We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect chill out total resort feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect chill out total resort feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is great, if you want a resort feel next to the beach, this is it. Great vibe, rooms big and comfortable beds. This place will grow on you. Wifi at the pool area and reception which is good, makes you disconnect from world. Breakfast is ok. Two great pools. Place close to lots of places to eat and the best beach on Langkawi so you get best of both worlds. Quite and chilled out. Perfect! They can organise scooter hire for you too, very cheap.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sammy6d,

Warm Greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Frangipani Langkawi and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience and indeed we are heartened to receive compliments and kind words in which I'm proudly share with the rest of our crews here.

It is also good to know that you truly enjoyed all the facilities provided , flora and fauna of the Resort, our two beautiful pools, the location of our Resort and most importantly on how it all jive with your holiday mood feeling .

I greatly appreciate your kind patronage at our hotel and looking forward to the opportunity in welcoming you back again to the hotel for a more memorable stay experience.

Thank you and may god bless you and your family.

best personal regards,
WanZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    601
    232
    90
    50
See reviews for
452
523
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

stayed in July 14 with group of friends. Very friendly Staff and very nice beach.
only if the rooms can be renovated with better and comfortable furniture and Internet access can be added, it will be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawwad-Zaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Jawwad-Zaidi,

Sunny Greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

I truly appreciate it so much for your kind review and comments and it is really good to know that you and your group of friends truly enjoyed the stay at our Resort.

Regards to your feedback(s) about the Internet (wi-fi) connection , it is available at all common areas such as Restaurant, Bar, Beside the Pool, Lobby Lounge and Resort Lobby itself. While your suggestion on upgrading of room and furniture is taken note by the Resort Management accordingly.

Thank you again for all the warm words regarding your stay. All the team here and I remain at your service.

best personal regards,
Wanz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed in this summer this summer. It is a beautiful resort, it has a beautiful beach, clean and warm sea, very KIND staff always there to help you.

BUT if they cleaned the restaurant chairs and tables, who are always covered in bird feces it would be perfect. Also the tables in the restaurant near the pool are covered with ants and bird feces. ALWAYS!!! It is funny how at breakfast there are at least 5 waiters, talking and laughing with themselves and if just ONE of them would clean the chairs and tables it would be clean. Every morning I was looking where to sit and ALWAYS was looking so long because I couldn't sit in dirty chairs. Simply disgusting. And the waiter staff talking to themselves instead of cleaning the chairs and tables. Really?

Also the beach is dirty, there was this german tourist who cleaned it himself one day. ?!!!! The hotel keeps talking about how ECO they are. Really, with all the dirt, plastic trash on the beach and trash almost everywhere? They should mentor all the staff with HOW to clean properly the restaurant area and every morning clean the beach and the beach chairs area.
The staff seems like they don't see the dirt and the feces. The hotel should have higher standards for cleanliness. Would they have an appetite for eating while watching ants, bugs and bird feces? It is funny how the hotel staff asked us about how we are satisfied with the food and staff... but never about the cleanliness of the property.

Other than that a beautiful place, but the rooms are very old and need a "face lift", many times were the bed sheets covered with some old blood. When asked for changing them the kind staff always solved the problem and changed them.

It would be a 5 star resort if they would clean and refresh modernly the whole property. For sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ms Maya L,

Warm Greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Firstly thank you for your kind comments regarding our picturesque resort and beach as well as our tentative staffs.

The natural flora and fauna surrounding the Resort attracts many kind of birds , however I apologize for your dining experience and shall alert the Restaurant Manager regarding your comments.

For the past couple of weeks during the monsoon season, rubbish has been washed up on the beach due to the rougher seas. We do try our best to clean the beach once a day but we will attempt to do so more frequently. Thank you for highlighting this issue.

Finally, all your kind comments about the staff kindness are greatly appreciated. Indeed at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA, our staffs are our greatest assets.

Once again, thank you so much for your constructive comments and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

best personal regards,

WanZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently stayed at the Frangipani during July for 5 nights and all we can say is what an excellent spot, we too had looked at more expensive resorts and we are glad that we didn't because when we looked at them during our holiday they were more expensive, no better and some did not look like they did in their advert - the Frangipani is how it looks
The best part about the Frangipani is that you can drink the water, their food is budget conscious but excellent quality and they use many of the islands local vegetables and fruit etc
The staff are very friendly, helpful, honest, appreciative and most of all they are polite and ready to please - if we went back to Langkawi, we would definitely stay there no problem

Room Tip: Try and get one close to the ocean, but in all honesty its great value for the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear KJ W,

Very warm welcome from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post this review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our location and you also truly appreciate the excellent services rendered by all of us here at The Frangipani Langkawi .

All your kind words will be shared to all the staff here and again we wish to thank you for choosing us as your choice of Holiday Destination and all of us are looking forward to welcome you back again at your new "Home" by the sea.

With best regards
WanZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed recently for 5 nights at Frangipani. Could not be faulted. Beach front villa so comfortable and soothing to hear the waves crashing near your door. Even during the very early morning storms you felt safe and secure.
WiFi available in lobby, restaurant and bar areas only, but this was not really a problem
A choice of pools great, especially the salt water pool where the older age group of guests do not hinder the young ones wanting to frolic in the other pools.
Only suggestion would be to take some time to look at landscaping around bar area and fresh water pool. Some tiles or paving stone laid would make this area a lot cleaner and not so much sand around the actual poolside. Maybe time for just some upgrading of the outdoors to keep up to scratch with more modern resorts. Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Beach front villas great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACS77B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear MACS77B,

Sunny Greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Thank you for choosing our Resort as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us and we are glad that your experience with the "Mother Nature" and all the Resort facilities especially our beautiful Salt Water Pool exceeded your expectation and touched your heart.

We also take note on your comments about the Landscaping around bar area and our fresh water pool. All your good suggestions will be channelled to our Executive Housekeeper and his team of dedicated gardeners, so that it can be act accordingly.

Once again, The Frangipani Langkawi genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest again on your next trip to Langkawi.

Best personal regards
WanZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here 23-29th July 14. Our villa near the beach was excellent. The resort is well placed on the island, and is generally very good value for money. Liked the green/eco ethos of the resort -clean, green etc. ( it's just a pity generally that Asia uses the ocean to get rid of garbage ). Dining was adequate for snacks for lunch but distinctly average for evening dinner. But not a problem, there are many nice restaurants just a short walk from the resort. Anyway, that aside - a strong recommendation.

Room Tip: Villas near beach are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Maccaville,

Warm greetings from The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & SPA !

Firstly, we would like to thank you for recent patronage and reviews of our cosy home by the sea and we have taken note on your comments about the rubbish that sometime will be washed ashore at the beach near our Resort and as information, the rubbish will be cleared up daily by our Landscaping and Public Area team.

Regards to the quality of food at our Restaurant, we have taken note of it and informed our Executive Chef and his dedicated kitchen team accordingly.

Once again, thank you and best wishes from all of us in return.

Best personal regards,
WanZ
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here in the first week of July with my boyfriend and it was amazing. We stayed in the cheapest room available which was great value for money. We were able to check in early at 8.30am, it was a king size bed, very spacious clean modern room. It was up the back near the staff quarters but that didn't bother us as it wasn't far from the beach, restaurant or salt water pool.

The buffet breakfast was great and overlooking the beach. The location is fantastic with practically a private beach and only a 10 minute walk way form all the action at cenang. I highly recommend this place for a very relaxing hassle free holiday.

Room Tip: We had a peak at the more expensive sea facing villas and they didnt look any different from the muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GIGI495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrWanZ, Front Office Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear GIGI495,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at The Frangipani Langkawi.

We are happy to know that with the length of your stay with us, you have managed to encapsulate many of the advantages that makes the hotel so special.

We will pass on your compliments to the team, who will appreciate your feedback. We are really pleased you and your family left us as happy customers and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

warm regards,
Wan Z
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing