We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for family and kids who love beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good for family and kids who love beaches”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Location is very good with plenty of good food nearby, lovely beach and swimming pool which my children love them a lot. With 4 adults and 3 children, I would say this 2 room villa is good value for money, not too small but but too big either. My girls complained the toilet is too small and there is no bathtub, and I think the bed sheets can be better. If i come to Langkawi again, I will pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betterfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    147
    98
    54
    33
See reviews for
103
122
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temerloh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Located at the popular tourist spot-pantai cenang & pantai tengah, all room face the beaches and some overlooking gardens, various sport activities, clean n nice room albeit old, nice hotel lobby and friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhaiZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is in a brilliant location with amazing views of the ocean. The pool is enormous and the pool bar is a great touch, with plenty of lounge chairs. It was great to be able to relax in the quiet environment. We visited Pantai Cenang and were not impressed with the noise, definitely preferred Pantai Tengah. There are plenty of nice and reasonably priced restaurants near the hotel. However, the room was a bit of a let down. Although well located and with nice views, it was dark and musty and the toilet presented several issues from not flushing properly to leaking, after informing reception of this problem the response was quick but did not completely solve our problem. Nevertheless we enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ashleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked a deluxe room; the package did not include breakfast. The first room we were given had a musty carpet and an air conditioner that was so noisy I thought the compressor was in the room. We asked for another room: the air con was quieter, the room wasn't smelly but it was on the ground floor and dark. Oh well...

On the second night my friend woke up because he felt something crawling on his body. He went to the bathroom and saw a big fat bedbug on his face. He woke me up and we found more bedbugs in the linen and on the walls. The night manager gave us another room to sleep in but the morning the day manager was completely unsympathetic. She wanted me to propose a solution to this problem and refused anything I proposed. I really feel that she blamed us for this problem.

Also getting the staff to clarify the difference between a deluxe - which we had booked - and a standard room - which we feel we were initially given - was impossible. Our request to be shown a standard room was denied. Apparently all the rooms were occupied - hard to believe because it was off season and there was hardly anyone at the hotel. There is a lack of transparency here.

The private beach and the pool are nice; the hotel is a horror.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank djacques37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The price is just ok along with the service. A differential service when we stay at Federal Villa than at the Holiday villa. Not all are treated at par.
If we just be with ourselves and the beach, with a bargained price, the Federal villa should just be fine. We chose this as there were couple of Indian restaurants within a walkable distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrabhuKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Federal Villa only exists as a section of Holiday Villas (which is where you check in). The pool is stunning, if bordering on too warm even for me (can't complain about the good weather which resulted in the warm pool). Plenty of comfortable lounges and we usually managed to get one under a lovely shady tree. Great pool bar with reasonably priced drinks. Beautiful uncrowded beach with dozens and dozens more lounges, another bar and plenty of shade. You can walk to Pantai Cenang though, in the heat we usually caught a taxi (they're so cheap!) And we actually preferred the peace and quiet of Pantai Tengah.
Went to Cactus for breakfast most days and several other meals too. It's exactly opposite the Holiday Villa entrance, serves great, cheap food and is run by really lovely people. Breakfast at the hotel seemed quite expensive but also looked really good. I ordered a very enjoyable club sandwich from room service which arrived promptly but then the tray sat outside our door for 2 days (as did the previous guests' breakfast dishes when we arrived). There were probably 10 or 12 restaurants in Pantai Tengah, within a few minutes' walk from the villas and a T Shop a couple of doors up from Cactus which had everything from bread and milk etc to car hire (very cheap) and clothing! Another shop or 2 along is Troppo Co for the best blended iced cappucino and "rustic sandwiches" which are really baguettes and plenty big enough to share. They bake their own bread and it was the best we found in Malaysia! Walk a few minutes more and there is a laundry which charges just over 4MR per kilo for washing/drying/folding.
Now the not so positive....our room was very tired but still quite comfortable. It had a bar fridge but no wifi (supposedly available for quite a steep fee but told it was not working on the 2 occasions I tried to purchase access. However most of the restaurants opposite offer free wifi, even those that don't advertise it.) Neither did the room have a safe despite it being listed on hotels.com. When I enquired I was told none of the Federal Villa rooms have a safe and was advised to use the safe deposit box at reception. Because of our room's location (about 5 mins walk away) and the inconvenience of queuing each time I wanted access I left our valuables in the room. I was also aware from other reviews that we were likely to have 2 single beds pushed together - and we did. Not ideal but if you know at the outset you can't complain.
The thing that almost spoilt our stay though was the state of the bathroom. The women who cleaned our room each day did a good job and I'm sure the basin area, shower, floor and toilet were wiped over but the tiled walls were actually dirty, not just the grout and the top of the toilet bowl partially under the rim but quite visible from the bathroom doorway was disgusting. The whole bathroom needed someone with a bottle of bleach and a scrubbing brush to spend a couple of hours there. Plus there was an unpleasant odour emanating from the drain. We kept the door shut and spent as little time in the bathroom as possible and the rest of our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janice3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The place is old and not worth the price. 4am water dripping from the ceiling above the bed, all the walls wet. Prefer to stay at pantai cenang, convenient for food and shopping especially at The Zon (next to Underwater world) is cheaper than else where. Other duty free shops near Bayview hotel is also worth going to.. Meals at Cactus, in front of Holiday villa is also good, price ok. If you want to look for seafood, the restaurant in front of Langkasuka hotel is cheaper than in pantai cenang where rice are charged at $10 per pot served whether you empty it or not.

Room Tip: Rooms at Federal villa is at a west corner of Holiday villa. Choose rooms at upper floor. You will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cynthiaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Property: Federal Villa Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing