We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot - very enjoyable ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great value and a lovely spot.
Overall a really lovely place and a great location and beach.
Good breakfast. Lots of choice.
Nice bar and well priced cocktails.
Small but handy gym.
Fantastic subsets.
We'd go again.
Very central.
Thank you.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 911dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed for 4 days with a friend. We each had a chalet. This is a really nice hotel to take it easy in. The pools are nice, beach right next door and service is good. They could do with spending some money maintaining their air conditioning units, which were a bit creaky and temperamental. I'd gladly stay again. Cocktails at the beach side bar were especially nice.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We thank you for staying with us and are happy to know our resort met with your expectation with the exception of the unsatisfactory air conditioning unit that was not.

We would like you to know that we pay utmost attention to our repair and maintenance services which is an on-going process and air conditioning is without an exception. However, we appreciate your highlight on the air conditioning unit of your room and will take great effort to look into the matter and take remedy action.

Meanwhile we look forward to your return to stay with us once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Not very impressed by this place apart from their focus on being environmentally friendly. The rooms are very so-so...no special touches to make them warm and welcoming. The beach in front of the resort was not suitable for swimming - pretty dark and murky (could also be that we were there when the weather was acting up). Restaurant was quite sad - hardly saw any people eating there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We thank you for staying with us and noted that our resort is not up to your expectation.

It is regrettable that you must have come when the weather was not so good with rains and high waves that came with muddy water and debris. However in view of such circumstances, it was not a whole day affair that saw with wave calmness in swimmable water. Nevertheless, globally weather is so unpredictable nowadays.

Our resort is located in one of the best beaches and away with the entire crowd on a similar beach front further down the road.

It is a norm to expect breakfast to be always full with people while lunch and dinner periods had its fare share of guests, though at times more crowd than others in view of the fact that our resort is walking distance to the nearest eateries.

Meanwhile, we hope you have had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcome you back to stay with us during the good weather period towards year end to early next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent our holiday in Singapore and Langkawi this year. Having spent a few hectic days in Singapore we moved on to Langkawi for some R&R. The transfer to the hotel was very prompt and before long we were settled in our room. The room was very spacious and clean offering us everything we needed but not really luxurious. Unfortunately, the rest of the resort was not in as good a condition as the room. Everywhere looked tired and a bit shabby and needed a facelift - some maintenance and a coat of paint would have done wonders. Both the pools were well used by us as the beach was sometimes littered with rubbish from the local area. The resort seemed to clean the beach area in the morning but nothing much else appeared to happen during the rest of the day which sometimes resulted in there being a lot of rubbish lying about on the sand and in the water. The staff at the resort were very attentive and couldn't be faulted. The towels around the pool were often very thin and old and you needed to change them several times as they weren't absorbent. I must applaud the resort for their eco footprint but a fgeneral facelift would make it much more appealing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We hope you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your general comments in your review.

Although repair and maintenance is an ongoing process, lately the weather had been quite unpredictable with a combination of heavy downpours to intermittent showers that prevented certain works to be carried out. In that condition, so was the tide that continuously brings in debris with the waves and many a time overwhelming, resulting in stretching our manpower to the limit.

Nevertheless, we look forward to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Langkawi is conveniently located a flight away from KL, so a wonderous 3 day weekend is only an hour away. An affordable taxi took us straight away to the Frangipani. Service was very friendly and amiable. The lodging is clean and tidy. The Frangipani is located in such a fabulous location that you can decide to stay low key and quiet, or it is an easy walk to the main drag. The grounds are comfortable, and the view is amazing, from most cabins. This hotel possibly reached its prime several years ago, and is in need of some repairs and fresh paint. I am happy that we stayed there, as well as were my friends. I would suggest pay the extra for a beach villa if you want a view.

Room Tip: This is a good family spot, nice pools and right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferAmman_Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

very fast check-in , only 10 min..very nice room & clean , nice sea view swimming pools, outdoor jacuzzi.our room was in second floor, I recommend you to book in higher floors if you want good views , because trees cover the view from balcony in first and second floor .

Room Tip: higher floors have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalentsGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Sir,
I believe you have mistakenly commented our resort for another hotel you stayed in as the pictures are not ours.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I was all psyched up to either enjoy myself silly or expect the worse for my upcoming visit after reading all the mixed reactions from other reviewers!

The verdict .. It's a roller coaster of mixed feelings alright .. With plenty of Ooos and Uurghs for this resort.

Hits ..

The resort definitely has a rustic charm with its ongoing green efforts to collect rainwater and other recycling efforts and also plenty of fruit trees n plants everywhere which attract a good mix of nature from birds to insects which is interesting for lil ones.

The pools ( 2 chlorine 1salt) are great fun and safe for kiddies.

Spend the late afternoon (low tide ) at the lovely beach makes it a great place to explore and take in the gorgeous sunset!

Activities at resort like Eco walk, fish n duck feeding, catch of ocean and also free cartoons at ballroom make sure that guests are kept entertained!

Huge rooms with separate dressing area and showers. Equipped with air con & ceiling fan.

Great rainforest shower with good water pressure giving you a luxurious shower!

Restaurant n bar is smack next to the beAch n offers a lovely view for throughout the day !

Staff ...the housekeeping & security staff had the warmest smiles which was ironic.. Some of the front line (check in & restaurant) were warm but I felt they were a bit jaded and mechanical with the way they processed guests. Not rude jut lacking in warmth.

Location... Lots of mini marts to get essentials & dining options within 5min walk along Cenang beach.

Misses
The rooms definitely not 4star as fittings mirror a cheap government vacation chalet than a luxury hotel. Towels n beddings all thin and tired looking. The wooden furnishings were all scratched and old. Flooring is tiled flooring which gets dusty from the beach n guests returning from the beach! Must be a nitemare for housekeeping !!

Cleanliness - although pool area is cleaned and tidied each morning n spic n span for the day, however nothing seems to done to upkeep for the rest day as I found empty beer glasses and plates left at sunning deck chair area and dropped food pizza ( at tables next to pool) left on ground for people walk around the pool area to step on BEFORE they enter the pool!! Euuu

Breakfast was the only meal I ate at hotel and I was uninspired (by price and standard) to take any of my other meals there ! Very sparse basic variety n quality for breakfast. Agree with other reviewers that food not replenished in a timely manner as I didn't know there was salad dressing for the salad greens offered until day 2 breaky! Obviously someone forgot to lay it out on day 1! No hash browns on day2 only spring rolls.

Wifi .. Free wifi was sporadic as only available at lobby meeting room n restaurant. There's also a 20min time out thingy that logs everyone out after a while. I tried using one evening at lobby and got devoured by mosquitoes 5mins into using the wifi! Gave up after 10mins as wifi got into hang mode .. Not worth the agony!!

Checking in at 2pm : resort was full and made to wait till 2pm for room which is a bummer when traveling with a cranky n sleepy toddler!

Verdict .. I'd still come back if there was a rate promo as the gorgeous beach n natural hotel settings is acceptable as long as you know the shortcomings and prepared to look the other way to still enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jet4worknplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We thank you for selecting our resort and noted that some aspects of our resort did not meet up to your expectations.

We appreciate your valuable comments in your candid review which we will address on the short-comings. Meanwhile we hope that you had and enjoyable stay and look forward to your return to stay with us in the not too distant a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,235 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $81 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing