We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive Beach, Great Food, Quiet Atmosphere - Worth the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited for 7 nights, mainly to get away from the noise, pollution and over-crowdedness of the Korean city where we live. This proved the best resort of the few we've visited in different South-East Asian countries. Worth the price.

PROS: (1) Nearly all Tripadvisor reviews mention the resort's friendly staff, and I can testify. Staff are obviously highly trained in aspects of interacting with guests, probing for needs, offering extra services and just generally going the extra mile. Simply incredible - brightens up the entire visit even more.

(2) Facilities and free activities. It's true that many of the facilities on the island is older (the resort has been around for 15 years) but unless you're willing to pay x5 the price of other genuine 5-star resorts for a newer writing table in your room, this one will do just fine. Many activities are available, most of them complimentary, by the Rebak staff. We did a bicycle tour, morning nature walk (very informative and professional) and cooking class, all for free.

(3) Beach. The resort has a great private beach and swimming pool, with nice facilities constantly maintained by the life guards and workers. The restaurant delivers straight on the beach - we spent hours each day reading, relaxing and eating, right on the beach without ever having to move around - staff attentive to your every need.

CONS: (1) Kiddy Noise. Since we travelled during peak season, and at the time of school holidays, the resort was overflowing with families travelling with very young (and very noisy) children. Most of the time this wasn't problematic, but it also proved distracting at times. When visiting a private island to get away from noise, the last thing you want is another undisciplined child throwing a screaming tantrum during breakfast, or at the beach. Guest travelling during other times of the year probably won't have this problem.

(2) Restaurant Overpriced. The Senari restaurant has a wide selection, with the Northern Indian cuisine by far the most delicious - avoid most of the Western selections. Since the resort has a monopoly on food selection for the island, it makes sense that most dishes are heavily overpriced. Guest can take the free ferry for lunch or dinner on Langkawi, but it ends up being equally expensive since the ferry doesn't drop you in a populated area, which means two-way taxi fares are included in the meal price.

(3) Internet Wobbly. A real minor, but the WiFi in almost every part of the resort is unstable and prone to disconnect. If travelling for business this might prove problematic.

All in all these negatives pale in comparison to the marvellous stay we had at Rebak Island Resort. As I mentioned, my wife and I have visited a few island resorts in different South-East Asian countries, and will most likely be returning to this one again.

Room Tip: Seafront "Superior" rooms not really worth the money as you don't have direct access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeonAntonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

The resort has a laid back feel to it with enough privacy to make it exclusive.
It is NOT a super luxury resort but works with the TAJ hospitality visible all around.
The villas are reasonably pvt with 4 rooms to a building. All villas have large balconies & modern bathrooms. The sea-facing renovated ones are more exclusive.
There are 3 bars & 2 options for dining.
The food is relatively good & the buffets are quite sumptuous.
The pvt beach with its own peaceful cove & lapping water is shallow & safe for children.
The hotel keeps bicycles ,kayaks has squash & tennis courts, and can arrange water sports.
They have a reasonable sized pool & a bar area with an attached children's pool.
They also have a shop where you can buy beers, wine, cigarettes,munchies,essentials etc at very reasonable rates.
The Gym unfortunately needs a severe overhaul.
There is enough overgrown wilderness & untouched rainforest on the island to make it feel sufficiently 'wild' and non hotel like.
While staying here you need never visit main Langkawi & have a truly relaxed time.
We had a really pleasant stay with the staff being warm & courteous right from our pick-up at the airport to our HK staff & Chef Jose who personally created a few dishes for my vegetarian Dad. Apart from from compl wine & chocs & a cake for a bday celebration !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dipsDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at this resort for a weekend away with friends. It is a beautiful place to escape from a busy city life and have a good rest. The resort is on the Rebak Island 10 minutes ride on speed boat from mainland Langkawi. The hotel have free pick up service at the airport then transfer on the boat to the resort. It is a good service. Staff at the resort are very friendly and helpful. Most of from India, Bangladesh, Indonesia and Pakistan. Wherever you go people would like to say hello and ask for helping you. Check in was friendly and helpful, we even get 2 out of 4 rooms at 10 am.

Hotel has a lot of activities, beautiful beach, great swimming pool and also have tennis, squash and volleyball facilities. We played tennis and volleyball during our stay. Hotel also has a nice spa, I had facial and foot massage package. The restaurant has good food, because you can not easily get out of the island, so this is the only place you can access to food and drinks. Good breakfast, lunch and dinner. Indian, Malaysian, Western and Chinese food available.

Here are some issues:
* The room is big but the facilities are so old. The study desk in my room is tiny and feel like check hostel desk.
* Towels are paper thin and also have 2 available, you can not feel it is a 5 star resort. I don't think I never use these towels at home
* TV programs are very limited, nothing much available and make it more difficult if you stay long on the island
* They were renovating my building (building 8), completed covered my balcony during my stay and I cant even have a cup of tea on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful view. It smells very strongly as well
* 3 out of 4 in our group got a little beautiful gift from the hotel as Rebak Island gift, I am only one did not get any. Some got two one from the Spa one from after check out. I don't know what is the criteria to get that but it is not nice to know you are the only one are not appreciated guest from the group.

2 days are the max for my stay to be honest. I think I will definitely get bored if I stay extra day. The hotel also have free wifi with two devices. All in all it was a good stay but I might try somewhere else next time just for different experiences.

Room Tip: water front rooms and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Rebak Island Resort is a lovely place to relax for a few days. Despite being on an island, it's only a ten minute boat ride to the mainland and close to the airport, so very convenient whilst feeling exclusive - the best of both worlds.

Our children (aged 9 & 7) had great fun riding on the bicycles and the buggy cars, playing on the beach and in the pool. Because the island is small, they could roam around while waiting for meals to arrive or while we were enjoying a pre-dinner drink and we didn't have to worry about them.

The staff, from the guys at the dock, the cleaners and the wait staff were all very friendly and helpful and made our stay. Unfortunately the same could not be said for the management team at front desk, some of whom were both unhelpful and at times downright rude, but apart from check in/check out one does not normally have to deal with these people, so I wouldn't necessarily be put off by that. There is a huge choice of food at the main restaurant and we didn't have a bad meal in the four nights we were there. The rooms are lovely and spacious - there are no adjoining rooms, but we had two next door to each other which worked for us.

Where this resort falls short, in my opinion, is in its facilities. The website advertises the fact that one is able to enjoy kayaking and cycling. True, except there are only 6 or 7 kayaks and there were 160 guests staying at the resort when I asked this question (it got busier the next day as the Hari Raya holiday started). Add to this the fact that kayaking is only possible for a few hours per day during high tide, and your chances of using a kayak are slim. Similarly with the bicycles - there were maybe 12 adult bikes and only 2 kids bikes, one of which had no brakes - there were constantly kids circling around the bike area waiting to get their hands on one. Surely a 5 star Taj group hotel could afford to invest in a few more kayaks and bikes? The gym had no aircon (very hot treadmill workout!). However, the thing I would most urge this resort to invest in is mosquito nets. This is a tropical island so inevitably there are mosquitoes. Other properties we've stayed at in similar climates have either had nets or coils and/or bug spray in each room. Having requested bug spray three times on the second day it finally arrived to our room (at 1am because we were being bitten and couldn't sleep) and then we had to argue to be allowed to keep it. Despite enjoying our days at Rebak, ultimately we were just relieved to be leaving in the end because we hadn't had a decent night's sleep due to being bitten and the buzz of mosquitos in our ears and we were exhausted. Small measures could turn this resort into a firm favourite. As it is, we will definitely return to Langkawi (this was our first time and there is so much more we'd like to see and do there), but we will probably consider alternative hotels before returning to Rebak Island, which is a real shame as it really is a unique resort with a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

After much confusion due to the innumerable resorts in Langkawi, we chose this resort for our honeymoon.. and we never regretted the decision. We opted for a deluxe room with sea view.

Pros:
*Well maintained property. We loved going on early morning walks and exporing the property.
*Excellent rooms with huge bathrooms.
*Nice pool.
*Though there are better beaches in Langkawi, we enjoyed lazing in front of the beach and watching the mild waves.
* Convenient boat transfers and the boat ride itself was fun and a little thrilling as well the last day when there was a storm!

Cons:
*Food was overpriced and there were only few options for veggies.
*The sea view from the room was half blocked by trees.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in February this year for 5 nights. We had one of the sea view Villas and it was lovely. We have never stayed in Malaysia before and found the whole experience wonderful.

The pick up from the airport and the ferry to island went without a hitch. We were checked in privately by the reception staff and given cold towels and fruit drinks when we arrived. Our room was gorgeous (although the bed was rock hard) and it has the biggest bathroom in a hotel that i have ever seen with an actual . The private terrace was great and every staff member that went past gave a friendly smile and a hello.

The best part of our trip had to be the food. It was amazing! Breakfast had everything you could ask for, even vegemite for us Aussies! We had three of the speciality banquets for dinner and were never disappointed. And the cocktails at the swim up bar were beautiful. Big credit to the head chef Jose who came out and introduced himself to us and then kept in touch all week by saying hi and even made a special visit to the jetty to see us off - what a great guy!

Make sure you visit the little store at the jetty - they sell food and drinks and beer at much cheaper prices than paying for them from the hotel all the time and the girls were really friendly.

Getting across to Langkawi was a breeze - although it was nice to come back to ou quiet island after dealing with the hussle and bussle of the main city!

We certainly enjoyed our time, the island has a few rough edges so to speak but it was one of the most relaxing weeks we have ever had. Make sure to try a pre-dinner cocktail at the beach shack before tea to watch the sun set - amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Reminded me of our holiday on Hamilton Island and less crowded!

We had a great family & friends 5-day holiday to celebrate my son's birthday. With nothing but the resort on the island & not too many rooms, it gives you the privacy you need. The quality of jet ski & parasailing is fantastic compared to those in Langkawi town. Kayak, cycling, jungle trek etc will ensure you don't need to leave the island. The staff is amazingly proactive providing excellent service.

For my son's b'day they arranged an exclusive evening & decorated his room which he loved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RanjanDesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
2.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: $110 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing