We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Avarage hotel but strategic location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Continental Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Continental Langkawi
Ranked #75 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Avarage hotel but strategic location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The title above summed up the hotel above. The hotel was pretty avarage. Theres seems to be so many golfers satying in this hotel, maybe because they just wanna stay in cheap hotel and concentrated on playing golf solely, i think so. The room was pretty big. I was here with my two kids, and they have enough space in the room to be running around. Then i ordered food from my room that is mee bandung, and to my suprised, the noodle taste very nice and worth the price. The aircond was quite silly though. It cannot be adjusted and it can be very cold late in the night, so you have to get up and slow it down to fan mode! Theres a massage center next to the hotel. Its quite big and seems to be having lots of customer coming in. BUt trust me, its not worth it. The masseurs dont know what he/she is doing is seem to just pinching you the whole time. As a matter of fact, cheap massage center in Langkawi are all not worth it. If you wanna go pamper yourself, just go to the expensive one avalaible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madone1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    37
    23
    13
See reviews for
23
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location, right on the edge of Kuah. It's next to a whole bunch of really cheap duty free shops (much cheaper than the airport) and a shopping centre. If you've rented a car, this place is perfect - plenty of parking. The rooms are spotless, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Room service is prompt and reasonably priced. The internet was alright on the first night, but on the second night they were having problems. The reception staff were very informative and apologetic. The room was very large, and had a nice view of the ocean. It was very reasonably priced, and considering I booked it with very low expectations when everything else was booked out I was very pleasantly surprised!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchaicMosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant hotel. Service a bit lax, but things get done eventually.

A service charge is added to the hotel bill. Not exactly sure what that is for.

Wireless internet is free but connection is really, really slow.

Location not too bad. Very close to the ferry jetty. Had a view of the sea from our room.

A bit pedantic about the checklist in each room. So make sure you have everything on the list when you arrive, for example we only had 1 towel when there were meant to be 3...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahendren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arrival: no one bothers to open the doors. No one bothers to help with the luggage.
Reception: no one bothers to smile.
Room: spacious, but a little ratty. The TV looks like it was from the '80s. No Wi-Fi, no ethernet.
Bathroom: recently refurbished. So, not bad.
Conference hall: not prepared. Leftovers from the previous conference, 3 days past, were still there. Wonderful.
Call maintenance to help clear up conference room: they took photos, stating that it was for 'quality' reasons. Then they left. What about the room?
Call person-in-charge of the conference room: comes in, sits down, threatens us, acts indifferent to our complaints.
In the end, we had to set the room ourselves. What were we paying them for again?

The location was OK, though. Also, there was this security guard who helped us load stuff onto the van when we left, so not all is bad. That was the brightest moment of our stay. He alone gave this hotel another point for 'service'. How nice.

Then again, I guess they were kinda cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiayaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is located just beside Langkawi Parade. Hence it is very convenient to do your shopping or grab anything that you need. It is also not far away from all the other shops and eateries. It's location makes it convenient to travel to Kuah town or should you just want to nearby the hotel.
The room was average and is was our bad luck to get a room with an a/c that was not cold enough. We had to request for a room change that was immediately provided. During our stay the hotel was undergoing some renovations. Hopefully it helps improve the hotel's facility. There is also a reflexology located right below the hotel should you need one after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubashSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I am a Malaysian and have been to many hotels in Malaysia. Comparing the hotels, I feel this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in Malaysia. Bathroom heater did not work. Air cond was not working. When they changed my room, the toilet there did not work! The breakfast provided was so little that it developes a long queue of people waiting for the food. The swimming pool is so near to the breakfast area that one of the guest fell into the pool! This hotel is a shame to the beautiful island of Langkawi.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basilpaschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

never in my travels have i ever stayed at a property with notes telling you not to steal the ashtrys not to steal the towels it was like hey what am i doing here.the recption staff were difficult and tried to charge a higher rate but later conceded to the lower rate.the view is a swamp.having said all this it is in a great location right next to the shopping mall if you are in kauh town to shop.i was very pleased to check out after 2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a room not looking over the swamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#71 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi
1.6 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#36 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Bella Vista Express Hotel
Bella Vista Express Hotel
#72 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kuala Melaka Inn
Kuala Melaka Inn
#55 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citin Hotel Langkawi
Citin Hotel Langkawi
#31 of 102 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Langkawi

Property: Grand Continental Langkawi
Address: Lot 398 Jalan Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Continental Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Continental Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Grand Continental Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing