We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Secluded resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Secluded resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were met at the airport and whized by taxi to the ferry over to this hideaway island resort. Getting there feels very James Bond. We loved our stay here, a beautiful beach location with kayaks and bicycle to use to explore the island. Really lovely friendly service. Good breakfasts, great restaurant foods, but be aware this is the only place on the island to eat though you can take day trips to Langkawi for free and onto other islands like Koh Like by arrangement. Be sure to join other guests and yachties moored in the nearby marina for Happy Hour if you want to make friends. The one downside is that the planes fly over between 9am and dusk to Langkawi airport, its not the worst thing ever as the good really does outweigh the bad but it does interrupt total tranquility. Also check out the early morning nature walk with Jerome. What he doesn't know about the beautiful surroundings isn't worth knowing .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonder_horse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    501
    164
    73
    65
See reviews for
563
822
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed in Rebak Island Resort a few days ago. But, the minutes i arrived at their jetty to the island, i was greet with unwelcome face by their security. I was asked either I am the guest or their trainee several times. And i answered several time that I was a guest but yet, he still asking the same question.

But, all the problem was not end there. Once i get the keys me and my family straight go to the room. And the door was look very run down and it was stuck. I have to use all of my energy to open it.

On the next day we want to order in room dining, but even the menu was torn. Then I even found toiletries from the previous guest inside the drawer where they kept hair dryer.

The worst thing happen is the A/C for bedroom is leaking and living hall a/c is not cold at all. We sat down on couch to watch TV but it is not in proper condition. The TV reception is not clear. Then we order smoked salmon at Senari, but yet, it is too salty.

The only good thing about Rebak Island Resort is some of their staff is really helpful and friendly such as Abu, Pramod and Faridah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2301VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

i was in superior seafront ,the room is good and cozy it have enough space for our 2 year old son to play around in the room .pool is nice and all staff is very friendly ,but if you are party goers type this is not the place to stay as there are no night entertainment at the lounge and the lounge is closed at 2300hrs ,there have pool table in the lounge but you have to pay to use it.other game at the lounge is free to use . 1 setback is last boat time from main island to hotel is at1945 .after that time you have to pay myr 160 per trip . so you have to plan your time in main island if you don't want to fork out extra money for boat trip ;-)overall this place is a good place to relax .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prosezine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

It has been a magnificient resort in it's prime and, although the Dining & Pool areas are great, the rooms are a little tired and in need of maintenance/refurbishment. The staff are exceptional and the resorts best asset. The range of food is very good and the 'happy hour' at the beach side bar was excellent value & therefore very popular.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra and booked a seaview room but most rooms seemed to have a good view and the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dido4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

i was on rebak on 2th of April it was nice trip since it was on island we liked the boat trip and the room view also i have some issue and complaint about housekeeping and room furniture but it totally its ok and i think its perfect for honey mooner due private island and private beach
finally and in general its fair

Room Tip: try to get room on sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

From arrival to departure the resort and its staff were simply fantastic!

The resort is in a beautiful setting on its own island just off of Langkawi, yet it is very easy to get to. The hotel had a staff member waiting with a large printed sign outside arrivals in the airport, a five minute drive brought you to their jetty where you're brought by a quick speedboat ride (maybe 10 minutes) to the resort.

The resort facilities are excellent, the open air lobby has a bar (with lots of games like a pool table, table tennis, air hockey..... to keep you entertained) and reading room on one side and a lovely restaurant on the other. There is another bar on the beach in front of the hotel.

The pool is very nice, with a good swim up bar and the sun loungers have nice thick cushions.

There are lots of other facilities such as tennis courts, squash, volley ball etc along with jet skis, kayaks available too.

The food in the hotel was to a very high standard too, I was a little concerned beforehand as some reviews here mentioned there being only one real restaurant or one menu in the resort, but it's actually such a big menu that you could literally stay a week and have a different style ( Indian, Chinese, Italian, Western.....) each night. Breakfast was also excellent.

The cocktails were very very good........I tried most of them!!!!!!

The real shining light for this hotel however are the staff, from general manager right through every staff member we met you are made felt welcome and to feel like nothing is too much to ask. In fact I noticed a "Never Say No" sign behind one bar and over a 7 night stay I didn't hear that word once. It is a genuine warmth you feel from the staff however, and one that leaves a lasting impression. I won't start mentioning staff names as I couldn't single one out without listing them all.

If you're looking for excellent service in a beautiful relaxing setting this is the place to go. A hotel and team of staff the Taj group should be very very proud of.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights in April 2013. From the moment of arrival to departure, it was evident that customer service is a high priority for ALL staff. Management style and presence was obvious but unobtrusive. The quality courtesy warmth and competency of staff in all departments is nothing short of incredible and excels when compared with 5 star hotels globally. This is a private island location so very low key and ferry transfers are necessary (and delightful). Accommodations blend perfectly into the lush green environment and come fully equipped - they are very clean and comfortable. If aromatherapy massage is something you enjoy, Mell in the spa will well surpass your expectations! Overall for peace and relaxation with the choice of a white sandy beach and lovely pool just paces from your door, this is a highly recommended resort. Nice gym, squash and tennis courts with kayaks for active guests. Reading room, table tennis board games etc for evenings. I work within the hotel industry and trust me - this is exceptional hotel with a highly experienced and motivated GM who clearly values his team. And what a team...!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pita1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#6 of 101 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing