We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and quite comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel was quite good and location is perfect.There and good restaurants nearby and even you get Indian food.The breakfast at the hotel was good with lots of varieties and there is a restaurant in the resort itself which is open till 10p.m so if u don''t prefer to go out you can eat there.The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karkeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed at this hotel because the Holiday Villa next door was full. The location of this hotel is great, it has a good beach and it has a nice shady pool. That's about all the pros. The rooms are in very poor shape with old carpeting and furniture, bad lighting and tiny, run-down bathrooms. The hotel staff calls it a 3-star, but it looks like a budget hotel. The breakfast is modest. They do not have a bell service, so you have to carry your own bags up to your room, a pain if you're on the 3rd floor. Our room was on the ground floor with a small patio facing a garden. The patio chairs were dusty and rickety and the cement flooring was very dirty. All in all, the RM268 pricetag is not justifiable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturevulture9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at the Lanai Langkawi from May19th -June 19th 2010 and had such a lovely holiday. The Hotel is surrounded by rainforests in the back. From the Garden Wing, one can see hornbills and eagles soaring above and gibbons playing in the trees. It is reminiscient of old english and local charm. Rooms are big and very clean. Towels are thick & luxurious, sheets are fragant and crisp, changed everyday.
Bathroom is old, has a standing shower with hot & cold water with fantastic pressure, toilets are very clean .Good air conditioning. Cable TV. Served us well,
Though staff has basci english, they go out of the way to meet the needs of guests.The golden rule - Treat others the way you want to be treated, meaning, though they are working as staff, they too would also like to be treated with dignity. If you remember your P's & Q's and have a smile for them, it will take you a long way.
Hotel pool - very clean. Buffett breakfast has about 20 varieitiesor more and is fantasitc. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning for the whole month of our stay.
The Hotel Beach is on a secluded stretch which makes it very private for hotel guests. Nice shaded trees withs sun beds to lie on if you want shade and if you want the sun, the sun beds with huge umbrellas are also a choice. A Copcabana Beach Bar offers beer at half price at Happy Hours.
You can also do fishing just right on the doorstep of the beach Hotel. We were invited by some of the staff who were off duty to join them on a night of fishing & had great fun.
Hotel is built in such a way that eventhough hotel may be running full house, you rarely see many guests except for breakfast. Gives you a sense of yourself living in a huge mansion.
When it was time for us to leave,we had made so many good friends with the staff that we were sad to go. A few of them even took time off and took us to the airport in one of their cars.
If there are any bad reviews of this Hotel, We have just this to say... it's either they were rude or expeccted 5 Star service when they could only afford 3 Star.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollytraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The first shock we got is the when we had to carry our luggages to the room from the car without any help.... there were no elevators... so you have to carry your luggage through the stair cases...
The location of the hotel is very good, the beach is almost like a private beach, since its at the one end of the beach... the view is breath taking from the beach.. but they don't have any sea view rooms...
The pool is very good, though they have a bar inside the pool, but it is non functional... the food is not great in the beach shack, which is a part of the hotel...
Cleanliness is an issue, its a budget hotel with a high price tag... may be for the location you will not mind paying that price... but expect no service... communication is a big issue with the hotel staff including the front office.
They have a nice breakfast lounge, but food is little sad...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Friendly reception staff and good sized rooms. Hotel could do with a face lift as it is getting on. Breakfast was good in terms of choice. Good pool. Beach bar excellent to watch the sunset. A good no-frills hotel set in a pretty part of Langkawi.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaleAussietiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

At first, we were not very satisfied with the room, quite simple, even though you have everything in the family villa (2 rooms and a living room). The service is not great (don't forget you are in Malaysia - you always have the feeling that you are disturbing people...) but the pool is great and the beach is right there. By the way, this is one of the best beach in Langkawi and also the best area for restaurants and bars. There is no restaurant in the hotel, only e beach restaurant where the food is actually very good (and cheap). Happy hour only for beers (1 US$ equivalent for a draft beer).
We stayed there at the start of the low season so not much people around and they started to renovate the pool area.
Breakfast is not fantastic but price of our family room included it so not much to say.
You can rent from there bicycles or a car or scooter at a very reasonable price (try the basic Peruoda which can take on 2 adults and 3 kids) at 22€ per day... Very fun.
Also free wireless in the hotel, in the room and at the pool.
From the beach you can rent 1100cc jetski (35€ for 30mn) and many other watersports games.
Finally a good compromise and a relatively cheap stay. We would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Booked this hotel for 2 nights through asiarooms.com. Our check in was a breeze. Our rooms (#211,213) with interconnecting doors had a great pool view. The huge windows more than made up for the lack of a balcony. The air con in the room was a welcome respite from the hot and humid langkawi weather. The room was very clean. The room had a comfortable bed with comfy pillows. The old fashioned TV had english channels with movies, cartoon, sports, and discovery. The included breakfast was sumptuous. Mostly western menu. The daytime lady staff were very courteous, smiled and greeted us whenever we crossed the lobby. The night time male staff was a bit grumpy, watching tv, oblivious to the hotel guests entering/leaving the hotel. The free form pool with abundant supply of fresh towels was a huge hit with my children. There was also a shaded bar area within the pool. The Tengah beach had water sports for hire like jet ski and parasailing. The hotel staff (Ms.Mas) booked tickets at discounted rates to Pulau Payar Marine park for snorkelling.

The downside to our stay at Lanai were :

1. Bathroom - They definatele need to be refurbished. I couldnt close the sliding glass door to the shower cubicle. There was no bar soap and the provided shower gel was substandard.

2. No lifts/bell boy - I had to carry my luggages to the room upstairs. My advice - pack lightly.

My family and I had a pleasant experience staying at Lanai and wouldnt hesitate to stay here if my travel plans brings me to Langkawi again.

Sundar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianfreqflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#51 of 104 in Langkawi
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.0 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
38 reviews
5.6 mi away
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
Langkawi Lagoon Resort
#71 of 104 in Langkawi
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing