We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, the staff are outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great service, the staff are outstanding!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was hesitant to stay here (due to some of the reviews) but I am very glad we stayed which has prompted me to write a review. I haven't written a review here in years but do read trip advisor before selecting accommodation. Firstly, the staff here are excellent. From the line staff to the management. Unlike at some properties, the managers aren't locked away in offices, they are on the floor engaging with guests and the departments work well together. I saw reception staff escort guests to the restaurant and seat them several times. Nothing is too much trouble for the team here. We hired a car for the day, which was easy and cheap and we got a good look at the island. We are not into nightlife and cheap hawker food and prefer good food and wine so it was no hassle for us to be on Rebak, actually we preferred it to the mainland and were relieved to get back onto the boat at the end of the day. Langkawi is no Hawaii - there are some nice areas and many not so nice areas so you aren't missing much by staying on Rebak Island. I have read the F&B complaints on this site and disagree. The menu is one of the most extensive hotel restaurant menus I have seen. There is a buffet which seems to be a different cuisine each night there is a wide variety of dishes on the a la carte menu from western food to Malay to Indian. To be honest I had a difficult time choosing what to have. On the first night we shared everything we ordered and the second night we had our own meals. We are not into buffets but if you are there is plenty to choose from there. No it is not cheap, it is an island resort. I thought the prices were comparable to other "island" locations. I think the resort is perfect for families or couples. We were a couple but there is so much space here that families with kids were no bother, there is plenty of room for everyone. I didn't feel we were too remote to do anything. All activities can be arranged from here anyway and some of the resorts at Langkawi are a pretty long way from anything so the boat ride for 10 minutes is no hassle. There appears to be some refurbishment happening to some rooms at the moment. It was not a disruption to us as the accommodation is in blocks and it would be easy to complete one block at a time.It was no issue. The owners need to spend some money on repairs and maintenance to the public areas too. Would definitely stay again. All you want when you go away is attentive service and this place really delivers it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bedroom garden suite, although there was no view we appreciated the extra space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrailingSpouseLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    560
    193
    84
    72
See reviews for
693
921
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had an excellent family vacation at the Rebak Island Resort. The Gen Manager - Mr Sandeep Mukherjee and the staff were excellent. Personalised attention and excellent suites added to the charm of the location. The Boat rides to and from the resort were memorable, though would recommend increasing the frequency and the timings. Overall a two thumbs up !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashishdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rebak Island is an amazing place. The staff are very attentive and friendly. They are keen to assist you in anyway possible. The accommodation, surrounds and dining areas are all faultless. Although the advertising is geared towards couples there were several young families all having a wonderful time (without disturbing others). I loved the short boat rides to the main island, with lots to see and do. And it was always great returning to the peace and comfort of the island
I highly recommend Rebak Island for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: I recommend the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teri64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After too much searching we have decided to book our Honeymoon in Rebak Island Resort. When we arrived it was Ramadan and we had to wait around 1:30 hrs till the next ferry boat arrived.
The resort is nice and clean. All our requests were accomodated. However, I had to remind them 3 times that we are honeymooners until they gave us a treat.

The SPA experience was fabioulos but over-priced.

The restaurants are good. We enjoyed all the meals we had. I was very happy to find out that they serve Shisha by the Bar.

On one of the days when we were planning to go to Langkawi downtown but unfortunately the sea was not stable so they stopped all the trips to Langkawi.

Room Tip: The Sea-View King rooms are really nice but make sure you take the rooms on the second level and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3anan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It started with the reception at the airport, the pampering was to the hilt at Taj Rebak Island Resort. The hotel has to be reached by a 15 min scenic boat ride from the Lankasuka jetty. Friendly hotel staff headed by the General Manager Mr Sandip Mukherji ensured that time in the resort was spent effectively and guests have a memorable holiday. The suite had breathtaking views of the waterfront and the private beaches. The kayak rides to the nearby islands was an experience to cherish......Sea food BBQ.....island treks.......visit to the Mangroves by Dev Travels and their knowledgeable guide Mr Selva....Paradise on earth.......waiting to visit again and hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nkpaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We would absolutely join with those reviewers who totally loved Rebak Island. If you want a flashy night life and cheap food, then don't go. If you want to feel relaxed, pampered and at peace for a few days, this is certainly the place for you. The friendly staff seem to actually enjoy ensuring that you have the best time. We enjoyed chatting and finding out about where they came from etc, but I'm sure they would be the ultimate in discreet if you wanted privacy. We just stayed on the island and enjoyed the swimming pool, kayaking and biking, and generally relaxing. The breakfasts were a huge treat, and we enjoyed the many curries in the evening. The days just passed gently by. Totally hassle-free. What a fabulous luxury in our busy lives. If you have the money it would be easy to stay on Rebak and venture out to see the sights of Langkawi from there. We stayed at a much cheaper place on the main island first to do our sightseeing and this worked very well for us. We really enjoyed the nature walk which was part of the programme of activities provided at the resort. I would love to think that we will return to Rebak Island one day, but meanwhile I hope to carry the Rebak feeling with me for a long time.

Room Tip: Our 'garden room' was very spacious and had a huge dressing room, which was such an asset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The property is beautiful and the service is a class by itself, what with personalized attention from the staff. If there is a downside, its only that the staff can tell you about what is happening on the main island - for instance, we went all the way to the cable car to find it closed for a day for maintenance. The hotel could put such information on a notice board, perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drums_neuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.2 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
14.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.1 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi

Property: Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Address: P.O. Box 125 Kuah, Langkawi 07007, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 Star Private Island Resort, off Langkawi. The journey to this property takes 20 minutes by ground transfer from Langkawi Airport to Port Cenang and 7 Minutes boat ride from Port Cenang to Rebak Island. The resort is located adjacent to the only fully equipped private island marina in Malaysia. Our Exotic Rebak Motifs are Nature Trails, Jungle Walks, Moon Deck Dining,Batik Painting, Mangrove Tours and Sunset Cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing