We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Make sure you know which rooms you have booked. Some rooms are too far and horrible. We had to fight to get all our rooms together as we were a big group. The hotel was empty yet they pretended that they cannot give us all 4 rooms together because its booked. Finally we did manage after a big scene. The duty manager - Ahmad Rosli was very helpful and helped us out. Other staff at reception are cold.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank mish_53189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamsol, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2010

Dear Sir

Thank you for your comments on the Frangipani Langkawi. We value your feedback to help us improve our guest experiences. And thank very much for your readiness to recommend us to your friends.

We look forward to have you back soon.

Kind regards
Kamsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

Lets make this short and sweet! I didn't like my stay at the Frap. Everything was just OK status. The beach was not clean, pool is tiny, food was just ok. It rained a lot so the pathways leading to our beach front bungalows were always flooded. Did I mention no gym? The only possible good thing is their free wifi but I was only able to use in the lobby of the hotel. Tried walking and signal faded pretty quickly. Would I stay there again? No! Cough up a few extra shifts and enjoy my stay on the other side of the island. So much better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank made_in_bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamsol, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2010

Dear made_in_brooklyn

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to learn that you had to face wet weather during your stay at the Frangipani Langkawi in August last year. The sun's back and weather is just fantastic this past year. Hope to have you back with us.

Sunny regards,
Kamsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My family and my in-laws stayed at Frangipani for 10 nights in March and had quite high hopes since we've read many good reviews here. We had a whole garden view villa and it had obviously been rebuilt as our part of the villa was more run down than my in-laws half of it. Our bathroom was in need of refurbishment, but the bathroom on the other side was very nice, so depending on your luck you will have different views of the roomstandard. Since the hotel is fairly inexpensive, and only 3-star, I still feel you definitely get your moneys worth.

The breakfast was ok with a large choice of different courses and the seaview from the restaurant is very beautiful. A shame about the jellyfish situation though, hardly anyone dared to swim in the sea by the hotel. At the bigger beach, Pantai Cenang, people were swimming although they probably get jellyfish there as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarcyAusten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamsol, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2010

Dear Darcy Austen

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your readiness to recommend us to your friends and look forward to welcome them soon.

Kind regards
Kamsol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

we stayed here for 4 nights due to being unable to fly back to uk because of volcano! when we arrived in Langkawi we had no room and so were lucky to come across Fragipani resort. when we went in we asked what the lowest rate for a family of 4 was and we were given an almost half price rate which was great! The family room we had was excellent. it had 2 single beds and a king size bed. there was a sitting area, a large tv, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. There was a large bathroom with both bath and a shower. The balcony was large with 2 tables and 4 chairs, and had a fantastic view of pool and beach. The breakfast at the resort was lovely with an excellent choice of food. we did eat dinner at the hotel which was also very good but probably a bit more expensive than local restaurants. The hotel had 2 pools, one being a salt water pool. both pools were very clean and well kept. The beach was also lovely and we enjoyed our morning walks along the beach! The hotel is in a good location, right on the beach but also close to many places to eat . The staff at the hotel were always very friendly. All in all we certainly enjoyed our unexpected trip to the Frangipani resort in Langkawi. we would certainly visit again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsoaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Really nice resort. Two nice swimming pools, really nice grounds, quiet, secluded, nice beach. Staff were really friendly. We came in one night having broken our baby stroller in town and within 5 minutes they had called the maintenance man and he had fixed it for us. It is touches like this that leave good lasting impressions.

Good restaurant serving a good variety and breakfast and a good menu throughout the day as well.

Only slight disappointment was the room. It could just have done with a bit of modernising and the air-com wasn't the most efficient in the world, but worked nonetheless.

Overall a very nice place to stay though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabrascokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed in the family suite for 3 nights last december. The room was spacious and clean. The resort was very near to the beach, especially the restaurant was just right in front of the beach. We enjoyed our morning there having breakfast with nice seaview . The staffs were friendly and the service were fine. This is a eco friendly resort, my children loved it. We had a relaxing and wonderful time threre.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SannSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed eleven nights at Frangipani where we were well served by the friendly staff throughout. No-one expected tips. The standard rooms were a little dated but clean and well equipped. The beach location was superb and very quiet. In the past we have stayed at the Pelangi but preferred this hotel as there seemed to be more space and we were never aware of other guests - though the hotel was almost full throughout. Breakfast buffets were varied and there was a wide choice. We enjoyed the sea bathing and access to restaurants along the beach, as well as the short walk in the evening to many other restaurants and shops..

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklyspeakingWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 106 in Langkawi
1,410 reviews
11 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $135 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing