We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ageing resort with no WOW! factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ageing resort with no WOW! factor”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a beach villa in March 2013. Yes, it has a few hundred metres of beach frontage which many resorts do not have, however the beach is quite ordinary compared to many Malaysian beaches. The resort is over 20 years old, the rooms are drab and look tired, and it totally lacks the "wow" factor that many Malaysian resorts have. Maintenance has clearly been minimal and done on the cheap; bathrooms need renovating; walls have been partially scraped before being repainted; paint flakes are everywhere. Many of the rooms, especially those close to the restaurant, are inflicted with the roar and smell of the kitchen exhaust fans that run all day and night. Do not expect tranquility at night, as the second rate live entertainment can be heard all over the resort until late at night, even over the sound of the airconditioner in your room. Unless you want to come home with memories of your Langkawi holiday being at a budget resort then spend a little extra per night and stay at a more up-market, quality resort.

Room Tip: It is not a quiet and tranquil resort so get a room as far away from the restaurant as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyvoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    632
    242
    93
    54
See reviews for
471
550
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in this resort with my family (wife, 4 yr old son and infant daughter) for 3 nights and I must say that I made the right choice. The experience from arrival till departure was simply great. Not only the staff at the reception was very humble but even the cleaners across the resort would greet you with smile when you would pass by. The pools were great and so was the bar between pools and the private beach. The buffet breakfast was simply great. The beach was amazing, clean and far stretched out and since it was private to the resort, we enjoyed a lot without having to worry about crowd. I really enjoyed at the resort and so did my family, specially my 4 yr old. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who's looking for a comfortable stay in Langkawi for value of money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammed Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in March. The location is about 15 mins away from the airport. Just booked a taxi at the airport to get to the hotel. The hotel is nice.. it has all the basic stuff a good hotel should have. The hotel could do with a makeover and seems a bit dated. But everything is very clean and the staff are just brilliant.
There is just 1 restaurant with a big menu but if you are unable to make it out for a meal then it could get a bit boring foodwise. They lay out a big breakfast in the morning.
The pool is nice and big and there is another saltwater pool too. The beach is a few meters from the pool/bar
Currently the spa is not in service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for choosing our resort during your recent holiday in Langkawi and your kind review here.

We are happy that your kids and you found a relaxing break with all the basic stuffs a good hotel should have to fulfill your needs, overall surroundings cleaned, brilliant staff, breakfast with wide varieties, choice of fresh and salt water pools and the beach is walking distance from the pool bar.

Our Spa is opened from 11am to 7pm daily and masseur services are supported by appointment basis.

Plan is underway for a renovation soon, being part of our goal to meet guest satisfactions and expectations.

We earnestly look forward to your return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in late March. The location is a 15 min drive from the airport and is right on the waterfront with the rooms a 30 second walk from the beach.

The resort has 2 pools and plenty of deck chairs around the pool/bar area and also along the shore overlooking the beach. The rooms were a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment, but were clean and spacious. Only one thing i would prefer is if the air con wasn't pointing right onto the bed as it gets cold.

The staff were friendly and the in house meals were great. We had an early check out on the last day so missed the breakfast... wish i had known about the breakfast to go option! I did mention an early departure but didn't specifically ask about breakfast.

Overall enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider returning.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Falcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

You were pleased with our location that is a15 minutes drive from the airport and you found our room clean and spacious which was only 30 seconds away to the beach front. We have met your expectations with two swimming pools and plenty of deck chairs around them as well as at the beach area. Besides, the meals were great and the staff friendly, while plans are underway for a renovation soon.

We thank you for selecting our resort and we are earnestly looking forward to your return in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I went to Langkawi on a solo trip for 5 days and stayed at this resort. I enjoyed it thoroughly. The rooms were a good, big size. Waking up each morning with the ocean on your door step and having meals at the hotel restaurant that overlooked the beach. I found myself spending a lot of my trip at the hotel as there was so much to do there. Beach, water sports, pool bar, amazing band each night, great food, gym and a beautiful view of the sunset and sunrise. The staff are so pleasant and try to do everything they can to make your stay pleasurable. I would definitely stay here again. Amazing resort within walking distance of spas and restaurants!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marzie_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a deluxe room for 3 nights in March 2013 and had a nice relaxing time. We arrived at midday (after arriving from the Lanai 2 hotels down the road) and they let us check in straight away which was great.

The room was very nice - big & modern with a separate dressing area & nice bathroom. The air conditioning seemed to be really struggling & on the first night (after being on for 6 hours the room had barely cooled down) we let reception know on our way out in the evening & they said it would be looked at. When we returned later reception told us no problem but the room still didn't feel cool. Thankfully the next morning it felt cooler - might have just taken that long to cool the whole room.

We were very close to reception & near the pool & pool bar. The pool was surprisingly small but nice. The beach is nice sand but is a steep hill down to the sea - this was a bit disappointing having come from the cheaper Lanai resort down the road where the beach is really wide & flat.

The food at the beach bar is actually quite bad & I am quite easy to please. We tried it twice but gave up on our last day & went to the Indian restaurant next door which was really nice. there is also the boat restaurant which is a 5 minute walk away which does lots of cheap Asian foods.

I was really looking forward to a massage at the hotel but when I enquired at reception they made a phone call to someone & was told the lady is away for 3 days - this seemed a bit odd as the hotel has spa in the title.

The breakfast was included & was very nice in a lovely area next to the beach - a nice selection of food including an egg station.

Places to go:
Boat Restaurant over the road - cheap Asian food good for lunch
Beach Garden Resort in Cenang - one of my favourite places - lovely cocktails on the beach.
Brasserie Bar in Cenang - 2-4-1 cocktails 4pm-6pm - definitely do this it's so cheap 18 ringitt for 2 cocktails on the beach -lovely setting.
Baan Thai restaurant - really nice food right next to Brasserie.
Oasis bar on the beach - lovely beach setting again.
Orkid Ria in Cenang - very popular seafood restaurant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thwaitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Thank you for selecting our resort considered to have a big modern room with a separate dressing area including the bathroom to your liking which is close to the reception and pool bar area and a small but nice swimming pool. The air conditioning that took a bit longer to cool has already been rectified and replaced.

Although the sand of our beach is nice, due to the natural conditions of the sea with low and high tide constantly changing within a day, the contour of our coastline varies dramatically from low to sloppy. Perception on the wideness of the beach will depend on the time one see’s and experience it at that moment.

While the breakfast was considered to be nice with a good selection of food and a separate egg station that met your expectations, your negative comment on food served at the beach bar has been seriously taken into consideration by the Chef who faces a real challenge to satisfy all types of taste buds of many nationals. We are constantly gauging our food quality to meet the satisfaction of all guests.

Our Spa which is always open is being serviced by masseurs on call for the time being while we are in the midst of selecting the best candidates for permanent employment. Regrettably our receptionist had erred in handling your request to have a massage in-house. We apologize for the mistake by our staff.

We trust your stay had been an enjoyable one and not marred by our short-comings and we certainly look forward to your return to a new experience in not too distant a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Well located as its at the bottom end of a couple of miles is hotels, shops, bars and restaurants, while being a very peaceful place to relax.

The rooms are a little tired but are spacious and cool (once you get the aircon working!)

The staff are lovely and very helpful and the hotel restaurant is great for local or international cuisine.

The hotel manager is very friendly and is always present to engage the customers.

For spa treatments, I recommend leaving the complex and going to the cheaper but equally as good spa's on the road outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamahsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

It delights us that you find our resort charming while the location is peaceful and relaxing yet near to the shops, bars and restaurant outlets. You liked the spacious room and found the lovely staffs very helpful and a great restaurant that caters for local and international cuisines. We will be embarking on the third phase of our room renovation beginning next month in April.

I thank you for your kind words to me as a Resort General Manager whose duty is to ensure guest happinness from arrival till departure. To achieve this he has to be guest friendly so as to gauge guest expectations and satisfactions in conversations.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again here at our charming resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,317 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.3 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing