We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, calm & serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We loved our stay at Frangipani in december 2014 for our honeymoon.
Pros:
The resort exactly on the beach and the ambience is peaceful.
They have nice sits out next to the bar facing the beach.
We had booked a deluxe room and the room was clean, spacious. The beds and linen were clean and perfectly made. Bathroom was good, the only thing we missed was a bathtub.
Room has a verandah / sit out where you can enjoy your drink.
Beach was clean and they have their own watersport activities.
Staff is courteous and helpful.
Cons:
The only problem with the standard / deluxe rooms there is a adjacent room with the door closed. So, if your neighbours are loud sometimes you can hear their noise. Also, other rooms around are very close and hence you can hear them if they are sitting in the verandah and talking. I was lucky to have no one in the adjacent room except on my last day.
Very less food options for pure vegetarians in the resort. But there are a couple of vegetarian restaurants just next to the resort.

Overall, i had a good experience and carry lot of good memories from Langakawi & Frangipani.

Room Tip: If budget is not a constraint, go for beach villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhaumikShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed ay Frangipani for 4 days in January 2014. No complaints at all and really enjoyed the place. Had Beach Front Villa which was clean and spacious and had unobstructed view of sea. Good food and service, and relatively cheap drinks at pool bar. Beach is beautifully clean and free of the jet-ski pedlars, tattoo artists and hawkers who infest the Northern end of Pantai Cenang.
Will definitely be back to this place later this year !

Room Tip: Beach front villas are excellent. I would not stay in Garden View villas due greenery encouraging mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaituo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I loved my stay at The Ftangipani Resort & Spa. I stayed here with my sister during a holiday to Malaysia where we visited KL, Penang & Langkawi. Langkawi overall is such a chilled out place, defo somewhere to go as a couple! Perhaps a bit too chilled for us after being in Penang.

The resort was amazing, right on the beach which was beautiful! The staff were really helpful and the food was nice! The mango smoothie and fruit platter was our favourite!

You can jet ski on the beach behind the resort. The pool and beach area is pretty quiet which is nice. There are some lovely places to eat, we went to The Brasserie which was amazing! The food was so good and the setting is great, right on the beach! One day we also ate in another place on the beach (cannot remember the name but I saw it in a previous review) which was great too!

Only moan about this place is that the rooms have a locked interconnecting door, we had 2 young males in the room next to ours which scared us a little as they knocked a few times but we ignored..Not worth being put off :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cole271189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We got the booking with RM1,200 for 2 nights on Deluxe Room. When we arrived, we wish to upgrade to beach villa but the front desk told us there is no more room while booking.com show 2 rooms left. We have to walk 500m along the back street , thru hotel staff hostel before reach our room. When open the door, it was smelly, 2 twin bed for me and my wife instead of king size bed. Toilet looks old and worn out. The main wooden door can see thru ! The power plugs are all loosen and not easy to connect. The next morning, we went for breakfast and it was total disappointment with the food selection. It only worth 1/3 of the price given. We only stay for a night and move out for other villa.

Room Tip: only BEACH VILLA is worth a stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwintcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frangipani_Langkawi, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Edwintcq,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us.

We are sorry to hear that you were not able to stay in the room category that you desired. The king sized beds are upon availability and it was unfortunate that there was no room available at the time for you and your wife.If you book with us at least a month in advance, the chances are more likely you would be able to so. Also, a 10% discount is normally given for early bookers.

I have informed the housekeeping staff on your comments to improve ourselves but cleanliness is our priority and one of the key aspects that our guests comment positively on. I have also passed your comments to our chef on the breakfast selection. We are sorry that your short stay with us was less than satisfactory.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can use them to better ourselves in the quest to provide our guests a relaxing holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Frangipani 4 nights in January 2014. Nice resort with good location. 10 min from airport on taxi (price was 22 MYR). Clean spacious rooms in 2-storeyd buildings. Breakfast is good. They do not offer large choice but change food every day. A lot of restaurants in a walking distance. No need to rent a motobike or a car unless you are not going to visit all parts of Langkawi. Beach is clean but the water is not clear (turbid) like in all Langkawi beaches. 2 small swimming pools with chlorine and salt water. Staff is friendly and helpful. So it is a good option "price/quality". Wi-fi is fast but not in all rooms. Only in those which are close to reception desk.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank VictorEvchatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Only stayed one night (because that is all I booked) We stayed in a deluxe room, which was very tired and dated, sterile, some mould in bathroom (there was a laminated sign in the bathroom stuck by the bathtub telling you not to smoke in the bath - fine - but The sign had mould growing behind it!!!!!!!! This was just awful to see). If I had paid $US100 a night, the quality would have been acceptable, but for $US230 I really felt ripped off. Breakfast buffet was fine, nothing remarkable. But where you sit outside that whole area ( roof etc) needed a good scrub and paint. On the upside, the pool area is very nice and the beach out the front is beautiful.
Would I recommend the place? Probably not.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Yvette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here during Christmas 2013, with my family (2+2). Our apartment had two bedrooms. Generally OK even if the interior starts to feel a bit worn-out ... We also had ants in our bathroom, but personally these don't bother me as much as some other bigger 'creatures' that I sometimes have had in the bathroom.

Separate AC in each bedroom and combined with traditional "roof propellers" it was easy to arrange suitable temperature. Cleaning OK. Big plus for complimentary water bottles every day. Even though it was an apartment, no real cooking capabilities, just a fridge and a water boiling equipment.  

No shop/supermarket in the hotel area but closest supermarket just across the street.

Loction: sligthly outside center, but with some restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance (Sun cafe is nice). 10-15 minutes walking to town center. But this also means that the neighbourhood is very quiet e.g. during night time. The swimming pools are not too large. The salt water pool was actually much less crowded - perhaps due to lack of wifi coverage? We spent most of our time by this pool.

The beach side is very nice and pretty empty, so if you prefer swimming in the sea this resort should be a very good option for you.  

Breakfast was OK even if slightly different from e.g. European standards. They had there own omelette chef, which was very nice. The fact that the hotel is very green and environment oriented is also reflected in the restaurant menus with more organic and vegeterian options than in other restaurants.

Staff was very friendly.

Wifi only in lobby and main pool area, free of charge.

Spa was closed so we could not use it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Droopy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,266 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
11 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $113 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing