We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 107 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Stayed at the Frangipani for xmas and new year, excellent 3* plus place to stay, rooms spotlessly clean although bathroom could do with being updated, 2 bottles of water in the room every day,food in restaurant very good, staff very friendly and helpful, lots of places to eat near by, although found the lighthouse relatively expensive and the service was terrible , much better service and just as good quality food in one of the sun chain of eateries. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank piglet3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2008

I was in Frangipani for my honeymoon in November 2006 and it was an amazing stay with excellent service, great rate (about RM500 including tax) for a beachfront chalet. Excellent breakfast. A picture perfect honeymoon.

As I was so impressed with the hotel and service and staff I made sure I book the hotel for my wife and myself as well as my brother and his wife. But what a shock !! What has happaned to this hotel ?

1st of all I requested early checkin at 1pm (their checkin time is 3pm) after reaching langkawi early on the day. They said they will give us a call at earliest the rooms are ready, so we went to visit Kuah town and other places. We didnt get any call from them, NOT ONLY THAT, guess what ! our rooms were not even ready at 3:30. It took them 4:30 to prepare our rooms. Although they gave us one temporary rooms to change so that atleast we could use the pool. We paid RM 625 per room. Thats USD $176 X 2 rooms and we get this unacceptable reception.

Breakfast was HORRIBLE. OMG! What a change from the breakfast me and my wife had in our honeymoon. We spoke of it to everyone we met. We stayed in 5 star hotels and resorts but Frangipanis breakfast during our honeymoon really made an impression. But this time it was pathetic, the number of items got reduced as well as the quality of food. Very unfortunate.

About the room. It was same as before except when we entered the bathroom. The Bathtubs water tap was broken. The head portion of the hand shower was missing, what a mess ?? How could such an amazing resort turn in to this within just 2 years ? and not to mention Frangipani was undergoing massive renovation in 2006, and I was under the impression that since it went massive renovation, how amazing the resort will be this time. I was totally wrong.

Only positive thing they added watersport facilities with the resort, previously we had to go to another beach for watersport.
And they allowed us late checkout at 2pm.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BliZZarD_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We and our travel partners each took a Seaview room at MYR 575 p/n. This was a 'needless' extravagance, but we really should have waited and 'walked in' to this other places on Cenang & Tengah Beaches. There is far better value than this available and there is, I am concluding after touring this area extensively over the last few years, a general practice to charge penal rates for advance bookings incl over the internet, whilst walk-in's are offered heavy discounts. This time, I had no choice but to advance book, but if you're not travelling in peak season, walk-in is well worth considering, IMHO.

The hotel is fine overall; the rooms clean, and even the highest category is basic [TV + Kettle + fridge + water (as are most sub-5* SE Asian hotels). Outdoor shower is properly built. Note the toilet is indoors, so no intrepid journeys at 3am.

Bar is small. Food was good. No atmosphere, as virtually all guests dine at the huge array of v respectable restaurants on the main coastal road.

This bay is a great place for sunset photos. BUT you don't need to pay anywhere near this money for decent accom in this area, plus you'd be nuts to pay a premium for the priviledge to watch a sunset like those on the Andaman from your bedroom window. Trust me(!).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fandango'ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed for seven nights in a sea view villa - right on the beach, close to the restaurant and pool...well worth the few extra dollars.

Be warned - if you book through the hotel website, they will hold the total amount of your stay on your credit card on arrival, despite there being no mention of this in the Terms and Conditions attached to the email confirmation we received.

The resort is still undergoing some renovations at the far end, and hopefully this will involve living up to the 'spa' part of their name. Even though there is no spa on site at the moment, we used two that were nearby, and they were excellent.

It's much quieter at Tengah than Cenang, and the beach is better as well (no tour touts!)

Overall, the Frangipani is perfect for a relaxing break without the look and feel of a big 'chain' resort. We enjoyed it, and liked the fact that the management are making every effort to be 'green'.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

23th nov 2008
we have just returned from a week at the frangipani resort & spa we stayed in a sea view villa it was perfect our room was ready for us when we arrived clean and a great out side shower a few mozzies the first day we had a can of spray left for us in the room which was a great help.
The staff were great very helpful. It was a very quite time to go apprently december through to march gets busy.
Breakfast was very good not a big a choice as some bigger hotels we've been to but changes daily which is good.
Bottled water left in room every day pity it wasn't left in the fridge. never drank so much water,the weather was good hardly any rain
we met a couple who go there every year this time for a month and have been for 9 years.would reccomend this hotel for value for money and good location right on beach restaurants in walking distance we liked the oais just a 5 minute walk along the beach also sun grill next door.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank frangipani1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We spent 5 days at the Frangipani after a couple of weeks driving and touring around malaysia and it was a perfect end to a perfect holiday !

Arrived by ferry (never again! more polyfiller than ferry - so left by plane - air asia - so cheap) so arriving at the hotel was a delight, room was spacious, clean and comfortable, staff were lovely - we found them to be extremely helpful, even sent some faxes for us, nothing was too much trouble. The beach was great, lovely warm sea - not particulary suitable for swimming but great for splashing about in and getting knocked around by the waves. Beach was nice and clean with staff always cleaning and sweeping.

Nice restaurant serving good food, plenty of choice for breakfast, we only ate in one evening (lovely) as we like to explore the area outside and we found some great restaurants all within easy walking distance - it was a case of too many restaurants too little time ! But before venturing out for the evening you have to sit with a cocktail at the bar and watch the perfect sunset over the sea - amazing !

I loved the Frangipani's "green" awareness, the gardens and grounds were beautiful with plenty of trees, plants and bushes for the local birds and I absolutely loved the hotels attitude to the little cats around the area, they were all well fed by the hotel so they didnt scavenge and become a nuisance - just lazily wandered around thru the bar and restaurant stopping for a stroke/tickle or occasional cuddle !

My only two small complaints would be: more fans in the reception - boy that place was hot! and they need either more cabanas on the beach or beach umbrellas as it is just too hot to sit in the sun and you get the usual probelm of people getting up early to bag the chairs under the cabanas and hog them with towels and not even use them for most of the day - so irritating.

I was so sad to leave, Langkawi is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zidery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We were upgraded to garden villa and were very pleased with the rooms. The beds are of good size and the bathrooms have recently been refurbished - so that was a plus point.
Breakfast, which was included, was average with a decent spread of continental and asian food. Service was good, the staff was accomodating, although sometimes they needed to be reminded but it was not a big issue. The beach was just OK and the waves were pretty strong, but the kids loved the pool, which they have all to themselves most of the time. The hotel location is also good, with restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Overall, the hotel is a lovely quite place...not 5-star but good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JPYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 107 in Langkawi
1,413 reviews
11 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $123 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing