We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great with stunning views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resorts World Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Langkawi
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Location great with stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel well located on Langkawi island away from all the noise but only just a 20 minute walk from shops, restaurants, attractions and beach, and 30 mins in mini Van from ferry terminal.

Hotel located next to the sea and mariner.

Nice reception area, reception staff not that helpful, but did the job, overall staff very good and friendly. We were offered a sea view room upgrade for around an extra £20 GBP, which i highly recommend doing as it changed our stay as we had a balcony over looking the sea bay.

Room very tired looking needing an update but clean and tidy and a good size, bed OK, English TV, bath room old again, toilet needed a good clean. Plus point was the balcony over looking the sea, which really was a great plus point to see the lovely sunrises.

Hotel restaurant food good, average priced, good choice on menu, and can dine outside by the sea front.
Breakfast again good choice buffet style with chief.

No free WIFI, very expensive to buy £5GBP for 24hrs.

Has small onsite shop that sells food and drink, souvenirs.

Pool area nice and well layed out good for children.

Has small night club Eagle Rock at other end hotel, good music and buy one get one free on drinks before 10pm with free wifi.

Would recommend, and would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookaddski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    351
    248
    90
    42
See reviews for
236
311
23
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

After reading a lot of recent negative review, I am already looking to book for other hotel. And yet, we checked ourselves for the 5th time, this time with my 3 year old son.
Check-in took about 20mins, with all the 3 staff at the front counter choosing to serve foreign guest, instead of me with a toddler. I wasn't too happy, but I was checked into a room with 2 queen bed. This time to the right side of the hotel, instead of the usual left wing closer to the "Eagle Rock".
The room itself is clean. Can see it has a new coat of paint. Bed is not too bed, thou 1 of it is squeaky. But that is my son's favorite "jumping bed". He loves that squeaky sound -_- Loves the plump pillows too.
The swimming pool is a hit with my son. Only complain is that there is too much sand in the kid's pool. My son had some fine scratches after playing. Warm towel is provided, just need to collect at the counter.
Daily breakfast is not too bad. Selection is rather wide, still as before during my last stay in 2009. The chef himself made his round and talk to us, which is a nice touch. If you would like to have soft-boiled egg, you need to order from the staff. It is not on "display".
The super downside. During the last night stay and the last morning, they "parked" the lift. Meaning I need to walk all the way up to level 3 carrying my sleeping 3 years old. And then my husband had to lug the 20kg luggage all the way down to Ground floor for check out. I hope the elderly are treated better.
Overall, can see some improvement from my last stay.

Room Tip: Request for room away from the pub/bar. Esp if you have light sleeper/kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannen518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I decided to stay at this property because of the RW brand name and, though i was not immensely pleased, it was not disappointing either.

+ves:
1. Sea view is just awesome. Could spot fishes swimming in the clear waters. And my little kid loved watching all types of boats, sail, yatch, cruise ships and fast motor boats.
2. Buffet breakfast was included in my package and i felt it to be very good. Spread was wide and a lot of options to choose from. There was decent crowd too.
3. Pool area is great for kids. pretty small for adults.
-ves:
Property is dated.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea facing rooms. It is worth it. Also choose rooms near the main reception area. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Webinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Upgraded to sea view room, and it's worth to do so. I think would have rated much lower if I took the garden view. The breakfast is pathetic, as bad as First World's. The bed sheet was dirty with blood stained, and it tooks 20 minutes for the house keeping to come. The bathtub was not working very well. No generous free wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 3 days with friends recently . The hotel has a great sea front and walk away path, perfect for sun rise and sun set viewing . You can even fish feeding. Having said the above, the interior condition of is outdated , old fashion and to some extent quite poor . There is also no free wifi service for people to check urgent mails....... The services provided by the reception staff are by no means friendly .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms without breakfast since i was anticipating lousy breakfast, from the reviews i have read. Upon check in the front desk assistant was so lame with no greetings and smile when we approach the counter, which I had to greet her first good evening to get her attention. How is it possible management put this kind of people at front line. 14 May check-in by-the-way.

Our room was located on the last building (building 5) and the corridor light was off, its was pitch dark as if we were walking to an abandoned building, had to use our phone flash to see.

The room was okay, not too bad with flat screen tv, decent bed and "just okay" bathroom. The electric fan was shaking badly with annoying noise giving impression that it might fall anytime! But it was a long walk building after building to get to the room, When I check why they gave us that room, they claimed that the hotel was fully booked and that was the only room available. When I check various OTAs, they still have availabilities. The same night, we heard loud noise from the bar and we had trouble sleeping, tried calling guest service, no answer after few attempts.

The next day we went out for island hoping and came back after few hours, the housekeeping only replaced 1 towel, my gf have to call to request for another one. This is funny, perhaps the hotel don't have enough par level to replenish towels on time?

We took our own tour around the hotel, and gosh what an eyesore the pool area is, saw a few out of order equipments and machines nearby the pool, the hotel is big , so why place such items where guest can see? the area seemed not been maintained and cleaned for a long time.

After travelling around the island the whole day, we decided to have dinner here, we came at 10:15 so we still had chance to make last order. They did not replace the dirty table cloth and just leave it like that until our food arrived.

I had lamb shank while gf had pasta, the lamb not tasty and the sauce almost completely dried, my gf had trouble chewing the sliced meat-dry and hard! we regretted the dine honestly.

Few hours before check-out we called the guest service to request late check-out at 2pm but was declined, as per staff, that day the hotel will be fully booked due to big group arrivals. After airing our problems she agreed to give us until 1pm.

Overall experience was very unsatisfactory,The only staffs that we found friendly were the guys with white uniforms. I really really wonder, what is going on with the management and operation team here?

If i was the gm, I will be very shameful to have 4 star rating with this kind of standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJAbdul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The first impression was really good, the location was perfect and peaceful, but the room it self looked bit old school but clean. I was happy with staff service as well. Will defiantly recommend. The resort's island hoping tour was great and reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saif i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
8.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Property: Resorts World Langkawi
Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 15 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing