We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful Budget Resort @ beach sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Dhaka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Budget Resort @ beach sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I along with my family... just landed as unknown at Langkai Airport..on 01Oct 2013 near afternoon. We just had a search at the exist point or Airport....There are many Travel & hotel reservation agents....with welcoming smile to serve .. I chose a hotel near Beach with a considerable budget... One suggested " THE LANAI"... She manage booking and a rent a car.. With good faith.. we reached at LANKAI.... found it wonderful...a 3 story hotel..with inside a beautiful swimming pool...and all around room complex...and the most fascinating part is that...just in front..is the wonderful beach.... which is a blessings for us... we really had a nice day and night time..as the shopping complex...is very near..where : night life" is worth mentioning....More so.. The Underwater World is within it....money exchange..restaurants....and all handicrafts ..and amusements are available...
There is a local markets..on route..where the local fruits...food items..and many fresh..things are available...its a nice way to be with the locals....we are enriched...encouraged..and enjoyed...each bits of time...
Just.....move...and open your both eyes and soul....you will get the fragrance..inside..
Cheers....Cheers..n Cheers
apelmusa, Dhaka, Bangladesh

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apelmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    65
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
53
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Lanai, is a budget resort and real value for money, the staff is friendly and amenities are good for a budget traveler, room are clean and of appropriate size, Swimming is kept clean and large enough to have good time. beach side restaurant is really good and you can have sunset view while having your beer and relax. Only thing to mention that lot of lizards are in the hotel, specially located at 2nd floor lobby. Breakfast is just ok, you can have if you are not very fussy.
they have free locker locker facility at reception desk, which is very good for traveler.
The hotel is not very far from market place, you need to walk 20 minutes to reach night market and other restaurant.
Hotel is also a good option for families.

Room Tip: Occupy rooms at ground floor to avoid lizards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhuvnesh_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was well worth it. The rooms were standard not very modern but were fit for purpose. Breakfast was plenty, pools were okay too didn't use them. Hotel had its own beach which was lovely since it was the last hotel on that section so wasnt crowded. We hired a car and explored the island went to the cable car and drove around that was wonderful. We also went to the other beach Cenang I think it was called which was up the road where McDonald's duty free sea world and shops were, the beach here was equally lovely and you could do water sports and watch people get in balloons over the sea being pulled by speed boats, looked fun but not sure about the safety!! This hotel is located in the quieter side and is very nice. You can get taxis to places too. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is a value for money hotel, and do not go there expecting too much of luxury - what you pay is what you get.
Nevertheless, the rooms were pretty basic and decent enough. The staff were really helpful, friendly and courteous, and they accommodated all our requests with a smile.
The hotel location is quiet and peaceful, and is right next to the beach. They have a hotel/bar facing the beach (kind of private beach), which is really nice. The complementary breakfast had a nice spread.
All in all - we had a really pleasant stay at the Lanai.
Tip: Book this hotel if you are looking to spend much of your time outside exploring the island and not much concerned in indulging in luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolme_kiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we have been there(i think on aug2012) last year but i was satisfy with clean room and very beautiful and calm beach the pool was perfect . they should improve breakfast . i hope stay there again .
there are many open restaurant which you can eat sea foods and there is 20 minute walking to cenang shopping center and many restaurant and bars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farzad-das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall a nice resort when you want to do what you want without being constantly interrupted in the guise of hospitality. We were a family group of six, from the UK, India and Malaysia in a two-bedroom beach front chalet. The atmosphere was relaxing and casual and, the service, when requested, friendly and quick. Not a large selection of dishes on the menu, but whatever served, including buffet breakfast was delicious and wholesome. Nice beach front restaurant and bar. Great value for money and family friendly facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The resort is right on the beach which is wonderful. The rooms are little old fashioned but very specious. Housekeeping and overall cleanliness of the resort is satisfactory. The swimming pool is big and well maintained. I'll book here again if I visit revisit Langkawi and one the main reason for that would be gala buffet breakfast. Overall this resort is ideal for couples, family and small groups.

Room Tip: try to book from booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy_CityOfJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#48 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: The Lanai Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
The Lanai Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Lanai Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing