We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
37
161
104
60
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
161
104
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cactus restaurant pantai cenang swim up bar laundry service beach front hotel is great water sports an upgrade parasailing
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 396 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2016

We came to Langkawi for a long weekend break (we work in KL). The beach was excellent, far better than what we were prepared for. We stayed in Langkawi many years ago in a resort very close to this one and have memories of the beach not being so good, so were pleasantly surprised.

There were lots of sun chairs to sit on with many of these being in the shade for a good part of the day.

The breakfast gets poor reviews from other travellers. We were very impressed. Very good breakfast with lots of local and Western Choices.

Facilities were good but rooms not so well maintained. Clean and comfortable all the same. Would recommend and would return again.

Room tip: We were a family of 4, 3 adults and a child. We booked a family suit - two bedrooms, living area, kitchen and good television choices
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 337leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear M/M 337leanne,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi. Federal Villa is considered as one of the top best 3 star Hotels in the island.

We noted your positive comments about the Hotel meanwhile, we wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2016

Federal Villa is part of Holiday Villa, with the pros and cons.
Not so expensive, not so fancy either.
BUT if you do not intend to spend your vacation in your room choose the Federal over Holiday Villa.

The Federal Villa and Holiday Villa itself consist of two separate resorts, the Federal Villa area - older buildings – but in the same territory with Holiday Villa, with the same breakfast and the same pools.
There could be a need for a little bit of renovating, especially bathroom, but in overall the hotel is clean, tranquil and kind of cozy.

The room cleaning is very efficient and the cleaning staff are very friendly. We had a 2 different stay in this hotel – 1 week first time and 5 nights second time. And didn’t have to remind about the cleaning even once.

Note – no complimentary water. We heard that in some part of the hotel WIFI not working very well, but we had no major problems with it – yes sometimes there is a little break when it’s not working/slow connection, and sometimes it works very fast.

We had standard double room first time and deluxe room second time. The room size and all other things stays the same – only the view was first time to the road side and second time to the garden side. The room was spacious enough for 2 of us and for our 2 big suitcases and the bathroom was ok size as well.
Note – the double bed is not really a double bed (as I mention we had a 2 stays in the hotel, and we had 3 different rooms in this 2 periods, all have the same thing with beds) – there is 2 separate beds and separate mattresses just put together – therefore as a couple we found it quite uncomfortable to sleep because of hard edges of the matresses. One or 2 nights maybe so and so, 1 week – not nice. Definitely should use the mattress topper for couples.

The pool areas: they have 2 pools, one big one with several little pools for kids and there is certainly have enough sunbeds for everyone.
The second one is Lavilla restaurant and pool area. The pool is lovely infinity pool with a spectacular view to the sea, and the sunbeds are very comftortable. You have to pay 25 ringet / 5 EUR per person for the access BUT it is really worth it. The pool water is clear and they cool down the water during the day. In a big pool the water is definitely warmer – even too warm at afternoon, evening time. Also one non-alcoholic drink includes in the price.
If You are a couple / adults and want to enjoy the pool time without screaming/ splashing kids around – use this pool instead of big one.
Quiet, lovely and with really nice lounge music.
Note – service stuff particularly at Lavilla is sometimes seems very tired and not costumer friendly. Employees who are happy at work give better customer service – this is note to hotel management.
Keeping your employees happy and motivated is critical to your business success.
If the drink order takes 30 minutes (the pool area wasn’t full) it is too long. Also one male worker/bartender was almost arrogant and always “too busy”. Special thanks for Faizal – You are very lovely and always smiling and eager to help.
Food at the Lavilla - we expected better. Pizzas are too tasteless and need improvement, also we had a BBQ dinner – all the meat is too dry. The salads is very simple – development needed.

The staff at the reception is very professional – smooth check-in and check-out both times, very kind and helpful, they do their job well. Special thanks to Dyana and Siti Hajar, lovely ladies.
Also bell boys, wonderful and always helping, with a smile.

The location of the hotel is really nice – quiet beach, quiet road, but near by they have good restaurants to have lunch, dinner, drinks – Cactus across the street –must try, Colonial India – perfect indian food and service.
Taxi is cheap to Cenang Centre, 10 ringet / 2,5 euros, and there is good places for dinner and shopping, tax-free alcohol shops as well. At the Cenang beach try Thirstday – good food, drinks, service.

The breakfast was nice, everything we need: good omelets, fresh dark bread and lovely sweet bread choices, variant juices and good coffee and fruits etc. Could be little bit crowded at peak season and probably crowded if you are there at the peak hour. But staff is very efficient and clean the tables fast.

Overall, we loved our stay at this hotel and plan to stay there whenever we are in Langkawi!

Best regards from Finland, Helsinki – Katrin and Teemu

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Catharina0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear M/M Catharina0108,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi. Federal Villa is considered as one of the top best 3 star Hotels in the island.

We wish to inform you that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible we will then make a room replacement.

For your general information, a bottle of drinking water plus tea & coffee sachets are provided on complimentary basis in all guest rooms at Holiday Villa. The exception only for Federal Villa guest rooms which the replenishment is chargeable (conditions apply).

In term of free WiFi, it is provided in all Hotel rooms, Lobby & outlets and it was functioning well but if all data uploaded and utilized, sometimes it will reduce speed capacity and slow down the WIFI connection.

We were most concerned to learn of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you. Our HR Division is constantly upgrading the service improvement program for all service staff via conducting counseling & retraining and your comments will be acted upon by our Training Division.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016

We were totally disappointed with this hotel.
Breakfast was not enough. Long lines kept waiting for the food to come out, and as food was not enough, everybody was piling on their plates. Even simple dishes as fried rice or potatoes. Children were running every where. Not enough staff to clean up the place, too.
The room is very old, you can smell the stale air. There is no cleaning service. I stayed for 3 days, but the mess outside the room next door remained there for that duration. The stairs was full of poo-poo from insects.

Date of stay: May 2015
1  Thank blurrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear M/m Blurrose,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi. Federal Villa is considered as one of the top best 3 star Hotels in the island.

We were most concerned to learn of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you. Our HR Division is constantly upgrading the service improvement program for all service staff via conducting counseling & retraining and your comments will be acted upon by our Training Division.

We wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage.

Generally all guest rooms sprayed with air freshener by Housekeeping staff when they are cleaning the room and it will be checked by Supervisors before releasing it for new check-in. We are very particular that all guests are comfortable and deserve to have a clean & good room upon check-in. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible we will then make a room replacement.

We also noted your feedback on the children's were running every where, it was due to there were a few families staying with us during the same period.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

In this hotel you can enjoy all the facilities of the Holiday Villa resort at cheaper price and it is it's best advantage. Swimming pool and beach are great. Also location was a plus for me - quiet and peaceful but still walkable to the main street. Rooms are fair with comfy beds although I had some bites after few nights. Breakfast overpriced - you're better off to grab a best roti ever in Cactus opposite and finish off the night in Woody's with a cheap beer and a bit of music rather than attend the life show in the hotel. In general good enough but could be better.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank ramaya8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear M/M ramaya8,

We thank you for choosing Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa during your recent trip to Langkawi Island. Federal Villa is considered as one of the top best 3 star Hotels in the island.

Your kind compliments in general about the Hotel are very much appreciated.

For your general information, sometimes due to heavy rain garden mosquito's can be seen despite of conducting daily garden fogging and all room sprayed by housekeeping staff on daily basis during the cleanliness process meanwhile we are placing in each room mosquito repellent to be used by guests. Being a Tropical Island with many jungles we will experience seasonal pest.

In general, all our breakfast prices offered are very reasonable and according to our 04 star standard. We used to do a market survey every 6 months and our pricing is most reasonable compare to other nearby hotels. Plus, we do have room packages that include breakfast and for those guests who did not book their room with breakfast, we do have a special promotion discounted price which is at RM 27 (50% Discount) for American buffet breakfast and this promotion has been advertised via putting big stand in hotel Lobby (in front of the fountain) and also our Receptionists distribute flyers to every guest upon check in.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you and your couple again in the near future.

Regards,

S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

I left my Langkawi booking a little late and there weren't many hotel options available. After reading the reviews for the Federal Villa I was sceptical but it seemed to be the best of a bad bunch available.

To be fair, the reviews are quite harsh. Yes I agree the rooms are run down, however you get what you pay for. We have a garden deluxe room with a queen bed. The room is old but clean. The bed and the sheets are clean and it is comfortable with nice and fluffy pillows. The bathroom is old but clean. The tv works, the air con works and there is hot running water (although the pressure is not strong).
When we first arrived the toilet didn't flush well and we had reception arrange for it to be fixed. They did on call, no problems.
I had read reviews regarding the mosquitos so I brought my own replant however they were worse today. Again I called housekeeping and they assisted me with spray and an electric device. No problems.

There are a few things about the hotel that I didn't understand until we got here. The federal villa is basically the holiday villa. It's a series of buildings in the same property separated by a small fence however all the facilities are on the other side of the holiday villa. Federal villa guests have access to all of the same facilities. Essentially the only difference is that you are sleeping in different quarters.
The amenities at the holiday villa are great, beautiful big pool, clean and vast beach, tennis court and we didn't go to the infinity pool as you have to pay. Although the hotel was completely booked out during this time, it didn't feel like it, I never felt like any of the areas were crowded, except for breakfast.
The buffet breakfast is great. Lots of different options available and I really couldn't complain. Having said that we stuck predominantly to the western food.

In terms of the location the hotel is set completely away from the hustle and bustle of cenang. We walk to the main part of town in the morning which is around 2.2km and it takes us 30 mins as we take our time. I like this part of the island as it is quiet, clean and empty. You can walk the street at night looking for restaurants and not get Hassled. There are many different restaurants within a short distance to the hotel however they are more expensive than those in town.
So far I can highly recommend - the colonial inn- an Indian restaurant, food was sensational and Istanbul the Turkish restaurant toward the end of the street, extremely flavoursome Turkish food and dessert!
The staff here nice enough but I feel like they could be more helpful and smile a bit more. I am used to staying in resorts where they say good morning and hello when you walk past but I find here some of the women completely ignore you and speak in their own native tongue to one another right in front of you.

All in all its not a bad hotel and if you want a peaceful holiday on a beautiful clean beach with stunning tropical views without the price tag then i would recommend it!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Ms. Sarah S,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi. Federal Villa is considered as one of the top best 3 star Hotels in the island.

We noted your positive comments about the Hotel meanwhile, we wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests.

With regard to the water pressure, hotel follows the international standard which was set up at 2.5 psi which is adequate to avoid underground pipe burst problem.

For your general information, garden mosquito's can be seen despite of conducting daily garden fogging and all room sprayed by housekeeping staff on daily basis during the cleanliness process meanwhile we are placing in each room mosquito repellent to be used by guests. Being a Tropical Island with many jungles we will experience seasonal pest.

LaVilla Infinity Pool is our newest privatize pool and in order to maintain its exclusiveness we impose a small fee that includes the usage of the pool and 01 drink at RM25.00nett per adult and RM12.00nett per child. Guests are welcome to patronize our LaVilla restaurant for lunch and dinner or just for a drink or coffee if they don't wish to pay to use the infinity pool.

We were most concerned to learn of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you. Our HR Division is constantly upgrading the service improvement program for all service staff via conducting counseling & retraining and your comments will be acted upon by our Training Division.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you & your couple again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews