We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, shabby, poor service, dark rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have just returned from 11 nights at the Federal Villa and feel cheated, we have stayed here and the holiday Villa over the last 12 years and this time was the worst. At check in we were asked where we would like our welcome drink, in reception or in the room, we asked for it to be sent to the room, it never arrived, this was a good guide to how the hotel is now being managed, we had a kettle and cups no complimentary tea and coffee sachets, (2 arrived on our last night) The mosquito unit had 3 pellets so when no more came we went out and bought some, we had 2 power cuts, when it rains the paths get waterlogged ruining footwear, they have never heard of draining the paths, the room is very dark so the light has got to be on all the time, because we had stayed here before we knew what the bathroom was like so no surprises there, what did surprise us was the poor standard of cleanliness, under the rim of the toilet bowl was filthy, we were well into the 11 nights before we saw this so after the next time the room was cleaned we had a look and it was still filthy,dirty towels and sheets were left outside on many occasions uncovered as were plates from room service, these were left for a few days, went to reception to cash a travellers cheque to be told quite adamantly that they did not do this any more, even when we pointed out that the room directory said they did, we had to argue quite strongly before a manager came and sorted the problem out, to be fair the receptionist apologised the morning after, full marks to her. On other visits we have always had some form of acknowledgement that we were return guests, not this time, so all told they will be lucky if we return again. The good points are the location is good, the views were great and the sunsets spectacular, the bell hops where great as were the pool attendants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Federal Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

My friend booked this resort since he had stayed at another property of this hotel chain in langkawi. We booked for one night stay since we had limited time on the island. The rooms were okay, amenities/accessories were just about okay (couldnt beleive no LCD or flat tv in the room) and the prices were expensive. The most depressing part was the check-out. The hotel staff were terrible, rude and sarcastic. First we had a credit card issue and it took nearly 30 mins to check-out and the lady at the reception was just horrible. It could be just me who went thru this service but i can vouch, i will ever return to this hotel or their chain WORLDWIDE.

Room Tip: Choose near the main building else you have to walk atleast 10 mins to another block of rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Since federal villa is a sister concern of holiday villa, you can almost avail most of the facilities provided by holiday villa, and since the lobby is common to both, you get a feeling that you are staying in holiday villa.
The rooms are huge, with balcony, the bathroom has a seperate shower area with a screen. We had a swimming pool view from the balcony, a private beach to relax at, in the evening, was a good pass time, to walk around the area in the evenings after a hectic morning travel.There are indoor games, candle light dinners available, but we chose to eat at the eateries outside, since we did not want to risk ordering items which we would not eventually like. We basically were looking for indian food, and there is a restaurantl by the name "Sagar restaruant" which serves good north indian food.
The cab service can be booked right at the lobby, good facilities available. Over all a very good experience.

Divya.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divya_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Its recommendable if you're looking for a quiet and relax holiday. Hotel is same entrance and check in counter is as Holiday Villa, if not its easily overlooked. Room is clean and spacious. The beach just behind hotel is clean and quiet. Hotels offer water sport but it's not commercialised. I can't even find a ice cream cart on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in a triple room. Room was clean and had everything we needed but slightly outdated. Rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Towels also available at the pool which was great.

Pool is absolutely fantastic and you are 2 minutes from one of the best beaches in Langkawi. Food and drink slightly overpriced at the pool bar. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night (Holiday Villa) and had a lovely meal. There are also other food places and little shops right across the road and you are a 5 minute drive away from one of the busiest streets with lots of restaurants and bars on (highly recommend going to Babylon!)

We hired a car at the airport which I would highly recommend (or a scooter - the roads are very quiet and safe), especially if you are thinking of doing the cable car and visitng any of the waterfalls. The car was well priced and we definately got our moneys worth! It was lovely driving around such a beautiful island. If you just want to laze at the pool/beach for the whole time you are there then don't bother but otherwise be sure to get a car!

Overall thought this was a great place to stay and couldn't really argue with the price we paid.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 339 which was on the top floor so a bit difficult carrying all your luggage up - a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights. All staff helpful and friendly. Room was relatively clean and the bed comfortable. Great pool with pool bar.can reccommend the beach bar. Great food along the street. Good value resort.
Downside was that they do not provide drinking water in the rooms and tried charging RM12 for a bottle at the bar!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jayvee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in Federal Villa for 4 nights over the Easter break, Room no. 369. Arrived airport around 8pm, got to the FV about 9pm. The taxi driver dropped me to the FV reception which was not attended – now this has been handled by Holiday Villa. (so if you are taking taxi to FV, make sure they drop you off at the Holiday Villa reception- I guess not all taxi drivers realize this, unfortunately)

Anyway, check in was quick and one staff helped me find the room; it was located at ground floor, outside is garden and far end, you can see the sea. So it’s not very bad. The size is ok, but as many reviews mentioned, it appear very old and not really looks very clean.

The aircon works ok, even a bit noisy. There are four units (split system) hanging on one side (outside) of the wall, which makes fair bit noisy during night. There is no compliment water supplied during my stay, and no hair dryer as well. But there is a kettle and two mugs with a few sachets of coffee/creamer/sugar and tea bags provide (no re-fill). The room service was done daily, bed was made and clean towels are provided. There is electronic mosquito repellent provided, I did found a few mosquito around during night. The pool is big and clean, as well as the garden, so it’s not hard to find a nice spot on the beach or in the garden to do some read, or just relax, watching the sunset. The beach is great.

The hotel is located at the end of Tengah beach, so it a bit quieter. But still very convenient as there are some shops/restaurants just crossed the road; you can easily find all necessaries from the T Shoppe, or rent cars/scooters from them as well. Cactus Café is good for breakfast and Boat Restaurant was nice for dinner.

It’s probably 10-15min walk to the Ceneng beach and the busy street where more café/restaurants around, now there’s MacDonalds, KFC and Starbucks opened business.

I like the place in good location, with nice beach, and big garden. The room definitely needs some works to make it looks fresher. Again, you pay what you get; If you can pay more, you can always find better places. The draw card for the place is the beach—which will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yanathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 104 in Langkawi
560 reviews
8.9 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#33 of 104 in Langkawi
260 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $53 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing