia Resort in Nha Trang, Vietnam, which I would deem 5 star): for the price, it's pretty good value although it is looking a little 'tired' in places (a couple of broken sun-loungers, some pretty rough repairs to plumbing etc...). The food was good, but not excellent, with the exception of the Malaysian/Hawker-style menu options which are outstanding (try the Penang Char Koay Teow or the Roti Canai); buffet-style breakfast was good, but over three days, a bit short on variety (if you're sticking to the western options). Our room (a suite) was very large and well-appointed and our housekeeping staff member was a delight. A special shout out to Christine in the restaurant; she was unfailingly charming and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were at this Taj property to celebrate our anniversary and it was totally worth it! The room was very cute with a four poster bed and wooden flooring. The house-keeping was amazing. The breakfast buffet had quite a lot of variety. The staff in general was very friendly. We were in the resort during the Indian independence day, which to our surprise was celebrated with the staff and guests as well as other residents of the island (a fun way to meet new people). This was personally was favorite part.
Rebak being a separate island, there are no shops and you need to depend solely on Taj for food etc. Of course there was the free shuttle between the main island and Rebak which was enjoyable in it self.
The resort had a beautiful pool, a bar by the pool, a bar by the beach (awesome!) and also a library with some real good books!

During our stay in Langkawi (Rebak),we did an adventure package with the canopy adventures and had a total blast.
This trip was a perfect combination of leisure and adventure for us!
Rebak is a must try!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyshankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Rebak Marina Resort and had an absolutely fabulous time. My brother and sister-in-law were moored in the marina, so we enjoyed both the resort facilities and marina facilities. Pool is awesome, swim up bar excellent service and drinks. Happy hours are great. Food at the resort is EXCELLENT, buffets are sumptuous. Lovely beach. Room was gorgeous with a deck facing the ocean, very comfortable bed, totally awesome ensuite with huge walk in shower and separate tub, double sinks and tons of closet space. Staff are AMAZING!! If you are considering Rebak, consider no more and BOOK! Oh and very good ferry service to Langkawi. Though if you are looking for the party scene, Rebak is not, it is quiet and relaxing and wonderful.

Room Tip: request a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cvesak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was my second visit to the Rebak island resort (my last trip was 5 years ago) and I was extremely disappointed with the way things turned out.
On the outside its still very pretty. But we slept only one night in four. That too only after putting on 3 mosquito mats and an electronic repellant. there are two drains near the kids play area which are uncovered and are splendid breeding ground for mosquitoes.
The food was terrible to begin with but a kindly master chef decided to take charge when we finally complained that this was just not right for a supposedly five star resort.
The service was ordinary too. Lots of smiles all around but nothing got done… from timely room turn ups to replacement of toiletries, towels, sheets etc.
Even the foreign help started to make faces if you asks them for a ride to your room.
I then found out that this property is not owned by the Taj group but franchised out to someone else. I seriously think they should review this strategy. cause I sure as hell didn't feel like I was on a Taj property.
I have traveled al over Malaysia and most of the world. there are resorts in Malaysia like Pangkor Laut which are a thousand times better for half the price.

Room Tip: the beach facing rooms have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.7 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 stars 2,083 reviews
13.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#6 of 102 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing