We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
$182
$164
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bon Ton Resort(Pantai Cenang)
$239
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$652
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
$293
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$700
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
$99
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,121)
Filter reviews
2,121 results
Traveler rating
1,146
598
204
96
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,146
598
204
96
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeed boatmoon decksenari restaurantboat servicesandip mukherjeeboat transferindian foodnature trailprivate beachflight pathnight lifebeautiful propertylow tidewater sportstable tennispool barduty manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,387 - 1,392 of 2,121 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you need a peace of mind, and need to get away from city, or considering major decision in life, this is a place to be. You will have plenty of sunshine, beach and green forest tracks.

Because it is almost like a private island, you will have the whole island by yourself and small community who choose to stay there.

The close distance between the small island and airports is also a good advantage. Just fly in there, get transported by speed boat to Rebak Island and stay there for as long as you want.

Just in case you still need to access to Inbox and Internet, no worries, the resort is connected with wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobbitsbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. The absolute stand out thing about this place are the staff who, even by Malaysian standards, were superb. They simply could not do enough to help, were exceptionally pleasant at all times and were easily reachable at all times. Special mention goes to Manzu (not sure about spelling) who laid our bed with towel swans and fresh petals!

The food at the restaurant was good, although expensive by Malaysian prices (however, it was no more than a normal restaurant back here in the UK). The beach was clean and not too busy, and bikes, kayaks etc were free of charge to use (for the first hour).

My only complaints involved the rooms; our bathroom smelt very strongly of sewage on a couple of occasions and the bedroom did have a couple of watermarks on the wall. On top of that, there was no sound insulation between us and our "neighbours" upstairs, which resulted in being woken a few times in the night when they were having "fun".

But other than that, I can thoroughly recommend this place. I would say that 2-3 days is enough as the boat from the mainland stops at 7.30pm which restricts what you can do in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mouse_Nightshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a great time at Rebak island, amazing service and great food too. The variety of cuisines is good and the quality too is great. One of the strong points about the hotel is its service, the entire team is extremely approachable and go out of their way to make the stay comfortable.
The rooms have a nice "antiquey" feel to it and are really comfortable to stay in.would definitely want to visit it again someday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramnath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Rebak caught our eyes with its own private island and facilities compared to other hotels in Langkawi mainland such as Pelangi Beach Resort or Casa del Mar and we're so happy that Rebak Island Resort has provided us the ultimate comfort and peace that we're looking for a getaway from the concrete jungle.

We took a boat ride from Langkasuka Port to the island, and since we're not here for a duty-free & nightlife experience, the last boat ride to the island which is 6:15pm didn't bother us one bit. We were amused by the surrounding when we reached the deck, the yacht yard view was spectacular. Later we were brought to the reception with a warm welcome greeting.

We were pretty satisfied with our room, facing the seaside, being greeted by the sunrise every morning and the low tide view during the evening. Even though rebak is located in its own island but there are a lot of activities to do. Our room has been given a complimentary island hopping trip for 2. Apart from that, there are also parasailing, kayaking, cycling, nature walk, scuba diving (for beginner with no diver license & advanced), snorkelling etc.

We would like to thank to the Rebak Island Resort staff for making us feel welcomed. The staff are very friendly. They took such a good care to the guests. We can see the difference when we went for scuba diving & island hopping tours. We were given a paper bag filled with towels, isotonic drinks & bottled water and we couldn't see the same sight from the guests of other hotels.

It's like a paradise to us. If you're looking for a calm & peaceful holiday trip or getaway, this would be the best place for you. A hidden gem that is isolated from the main island. Would definitely go here again if we got the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangeprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

At the north end of the Strait of Malacca, in the narrow strip of Andaman sea between the Malaysian peninsula and the island nation of Indonesia, are over a 100 lush tropical islands, most of them uninhabited. One of the largest is Langkawi, some thirty kilometers off the main peninsula. With its numerous bays and harbours, it has become the most important island in the Malayan archipelago. It has also developed over the years as a tourist destination, with an adequate airport well connected with frequent flights to Kuala Lumpur, and other further destinations in Thailand, Singapore, and Indonesia.
Rebak Island is off to the south west of Langkawi. A complimentary ten minute car ride, thoughtfully arranged by the Taj Rebak for its guests flying into Langkawi, took us to Port Lankasuka, from where the Taj Resort's complimentary ferry boat conveyed us to Rebak Island.
At the end of a twenty minute boat ride the boat docked at an almost secret sheltered harbour which is also the home to the Rebak Marina. Several dozen sailing yachts are neatly parked there, most of which use the boat yard for repairs and refitting at the chandlery. I saw people living on several yachts and was told that many people sailing their private yachts around the world make a landfall here, and stay for many months or even years in this charming sheltered harbour.
Electric golf carts meet the ferry, and we were taken to the Reception where we were met by the friendly front office staff with a welcome drink. The Reception area is in the central building near the swimming pool, and has attached to it the Senari restaurant, a reading room, and a large lounge area. Upon completing the formalities, we were taken to our room.
The Resort's rooms are all located in several sea facing or garden view bungalows, each having 4 one or 2 bedroom accommodations- two on the ground floor, and 2 on the first floor. We had a first floor room, with a big covered balcony that faced the sea. There was a large and comfortable double bed, a flat screen TV with cable, a DVD player in case you wished to rent movies, a electric kettle with complimentary tea end coffee, and complimentary bottles of mineral water. There was a changing-cum-boxroom attached,with large mirrors, two wash basins, wardrobes, and three independent doors for a shower stall, a tub bath and a toilet, each in its own separate room. The electronic safe is located inside one of the wardrobes, which also holds bathrobes that are handy if you wish to wear them to the beach outside.
A word of advice- get in and out of your room as quickly as possible. Do not leave the door to the room or the balcony open for too long. There are mosquitoes which are best kept out. The housekeeping makes sure that the rooms are sprayed with repellants, so the rooms do not have mosquitoes, and the grounds are subjected each evening to a fuming process that keep the mosquitoes away. Still, as we preferred to eat out in the veranda of the Senari restaurant, as also sip a sun-downer at the Lepak Bar, or the Makan Laut Grill, we wore pants that covered our legs and offered protection from the occasional mosquito.
The Senari is a multi-cuisine restaurant. An excellent buffet breakfast is served each morning till 10 am, the food ranging from Malayan to Indian to Chinese to European. Eggs are cooked to order. Fruit juices are squeezed fresh when you ask. The bakery's product is very satisfactory, and the croissants are outstanding.There is plenty of fresh fruit. They make sure that you eat a great breakfast which will last you well into the day. This is a big help, if you are planning a trip into Langkawi, or the neighbouring islands.
As for dinner, if the Resort's occupancy exceeds 60%, as it usually does on weekends, a buffet dinner is laid. But frankly, with Jose Thachil as the Executive Chef, we never ate the buffet dinner. He came up to our table the very first night for a chat. When we told him that we would like to try the local food, he told us he'd take care of everything. From that time, throughout our 5 nights of dining, he decided what we should eat, and fussy as my wife and I are about our food, we were happy to let him order our dinner.Each meal was local food, and memorable.
There is live music at night- all your old favourites are on offer. You can order wine by the glass- the house reds were excellent, or sip a local beer, and listen to the young lady croon to the strumming of a guitar, both performers silhouetted against the blue pool and the white beach beyond.
Mr.Mukherjee, the manager, personally came up to us on more than one occasions and inquired after our comfort. He suggested we join the early morning nature walk around the island, which we enjoyed. The resort also offered complimentary use of bicycles, and kayaks. It also arranges tours to the neighbouring islands, as well as a day sail through the mangroves and the Geopark which is now a UNESCO World Heritage Geological sight.If we weren't out swimming in the sea- and they don't let you, if the sea is rough- that's when they fly red flags along the beach, we would be in the pool. There is a shallower pool for toddlers, and the main pool had a sunken bar which serves drinks. the best time to swim was in the evenings, when the sun set. A lot of birds came to the flowering bushes at the water's edge, and and on two occasions we saw a pair of horn-bills eating berries of the bushes.
The Taj hospitality is legendary. Their standards are consistently high. The Taj Rebak Island Resort and its great staff fully justify the Taj brand name.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews