We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Kajang, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome and memorable stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was worried the reading reviews about this Resort. I requested for Seaview at the New Wing. Room and bathroom was clean. We got 3rd floor. View was stunning seaview.. Staff were friendly and helpful. Except one short malay girl at the Reception with broken English who gives incorrect info.. This resort is 5 minutes drive from the beach..I recommend this Resort for family with kids.. My son loved love the pool... Do not book hotel near Pantai Cenang if u have kids .It is not suitable.. as your will see a lot of Bachelors hanging around with loud rockers music.. Take yr children for Island Hopping. And they will take to a private beach in the boat. The private beach will have less crowd n it is more decent and kids can play sand and beach at the private beach..

We lucky to see LIMA Rehearsal from my room Balcony... It was fantastic.... Do not miss book this hotel.. N everything else is just 5-10 drives by taxi.. The Hotel will call taxi if when u request. It only takes 1-2 minit for taxi to arive..Per trip RM10...

Room Tip: Room a new wing 2 or 3rd floor .good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijeyini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    383
    267
    94
    53
See reviews for
262
344
28
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A really really bad experience more like a 2 star hotel, the carpets and curtains had stains all over
sadly I don't have any pictures to show which I truly regret not taking them, the sheets had blood stains even though it was new which I requested from the housekeeper. The towels provided had stains too so DO check each side before using them. There was one housekeeper who was kind enough while she was doing the housekeeping on one of the days flip it over to check before handling it over to me which was commendable. Housekeeping staff were all very friendly makes up the room well but unfortunately doesn't make up for all the stains you can find which is extremely obvious.

The breakfast buffet had very limited choices, if you're traveling alone be sure to keep an eye on your plates as they'll clean the table while you're gone to get more food, not only choices but limited plates and cutlery too.

The balcony had 2 chairs but no coffee table.

The toilet is dirty has hairs all over the place

Another observation, the gym is open only from 0900 on-wards which is very inconvenient for those early risers who works out in the morning before breakfast.

I will never ever live in this hotel ever again thats for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located all the way in Baru Bay, the hotel has the advantage of being located at edge of the island. This in turn, provides a less bustled area that is perfect for those tropical getaways.

The trade-off however, is for it to be slightly further than the happening central of the island -- that is the Cenang Beach. Although aged, the hotel still provides cozy atmospheres for anything from an early morning breakfast by the ocean to getting wasted the following night.

Rooms were adequate; nothing too fancy, but well equipped enough for me and my spouse to not miss out on any essential amenities.

Service was definitely a highlight. Shout out to the Front Office Manager, Teresa, that has upgraded our room from a Twin Queen Bed Garden View room to a King Bed Sea View room just because she doesn't want us to wait for an additional half an hour.

Did I mention I managed to grab the room for less than just around $65 USD per night? When the time is right, this place is a downright steal.

Would recommend to fellow local and foreign travelers.

Room Tip: All rooms with King-sized beds are located at the far end of the block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Reginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thought we'd treat ourselves by staying here as we got a cheap deal online. The room was a little tired looking.When we arrived, we didnt have the balcony we'd booked online, then we got moved... to a room with a balcony... but no chairs. We finally got some chairs to sit out on the balcony with after a lengthy and confused conversation with housekeeping. Then had one towel with a nice big stain of ...something on it. Went to reception to get a new one, who said we had to call housekeeping from the room.... then the same confusing conversation ensued!
Food was good...when we got what we'd ordered. But be prepared to get a meal that you may or may not have ordered!
Pool area nice, always towels and sunbeds available.
There is a shuttle to get you to Chenang beach, which is good if you want to get out of the resort .There is nothing really in the area unless you take a short taxi ride, or a walk up and over the hill to the nearest restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor (or higher) seemed best. Water view is good too - Othewise you look over a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croakey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Read previous reviews but was pleasantly surprised.

Pros
1. Stayed in a newly renovated room - it was very pleasant
2. Stafff friendly and helpful
3. Basic resort nicely designed and location is stunning

Cons
1. You need a car or transport - its just a little too far from anything else
2. Some pre-revocation ears of the hotel look tired
3. Wifi Rm10 per hour - come on huys - its a joke right
4. No beach (but none advertised
5. Swimming pool pleasant but a little small considering no beach area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cram987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is a little bit far from the markets.. But it is suitable for honeymooners and those who look for relaxation.. And the transportation is easy and cheap

The staff is friendly and helpful.. The rooms are clean and neat

Overall view : it's worth the value paid

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I along with my spouse went to this hotel on 10th March, 2013 and stayed in for 2 days in a Deluxe Sea View Room. I have to say that the view from the room was awesome and we saw both the sunrise and sunset from the A/C cosy room #1429. The staffs were exceptionally hospitable and the buffet breakfast was really a spread and treat - both to the eyes and the tummy. One thing I'd like to add is you should always book the room way in advance and through the internet. We wanted to extend another day but were told to shell out 100% more what we had paid on the internet. This is really a shame as you had to spend double if you just walk in for a reservation. All in all it was a wonderful stay there and we will surely go there again if we find some time off from hectic busy schedule. The Water-sports adventure are a bit costly than what you will get in Pantai Cenang. You can think of spending RM 432- RM 450 for a Deluxe Sea-view room for 2 days if you book at least 3 months earlier. Island Hopping tour from the Hotel is RM 45 as compared to RM 25 from a shack at the Cenang beach.

Recommendation: If possible do not go during the Peak season [ December 20- January 20] as the other times will be far more relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd Floor Room. Choose Deluxe Sea View Room OR a superior sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Som1981-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#30 of 103 in Langkawi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Property: Resorts World Langkawi
Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 20 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. We are also 24KM away from Kuah Town and 16KM from the nearest hospital. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing