We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family spent 6 nights at this resort and overall it was a great break for us. We had planned on going somewhere quiet and secluded where we could just lie on the beach and swim. Apart from half a day fishing, we spent most of our time on the beach. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. By the time we left we had built a personal relationship with a number of them. The guy cleaning our room (Jalal) was absolutely incredible. Pantea (the front office manager) is without a doubt the best ambassador for this hotel. Jose in the dining area and Anwar at the beach hut were also fantastic to us. Our rooms were extremely well maintained - super clean and always perfectly stocked with everything that was necessary to keep us comfortable. The food was excellent (both buffet and a la carte options). We ended our memorable holiday with a visit to the spa which is top-notch. A back massage for me and facials for my wife and daughter. The only thing that needs improving is the boat transfers to and from the hotel. On our first night we (having arrived late at night) had to wait an hour for a boat to take us to the hotel. On the day of our departure there were not enough vehicles to take us from the jetty to the airport. At the risk of missing our flight home I eventually managed to get a taxi for us to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms close to the swimming pool as it can get noisy when there are swimmers early...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anvermoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,031)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

the place is worth a visit..... you wanna experience living in an island... do visit this..
its a package, you have it all there. brilliant people taking care of the property makes it even better. the location is just brilliant.
my check-in was at 2 am. and the speed boat ride to the island at 2 am. all what i spent was worth it.
it truly was Home away from Home.
thanks to Mr. Sandeep Mukherji (the person who make Taj- Rebak better), the service what i got was just brilliant.
Langkawi was after Kayana-Bali. i was dredding this.. and i was just thinking if i had mistake taking this after Kayana, but this truely was GREAT. both were different experience.
100% recommended!!

Room Tip: the ocean view Deluxe room. undoubtedly the best!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somaiyadhruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had gone there on my honeymoon and i am happy i chose this place. only 5 mins from airport to their pick up point 'port langkasuka' by car. Even waiting at that point gives you an idea how good the island would be. their ferry from pick up point to rebak island takes another 15 mins and welcome to the world of "hospitality at its best" zone..the island is big but nicely maintained..staff is the best part..very cooperative, caring and understanding ofcourse...we stayed there 4N 5D and we got surprises almost every day by their staff...everything is very nicely done and keeping customer's delight in mind....i would defintely recommend this resort island

Room Tip: If budget is a constraint, then go for any room...hardly is one min walk from any rooms to the beach...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwatdudhwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were lucky to meet the GM on the boat over and when he found out we were returning guests gave us an upgrade to a beach front room. It's been two years since he took over the management of the hotel and the changes are starting to show. The staff are better trained, the seats around the pool are new and there is a new lunchtime bbq restaurant by the pool. Breakfast has seen the addtion of a juice bar and Masala tea. There are plans to introduce more Asian choices too. There are more activities on offer and we saw a lot of people using the kayaks. Yes some of the rooms are a wee bit tired but these are gradually being upgraded, yes the planes fly over but not that frequently and yes the boats stop too early in the evening but if you want to just relax and enjoy the pool, the beach and the hospitality then this is the place. If you always want to be on the go then chose another place. We stayed 4 nights this year and plan to come back for longer next time.

Room Tip: One where you can just walk out onto the beach gets my vote
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lasatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well, I'm not sure how to start.... The hotel is nice on a private island, well maintained and very clean, but it is not for anyone who is looking to have a great time except for ppl who are looking for eating sleeping and again eating..
The island resort is really nice but there is absolutely nothing to do, zero activities and the worth is that the last call for the ferry is at 7:45pm so you are forced to come back this time or you sleep out of the island, you are forced to eat in the same restaurant every day and night, no Internet for the whole period I was there, no music, no live entertainment, everything close by 10:30pm, so in brief after 11:00pm it's a ghosts island.
The spa is very small and most the time is closed, if you want to use the sauna you must book ahead of time to heated for you. The pool is not very clean, the pool bar close very early, the fish bar only open for lunch and you must really be very fast to get your sea food before the quantity is finished. The beach bar close at 11pm also. Ahh and very important never count on the menu description because the chef cook a he wish so he adds ingredient or remove some based on his personal choice without considering what is in the menu.
Finally and not last, if you decide to book a certain activity with the hotel activities office, make sure you are loaded with cash, minimum charges for a primary activity will cost you around 400$.
In conclusion I will not recommend this hotel to anyone young or ppl looking to enjoy and have fun..
In one world that is not a resort.... That's a hospital retreat!!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RichardJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a short stay at the Taj Rebak resort and jotting down a few of my experiences…

The resort is on its own island and the actual resort occupies only a part of the island. The marina forms the other significant part of the island and the rest is dense rainforest. The resort itself is well laid out and spaced out. The rooms are spacious with all modern amenities you may need. Stayed in a sea front room and had great views from the balcony. The rooms are serviced well and found the staff to be good with attention to small details.

Senari, the restaurant had decent variety and the food quality was good. They have a buffet breakfast and buffet for dinner on many nights. The set up good and service great. Tough definitely costlier than what you would get in the Langkawi restaurants.

Coming to what you can look forward to, you can take a bicycle and explore the many paths laid out, you can walk across and explore the island and the forest (though would suggest you don’t venture into the dense forest alone), go to the other beaches of the island, do bird watching (quite a few varieties with the hornbill being a prominent one, could see them flying in and out of nearby trees from our balcony) or just sit back on one of the loungers or your balcony and relax. You can also take a dip in the nicely maintained pool if you wish.

What we liked most was the peace and quiet and the chance to be so close to nature at the same time enjoying all the luxury of the resort.

While there is a lot to do and see in Langkawi, you can either do it while staying at Rebak or like us can break your stay and be in the main island and do your regular exploring and then come to Rebak to take in nature and just relax.

Definitely a place I would recommend….

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvdsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights, and wished we had booked longer here! Its the only resort on the island and it is amazing. This is the type of place to stay at if you want to get away to a peaceful quiet island and do some serious resting and relaxing. I would not recommend staying here if you are wanting to explore Langkawi island from here, as the shuttle boats to and from the island don't run every hour.
The pool area is great for both adults and kids, there is also a great swim up pool bar with direct views of the beach. The food at the restaurant was magnificent and the staff very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were stunning! We were on the second story and loved to sit on the balcony at night to watch the sunset. There is also a 'moon deck' which is a romantic setting on the beach for two. Definitely recommend for honeymooners, a very romantic place! There is also heaps of other activities that are planned on the island every day, so there is always something to do also. Overall, an amazing experience, definitely worth flying halfway around the world for. I hope I make it back someday, it was the highlight of our trip to malaysia.

Room Tip: Pick a second story beach front room it is worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,380 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: $132 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing