We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Excellent People'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resorts World Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in Awana for a 4D3N holiday on the 29th December to the 1st January. We stayed in a Deluxe Seaview Room with twin bedded - and that's the biggest Single Bed I ever slept on! It fits 2 person! We also requested a baby cot.

We checked-in slighly earlier about 1.00pm since our 13-month old son was seeping when we stepped out from the airport. We had our lunch in the hotel itself, the Seagull Restaurant. The food was delicious and reasonable in price and portion. At night, we wanted to have dinner outside, but since it was raining and with our little baby, we can't really move anywhere. So, we decided to have our first dinner, in the hotel again. I guess, we made the right choice! The buffet spread was good (MYR45/per pax) and we enjoyed the environment and scenery at the Boardwalk and sunset.

On the eve of New Year, they have a special buffet dinner to clelebrate the New Year. MYR120/pax comes with one coctail. Coctail taste good and most importantly, the food taste GREAT - praticalilty not variety.

The chef, Ben, the GM - Mr Yap and other crew members provided very good, helpful and warm service and they even strolled him around when we were having our dinner. They really made us at home.

We rented a car to travel around the island so moving around is not an issue in Langkawi.

But, you need to spend more in order to get MORE. There are to many hotels around Langkawi. The management (or shall I say, 'the shareholders?') should seriously look into it :

a) to refurnish the whole room - the furniture (too old in terms of age and design - very primitive)
b) change the carpet - stained and dirty
c) room slipper - should provide since the room is carpeted
d) add more room amenities - tooth paste and tooth brush, more shampoo and shower gel
e) change the old furniture at the lobby area

Overall, Awana is a good place to rejuvenate and relax. We will definately come again to Awana Porto Malai Langkawi.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveler010710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 977 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

My period of stay started from 20 Dec 2012 until 23 Dec 2012..Room was nice (comfortable two king size bed) with a wonderful seaview and a big balcony though..They have friendly staff and variety of breakfast buffet menu..

This Hotel also near to Cenang Beach which is quite happening for the Night Life Activities and
For those looking for Island Hopping, Awana is a perfect choice, with a walking distance to the Jetty point!!

Room Tip: Please ask a room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed at awana porto in August. We booked 2 superior rooms. altho they had just basic design n furniture, but the twin bed were almost king sized. the view from our room was really excellent, so was around the resort. and we enjoyed our stay @ Awana in langkawi.
The staffs were also helpul. They were not mean (as some of reviews implied that lol)
Travelling around langkawi is easy. we hired a minivan and drove around the island.

Room Tip: book superior room to get better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewy_candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

room had all d basic things necessary ...not very grand ..we had a room facing sea which was awesome..we had a small balcony where we could sit and relax...hotel had walk path along the sea which i found really beautiful...breakfast was good....they did had some Indian dishes too....but at night travelling from hotel is problem but we had a rented car so we faced no problem....so while staying here make sure u take a room facing sea and with balcony and a rented car to explore night life near by..overall experience was good..nice and peaceful

Room Tip: take a room with sea facing and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aditiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just return from this hotel. The staff was friendly, breakfast was good with plenty of choices especially the made to order omelette (compliments to the chef!) and freshly baked muffins. Facilities like the reading room and gym which has quite a good selection of new equipments was good but the set back is lack of guest information on these facilities, so you have to explore around the resort yourself to find all these facilities.

Back to the room, the single beds were big and is enough to sleep 2 to a bed. Some set backs are -

1. The bathroom seriously need a urgent make over, the bath tube etc etc are so old, it looks so unpleasant!
2. Too stingy on shampoo and shower gel. Imagine for 2 person to a room, only a small bottle of shampoo and shower gel was provided daily.
3. Only tv viewing, it would be great to have some music channels as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chookyan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel 12 yrs ago & is still nice-the seaview & seabreeze in December is splendid. We slept real well in room with windows open,quiet except when people are talking aloud and aircond on-like bringing the outside in. Love walks from one end to the other. Breakfast acceptable. Must rent a car cos no beach nearby except for speedboats for island hopping. For meals, have to walk a distance. Service average. Landscape at car park needs tending to. Rooms good. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: request room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talucinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is certainly not recommended for obese, handicapped, unfit, old and pregnant person because your room can be 10-minute walk away from the lobby. Plus, the beds can't accomodate big-sized and heavy (be it obese or over-muscular) people because the bed frames are too tiny. The interior can suit for chalet I think. But the plus points are for the breakfast and friendly services. Not to be forgotten the view from your window if your room is facing the sea.

Room Tip: Pre-select sea view rooms before you go there. Then, pick a room which has the lowest first number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdziziDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.2 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
56 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#26 of 104 in Langkawi
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
530 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Langkawi

Address: Tanjung Malai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Porto Malai Langkawi)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $52 - $868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resorts World Langkawi is located 5 minutes away from the popular Cenang Beach and Tengah Beach, and approximately 20 minutes away from Langkawi International Airport. We are also 24KM away from Kuah Town and 16KM from the nearest hospital. The seafront resort and marina overlooks east of Langkawi UNESCO Global Geopark, with the Dayang Bunting Marble Geoforest as its backdrop and the sun rising along it. Peaceful and relaxing, the resort has finely furnished rooms and boasts spectacular and unobstructed views of the ocean, especially the newly renovated rooms of modern and functional design. Enjoy the convenience of our private jetty for activities like island hopping, private boat rides, sunset cruises and fishing. Intimate dining and walks along the boardwalk, or pampering at the recognized 5-star Javanese spa (Taman Sari Royal Heritage Spa), are great options for couples. The hotel also provides free shuttle to Cenang Beach 5 times a day. The idyllic Resorts World Langkawi is perfect for travelers who appreciate scenery and romance, given peace and privacy away from busy tourist centers but at the same time mobility convenience at its doorstep. Live band performance is available daily except Monday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Resorts World Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Porto Malai Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Awana Porto Malai Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Awana Porto Malai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing