We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Federal Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The price is just ok along with the service. A differential service when we stay at Federal Villa than at the Holiday villa. Not all are treated at par.
If we just be with ourselves and the beach, with a bargained price, the Federal villa should just be fine. We chose this as there were couple of Indian restaurants within a walkable distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrabhuKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    145
    97
    51
    32
See reviews for
101
118
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Federal Villa only exists as a section of Holiday Villas (which is where you check in). The pool is stunning, if bordering on too warm even for me (can't complain about the good weather which resulted in the warm pool). Plenty of comfortable lounges and we usually managed to get one under a lovely shady tree. Great pool bar with reasonably priced drinks. Beautiful uncrowded beach with dozens and dozens more lounges, another bar and plenty of shade. You can walk to Pantai Cenang though, in the heat we usually caught a taxi (they're so cheap!) And we actually preferred the peace and quiet of Pantai Tengah.
Went to Cactus for breakfast most days and several other meals too. It's exactly opposite the Holiday Villa entrance, serves great, cheap food and is run by really lovely people. Breakfast at the hotel seemed quite expensive but also looked really good. I ordered a very enjoyable club sandwich from room service which arrived promptly but then the tray sat outside our door for 2 days (as did the previous guests' breakfast dishes when we arrived). There were probably 10 or 12 restaurants in Pantai Tengah, within a few minutes' walk from the villas and a T Shop a couple of doors up from Cactus which had everything from bread and milk etc to car hire (very cheap) and clothing! Another shop or 2 along is Troppo Co for the best blended iced cappucino and "rustic sandwiches" which are really baguettes and plenty big enough to share. They bake their own bread and it was the best we found in Malaysia! Walk a few minutes more and there is a laundry which charges just over 4MR per kilo for washing/drying/folding.
Now the not so positive....our room was very tired but still quite comfortable. It had a bar fridge but no wifi (supposedly available for quite a steep fee but told it was not working on the 2 occasions I tried to purchase access. However most of the restaurants opposite offer free wifi, even those that don't advertise it.) Neither did the room have a safe despite it being listed on hotels.com. When I enquired I was told none of the Federal Villa rooms have a safe and was advised to use the safe deposit box at reception. Because of our room's location (about 5 mins walk away) and the inconvenience of queuing each time I wanted access I left our valuables in the room. I was also aware from other reviews that we were likely to have 2 single beds pushed together - and we did. Not ideal but if you know at the outset you can't complain.
The thing that almost spoilt our stay though was the state of the bathroom. The women who cleaned our room each day did a good job and I'm sure the basin area, shower, floor and toilet were wiped over but the tiled walls were actually dirty, not just the grout and the top of the toilet bowl partially under the rim but quite visible from the bathroom doorway was disgusting. The whole bathroom needed someone with a bottle of bleach and a scrubbing brush to spend a couple of hours there. Plus there was an unpleasant odour emanating from the drain. We kept the door shut and spent as little time in the bathroom as possible and the rest of our stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janice3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The place is old and not worth the price. 4am water dripping from the ceiling above the bed, all the walls wet. Prefer to stay at pantai cenang, convenient for food and shopping especially at The Zon (next to Underwater world) is cheaper than else where. Other duty free shops near Bayview hotel is also worth going to.. Meals at Cactus, in front of Holiday villa is also good, price ok. If you want to look for seafood, the restaurant in front of Langkasuka hotel is cheaper than in pantai cenang where rice are charged at $10 per pot served whether you empty it or not.

Room Tip: Rooms at Federal villa is at a west corner of Holiday villa. Choose rooms at upper floor. You will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cynthiaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for the third time in July 2012. You just can not beat this resort in terms of price, facilities and position. Nice quiet beach (with a bar!), huge swimming pool with swim up bar and large spa, lots of shade and loungers and very nice gardens. Rooms are a bit dated but big and clean and our bathroom had a powerful shower. Staff were all friendly and check in and out was very quick. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants but I can highly recommend Cactus across the road for breakfast - cheap and tasty! Used room service once - delivery was quick but removing the remains took a while. You can walk to the next beach for shopping, eating and clubbing. Don't feel like walking? Taxis are always available and the price is fixed, so no surprises. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews here but were very happy with our choice. Yes, it is an older style property that looks a bit tired on the outside and in the bathrooms but our room was nice and big with 2 beds and a day bed overlooking the lovely well kept gardens and through the trees to the beach. The staff were all very friendly greeting you as they walked past. Check in was very quick and a staff member took our bags and escorted us from the Holiday villa reception to our room at the Federal which is about 5 mins walk away. The pool was amazing and worthy of a 5 star resort! The location was perfect set back from the beach and really quiet but with restaurants and shops within walking distance. Did not eat at the restaurant but can highly reccomend Cactus across the road for a large variety of fantasic local or western breakfasts at cheap prices. We saw one of rooms at the Holiday villa and can honestly say they are not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This would have to have been the worst accomodation that we had on our trip. We were pointed in the direction of our room which was hard to find - the tiling around the accomodation was covered in litter and dirt - I thought that maybe it was because it was late in the day, but this didn't change in the two days we were there. The first thing that struck us when we went into the room was the smell - very stale and dirty. It didn't really get much better after that - our double bed was actually two singles (made seperately) pushed together, the balcony was so tiny that there wasn't room to move. No tea, coffee or electric jug - although there were a couple of swizzle sticks and a cup. The bathroom was dirty with hair still on the floor. Strangely enough on the second day a jug appeared, but no tea or coffee and the bathroom looked a bit cleaner - still wore my jandals in the shower though. Definitely wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n0rmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've been in Langkawi 6 years ago, being worked in tourism industry that time. So some of island's hotels had been reviewed -)
This time, having a plan to spend 4 nights for beach resort, I've choosen Federal Villa (part of Holiday Villa complex) as the optimal point between price and quality. To not expect more than could be offerred, I did need proper accommodation conditions and ability to get beach shortly -)
so finally I've been given 100% of what was expected: good hotel in general, extremely helpful personnel, nice beach, proper swimming pool, good surroundings of hotel, joint facilities of Holiday Villa available for Federal Villa's guests. Considering 25th anniversary Holiday Villa celebrates, we can't expect more =))))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DmitryOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.6 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.9 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
4.6 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Villa Beach Resort

Property: Federal Villa Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1968 Pantai Tengah Jalan Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#19 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Federal Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Villa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Federal Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing